The best neighbourhood in Montreal according to French expatriates

During an expatriation, a lot of factors have to be taken into account in order to make this project go as smoothly as possible. First of all, we think of the destination city or the new job. But often, the new neighbourhood is also a crucial choice!

Fortunately, we did some research to give you an idea of the favourite neighbourhoods of French-speaking expatriates in Montreal. To do this, we surveyed a sample of 600 French people living in Montreal. This ranking reflects theopinion of French people in Montreal. For example, Westmount will not be included in this list because historically this neighbourhood is predominantly English-speaking.

If you would like to know more about housing prices in Montreal by neighbourhood, there is a full article dedicated to this topic.

Neighborhood of Montreal n˚1 - The Plateau Mont-Royal more commonly called: "The Plateau"

Located in the heart of Montreal between Jeanne-Mance and La Fontaine parks, Le Plateau is a prime location.

Originally, the Plateau-Mont-Royal borough was populated by an immense majority of workers, where agriculture and livestock farming were practiced. It's hard to imagine how the neighbourhood has metamorphosed into a place of culture and leisure. 

Indeed, this neighborhood abounds in bars and nightclubs on Mont-Royal Avenue or on Saint-Denis Street that will delight the young (and not only). Its dynamic neighborhood life, its colorful houses, its green alleys are all charms that make families feel good. So close, but at the same time so far, from the stress of downtown.

It is clearly the district in vogue in recent years. In addition to its festive aspect, it is also a major economic centre (there are more than 6,700 businesses on the Plateau) with, for example, Ubisoft in Mile End.

On the gastronomic side, the Plateau has an institution in terms of poutine (a typically Quebecois dish based on Chips, brown sauce and cheese) which is La Banquise.

montroyal-quartier-de-montréal
plateau-quartier-de-montréal-1

Montreal neighborhood n˚2 - Ville-Marie, the soul of Montreal's first neighborhood

Ville-Marie (formerly Montreal) was originally the place where the early French chose to establish a trading post before they realised the island's strategic military location.

Ville-Marie is a bustling place. In all seasons, it is a place for business, shopping, eating and entertainment. The downtown area is crossed by Sainte-Catherine StreetStreet, a central commercial artery with its shops shops, restaurants and bars and bars of all kinds. Numerous skyscrapers skyscrapers rub shoulders with period and Art Deco buildings. Regrouping the district of the museumsdistrict, the showsthe international district or even ChinatownThe city centre can also be discovered under cover, through the underground city that runs through it. The condos offer a high standard of living, often with a pool and gym in the building. Downtown Montreal is the most populated area in Canada! It includes the Jean-Drapeau Parkcomposed of the islands of Sainte-Hélène and Notre-Dame, which is home to the Biospherethe Gilles-Villeneuve racetrack and the Casino de Montréal.

In addition, the St. Lawrence River, Old Montreal, the Latin Quarter and the Village make up its already impressive landscape. 

villemarie-quartier-de-montréal
quartier-de-montréal-vieuxport

Montreal neighborhood n˚3 - Rosemont - La Petite Patrie, affectionately called "Montreal's family neighborhood."

The nickname "La Petite Patrie" comes from the Claude Jasmin soap opera that aired on Quebec screens between 1974 and 1975, evoking the happy memories of Montreal youth in the 1940s . This nickname was definitely adopted by the city in 1980.

Located in the heart of the metropolis, it offers a dynamic and safe living environment to its residents. With its rich industrial past, it is oriented towards sustainable development andinnovation. Neighbourhood life is flourishing and lively thanks to the development of several public squares, the maintenance of a hundred or sogreen spaces and a varied cultural offering.

At the beginning of the 19th century, successive waves of Italian immigrants to Quebec decided to settle in "La Petite Patrie" which later became known as " Little Italy". These migratory waves gave this neighborhood a very particular color with its cafés, its trattorias, its delicatessens and its sports and cultural events. It was during the economic crisis of 1929 that the Jean-Talon market was built, which is now the most important open-air market in North America.

botanical-quartier-de-montréal

Montreal neighborhood n˚4 - Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, a multifaceted Montreal neighborhood

The name "Hochelaga-Maisonneuve" comes from the Iroquois village of the same name and from the French governor who contributed to the birth of what would become Montreal.

This district is slightly out of the city centre (less than 10 km) but is still very well served by the green metro line.

It is a great place for family outings. The Biodome offers a great opportunity to spend a good time with various animals from different ecosystems in America. In addition, we must not forget the Planetarium where you can admire the stars.

As far as walks are concerned, the Botanical Gardens seem to be the perfect place for your Sunday walks in summer as well as in winter! Indeed, a large ice rink is set up during the first cold spells.

graph-quartier-de-montréal

Montreal neighborhood n˚5 - Villeray: An urban village

This neighbourhood was named after Louis Touer de Villeray, a member of the Sovereign Council of New France from 1663.

With a large number of green alleys,green spaces and lively streets, Villeray (or Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension in its global name) is a true urban village. There is also a wide variety of businesses as well as the immense Jarry Park.

Villeray enjoys a strategic location that attracts many workers and students. Indeed, the blue and orange lines of the metro run through the neighbourhood, providing access to the east and west ends of the island as well as to downtown.

Long shunned by newcomers, this neighbourhood has become increasingly attractive in recent years. Not only because of its greenery, which makes the area more attractive, but also because of the development of Rue Jarry, which offers a wide variety of local products.

Although Montreal remains a very diverse place, it should be noted that Villeray is a particularly cosmopolitan area of Montreal with a wide variety of restaurants from all walks of life.

Some honorable mentions of the best neighborhood in Montreal

Verdun

The Verdun district attracts workers who do not wish to waste time in transportation without giving up their quality of life. The landscaped banks of the St. Lawrence River, green spaces, golf courses and parks make it a peaceful, relaxing and family-friendly environment for those who spend their day in the hustle and bustle of the downtown area, located just a few blocks away.

Côte-des-neiges

Bounded by chemin de la Reine-Marie to the south, Jean-Talon Street to the north, Decelles Street to the east and Décarie Boulevard to the westCôte-des-Neiges is home to a jewel of the city, Saint Joseph's Oratory. While more than 100 different ethnic communities reside here, this neighbourhood is one of the most densely populated and diverse in Canada.

Outremont

With its proximity to Mount Royal, its many parks and its urban forest, Outremont is a green oasis in Montreal which, combined with an exceptional architectural heritage thanks to its famous mansions, gives it a unique character. 

observatoire-quartier-de-montréal

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

the-best-district-in-montreal-for-the-french-2-min

More articles for you 👇

An expatriate's first tax return in Canada

An expatriate's first tax return in Canada

Ah taxation, what a fascinating (but complex...) subject! If you're an expatriate in Canada and you're wondering how to file your first Canadian tax return, here's a little guide to help you familiarize yourself with the country's tax process. It's...

fbpx

Lors d’une expatriation, énormément de facteurs sont à prendre en compte afin que ce projet se passe du mieux possible. Nous pensons, dans un premier temps, à la ville de destination ou encore à son nouveau job. Mais bien souvent, le nouveau quartier est aussi un choix crucial !

Heureusement, nous avons enquêté pour vous donner un aperçu des quartiers favoris des francophones qui s’expatrient à Montréal. Pour cela, nous avons sondé un échantillon de 600 français vivant à Montréal. Ce classement reflète donc l‘avis de français à Montréal. Par exemple, le quartier de Westmount ne sera pas dans cette liste car historiquement ce quartier est à dominance anglophone.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus concernant le prix des logements à Montréal en fonction des quartiers, un article complet est dédié à ce sujet.

1 – Le Plateau Mont-Royal appelé plus communément : « Le Plateau »

Situé au cœur de Montréal entre les Parcs Jeanne-Mance et La Fontaine, Le Plateau est une place de choix.

À l’origine, l’arrondissement du Plateau-Mont-Royal était peuplé d’une immense majorité d’ouvriers, où l’on pratiquait l’agriculture et l’élevage. Difficile à imaginer tant le quartier s’est métamorphosé en une place de culture et de loisirs

En effet, ce quartier abonde de bars et boites de nuit sur l’avenue Mont-Royal ou rue Saint-Denis qui feront la joie des jeunes (et pas que). Sa vie de quartier dynamique, ses maisons colorées, ses ruelles vertes sont tout autant de charme pour que les familles s’y sentent bien. Si proche, mais en même temps si loin, du stress du centre-ville. 

C’est clairement le quartier en vogue ces dernières années. Outre son aspect festif, c’est également une grande place économique (on recense plus de 6 700 entreprises sur le Plateau) avec notamment Ubisoft au Mile End.

Côté gastronomique, le Plateau détient une institution en matière de poutine (plat typiquement québécois à base de frites, sauce brune et fromage) qui est La Banquise.

 

montroyal-quartier-de-montréal
plateau-quartier-de-montréal

2 – Ville-Marie, l’âme du premier quartier de Montréal

Ville-Marie (ancien nom de Montréal) était, à l’origine, le lieu où les premiers français ont choisi d’établir un comptoir commercial avant de se rendre compte de l’emplacement stratégique militaire de l’île.

Ville-Marie est le théâtre d’une activité trépidante. En toutes saisons, on y fait des affaires, on y magasine, on y mange et on s’y divertit. Le centre-ville est traversé par la rue Sainte-Catherine, artère commerciale centrale avec ses boutiques reconnues, restaurants et bars en tous genres. De nombreux gratte-ciels y côtoient les bâtiments d’époque et Art Déco. Regroupant le quartier des musées, celui des spectacles, le quartier international ou encore Chinatown, le centre-ville se découvre également à couvert, par la ville souterraine qui le traverse. Les condos offrent un standing de qualité avec bien souvent piscine et salle de sport dans l’immeuble. Le centre-ville de Montréal est le plus habité au Canada ! Il englobe le parc Jean-Drapeau, composé des îles Sainte-Hélène et Notre-Dame, qui abrite notamment la Biosphère, le circuit Gilles-Villeneuve et le Casino de Montréal.

De plus, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le Vieux-Montréal, le Quartier latin et le Village composent son paysage déjà très impressionnant. 

villemarie-quartier-de-montréal
quartier-de-montréal-vieuxport

3 – Rosemont – La Petite Patrie, appelé affectueusement « Le quartier de Montréal familial »

Ce surnom de « La Petite Patrie » provient du feuilleton de Claude Jasmin qui fût diffusé sur les écrans québécois entre 1974 et 1975 évoquant les heureux souvenirs de la jeunesse montréalaise des années 1940. Ce surnom a été définitivement adopté par la ville en 1980.

Localisé au cœur de la métropole, il offre un milieu de vie dynamique et sécuritaire à ses habitants. Riche d’un passé industriel, il est tourné vers le développement durable ainsi que l’innovation. La vie de quartier y est florissante et animée grâce à l’aménagement de plusieurs places publiques, à l’entretien d’une centaine d’espaces verts et à une offre culturelle variée.

Au début du 19e siècle, les vagues successives d’immigrant italiens vers le Québec décident de s’établir dans « La Petite Patrie » qui donnera naissance au quartier de « La Petite Italie » par la suite. Ces vagues migratoires ont donné à ce quartier une couleur toute particulière avec ses cafés, ses trattorias, ses épiceries fines et ses événements sportifs et culturels. C’est pendant la crise économique de 1929 qu’on y érigea le marché Jean-Talon qui est aujourd’hui le marché à ciel ouvert le plus important en Amérique du Nord.

botanique-quartier-de-montréal

4 – Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve, un quartier de Montréal aux multiples facettes 

Le nom du quartier « Hochelaga-Maisonneuve » provient du village iroquois du même nom et du gouverneur français ayant contribué à la naissance de ce qui deviendra Montréal.

Ce quartier est légèrement excentré du centre-ville (moins de 10 km) mais est tout de même très bien desservi via la ligne verte du métro.

Il s’agit d’une place très avantageuse pour les sorties en familles. Le Biodôme offre une très belle perspective de passer un bon moment avec des animaux variés venant des divers écosystèmes d’Amérique. À cela, il ne faut pas oublier le Planétarium grâce auquel il est possible d’admirer les étoiles.

Concernant les balades, le Jardin Botanique semble tout droit désigné pour vos marches dominicales aussi bien en été… qu’en hiver ! En effet, une grande patinoire est aménagée lors des premières vagues de froid.

 

stade-quartier-de-montréal
graph-quartier-de-montréal

5 – Villeray: Un village urbain

Ce quartier tire son nom de Louis Touer de Villeray, membre du Conseil souverain de la Nouvelle France à partir de 1663.

Doté d’un très grand nombre de ruelles vertes, d’espaces verts, de rues animées, villeray (ou Villeray—Saint-Michel—Parc-Extension dans son nom global) est un véritable village urbain. On y retrouve également une grande diversité des commerces ainsi que de l’immense parc Jarry.

Villeray jouit d’une position stratégique qui attire bon nombre de travailleurs et étudiants. En effet, ce quartier est traversé par la ligne bleue et orange du métro, pouvant ainsi desservir l’est et l’ouest de l’île ainsi que le centre-ville.

Longtemps boudé par les nouveaux arrivants, ce quartier est de plus en plus attractif depuis quelques années. Non seulement par sa verdure rendant le quartier plus sympathique mais également par le développement de la rue Jarry offrant une grande diversité de produits locaux.

Bien que Montréal reste une place très diversifiée, il faut noter que Villeray est un quartier de Montréal particulièrement cosmopolite avec une grande variété de restaurants de tous les horizons.

6 – Quelques mentions honorables du meilleur quartier de Montréal

Verdun

Le quartier de Verdun attire les travailleurs qui ne souhaitent pas perdre de temps dans les transports sans pour autant renoncer à leur qualité de vie. Les abords aménagés du fleuve Saint-Laurent, les espaces verts, golf et parcs en font un environnement paisible, reposant et familial pour qui passe sa journée dans le brouhaha du centre-ville, situé à quelques encablures à peine.

Cote des neiges

Délimité par le chemin de la Reine-Marie au sud, la rue Jean-Talon au nord, la rue Decelles à l’est, le boulevard Décarie à l’ouest, Côte-des-Neiges abrite un joyau de la ville, l’Oratoire Saint-Joseph. Alors que plus de 100 différentes communautés ethniques y résident, ce quartier est l’un des plus densément peuplés et diversifiés au Canada. 

Outremont

Avec sa proximité au Mont-Royal, ses nombreux parcs et sa forêt urbaine, Outremont est une oasis de verdure à Montréal qui, combinée à un patrimoine architectural exceptionnel grâce à ses fameux manoirs, lui donne un cachet unique. 

observatoire-quartier-de-montréal

Envie de tenter l’aventure au Canada ?

Toi aussi tu veux te balader dans les rues des Montréal ? Chez Maplr, nous t’accompagnons gratuitement pour trouver ton emploi en TI à Montréal et sur toutes les phases de ta relocalisation. Notre équipe franco-canadienne est là pour te guider et te donner toutes les informations nécessaires pour démarrer sereinement ta nouvelle vie à Montréal !

Rejoins sans attendre notre communauté.

Développeur-expatré-à-Montréal