Surviving winter in Quebec: tips for future expats

Are you arriving soon in Montreal or have you recently moved there and you are wondering how to survive your first winter in Quebec? We'll give you our expat advice!

The wide open spaces, the nature, the gentle way of life, the dynamism of the city give it a special charm. significant advantagesBut there is one thing to keep in mind when you decide to live here: winter. Because yes, winter in Quebecmeans several months of white coats in the streets and heavy down jackets on your shoulders.

But don't get nervous! In Montreal, winter is also synonymous with sunshine and brightness: two key ingredients to keep your spirits high. Temperatures can sometimes reach very low levels, but rest assured: the Canadian cold is very different from the European cold and some people even say that it's colder in Paris than in Montreal. The winter here is drier, easier to bear when you are well equipped. As you will read below, the city is made so that you can almost forget about the snow once you leave home!

Living in winter in Quebec also means soaking up the magical atmosphere of romantic Christmas movies! The beautiful snow-covered streets, the lights in the city (and in your eyes), the joyful singing and the smell of mulled wine! The magic of the holiday season is everywhere - in Montreal, there are even places to roast your marshmallows or warm your hands around a fire. around a fire.

quebec-winter-maplr-noel

To anticipate your first winter in Quebec, we give you all the keys to survive winter, by 3 golden rules only!

montreal-winter-maplr-quebec-clothing

Rule 1: Good equipment is good equipment!

The recipe for a good winter a good winter in Montreal is simple: have a - very - good coat and - very - good boots .

HOW TO CHOOSE THE RIGHT COAT? 

For your winter coat, keep these three principles in mind insulation, shell and waterproofing.

The down is the component for excellence to guaranteegood insulationBut it will tend to insulate less when wet.Note that coats made of synthetic fibres are more affordable and lighter - and therefore more comfortable - than those made of down. For extreme cold, the best performing synthetic insulations are PrimaloftPrimaloft Thermadux andIsosoft - are all beautiful words that you will be delighted to find inside your coat.

Once you have checked the insulation and waterproofing of your future cold shield, you will turn to the shell, the outer layer of the coat. outer layer of the coat.

This will protect you against snow, rain and wind. Here, several families of materials are available: nylon nylon and polyesterLightweight and affordable nylon and polyester will protect you from the wind but are less resistant to the cold - and when we say "cold", we mean "-20 degrees". The Teflon laminates laminates like the Dry loft will give you excellent protection against the elements. The Gore-Texwill wick away your sweat (yes, you will sweat in your winter coat, especially if you're riding the metro and go from the aforementioned -20 degrees to +20 degrees in rush hour) and prevent snow and rain from seeping in. Finally, the fleece will have the advantage of drying quickly and insulating you even if you are soaked.

winter-quebec-coat-montreal-snow

Tips on how to choose a coat that will become your second skin in winter: 

  • Buy one with a hood and (fake) fur if possible, which is essential against snow and wind - take a leaf out of the Inuit book.
  • Choose the zips than buttons.
  • Make sure your coat reaches at least to your thighs thighs or your knees not only will you feel like you're bundled up in a blanket every morning, but you'll be better protected from the wind and cold.
  • Take a coat with large pockets to keep you warm and to hold your mobile phone, large gloves and your hands at the same time.
  • Don't rely on the temperature ratings marketing tools designed to reassure confused customers - the only valid ratings are in the composition of your coat!

Some brands of coats: Kanuk, Audvik (from Quebec), Arc'teryx, Mackage, Noize, the North Face, Pajar, Rudsak...

HOW TO CHOOSE THE RIGHT BOOTS? 

Investing in both a coat and winter boots can be very expensive - expect to pay around CA$600 for a good quality complete outfit. Also, you can choose boots that are equally suited to a city lifestyle or a weekend in the mountains. Here's a quick guide to choosing your future winter boots.

winter-quebec-snow-boots
  • Choose boots that are light and comfortable This will be the main element of comfort when walking to work or hiking on Mount Royal - especially when walking to your metro station is as intense as hiking in the mountains.
  • Boots that reach mid-calf are ideal for wrapping the leg and keeping your feet warmer.
  • Waterproofing It is recommended to buy a "boot dryer" (about $10 in Jean Coutu or Pharmaprix pharmacies) that can be slipped into the boots every night.
  • As far as natural fibres are concerned, wool is a very good insulator and a safe bet. There are also synthetic insulating fibres, such as Thinsulate, which dry very quickly and have the same properties as natural fibres.
  • Always wear warm and comfortable socks.
  • The sole The thicker it is, the less cold you will feel.

Some sure values: Sorel, Pajar, UGG, Bogs, Kamik...

Tips and tricks from Maplrs

  • In winter, wear warm tights under your trousers to create a barrier against the cold and wind; for ladies, if you want to wear a dress or skirt, replace your tights with thick leggings.
  • Keep a second pair of shoes in the office: it is indeed customary to take off your winter boots when you arrive at work in the morning and put on a big pair of cosy socks, slippers (yes, yes!) or lighter shoes. 
  • Always carry a pair of gloves ("mittens") with you; we recommend that you usemittens, which create more warmth.
  • Wear two to three layers ofclothing on top, so that you can take them off easily and do not suffer from temperature differences when you arrive at the office, at a friend's house or in the metro; this is commonly known as the "onion technique" or the three-layer system. This technique is especially important if you are involved in outdoor sports. The first layer keeps the skin dry and regulates perspiration; the second layer insulates the body heat by not allowing air to escape from the clothing; the third layer protects against moisture and wind.
  • Keep your head warm with adouble-layered covering"tuque" (a cap) ....So you can see why the official Maplr goodies for new Maplrs expats is the famous #RedTuque?

Buy before you leave or on arrival?

We advise you to buy everything directly on arrival: it will be (much) cheaper, much more suitable and you will have more room in your suitcase for the rest! Note also that Decathlon recently opened in downtown Montreal (so there's really no excuse not to buy everything directly upon arrival!)

The best way to buy your winter clothes is to try them on, so skip the online shopping for this time; you will find many clearance shops with high quality clothes at low prices, like Winners, Bradorhiver, La poubelle du ski, Plein air dépôt, 100 000 jeans... 

Otherwise, there are specialized outdoor shops where you can get excellent advice on the composition of your clothing and boots: La Cordée, MEC Montreal, Sports Experts, SAIL.

quebec-winter-stores-maplr

Rule 2: trust the city and its adaptation!

When it snows in Montreal, life goes on - and thankfully, with almost five months of winter a year! You've probably already heard of the underground city... We'll tell you right away: yes, there is a network of tunnels in the city centre, connecting many metro stations, shops, restaurants and even a cinema. Don't think of it as the Paris metro: these tunnels are bright, spacious and you almost don't feel underground!

But no, once the first snow falls, Montrealers don't hole up in the underground You won't be able to do EVERYTHING indoors either - but if you've followed our advice and are well equipped, you'll be able to live normally, even outside! If you don't live close to the subterranean (i.e. in the city centre) you will have to go outside to do your shopping or get your coffee from Tim Hortons. But here again, for the more lazy among you, it is possible to have your groceries delivered to your home, free of charge, at many local supermarkets (IGA, Métro, Provigo...) .

Finally, every morning and every time there are snowstorms, the city of Montreal deploys a whole snow removal systemso that the pavements are almost always usable. As for the roads, they are also perfectly adapted to winter conditions and it is possible to drive normally.

montreal-survivre-winter-quebec-maplr

Rule 3: Get out!

In winter, with the sub-zero temperatures, you'll tend to want to stay warm at home and watch Netflix all day long. A word of advice: GET OUT! Take advantage of every sunny day to walk outside, do outdoor activities, participate in the many activities offered by the Quebec region... to have the best winter ever! If you haven't already done so, why not try your hand at field hockey? We have an article that explains it all to you.

Montreal is known for the incredible number of of activities year-round. Here's a small, but not exhaustive list of what's in store for you in winter:

igloofest-montreal-winter-activity
winter-quebec-maplr-randonnee

Maplrs' Favourite Activities :

  • Skiing or snowshoeing in the mountains near Montreal 
  • Hiking on Mount Royal: on foot, snowshoes or cross-country skis 
  • Sled dog (dog sled)
  • Snowmobile (Ski-Doo)
  • Ice skating on the city's frozen lakes or outside (Domaine de la forêt perdue, Mauricie or Parc Lafontaine) 
  • Nordic spas in Montreal (Bota Bota, spa on the St. Lawrence) and in the heart of nature (Strom Nordic Spa, La Source Nordic Baths, Scandinave Spa, Nordik Spa-Nature...) 
  • Spend one (or more) weekend(s) in a cottage in the countryside
  • See the typical winter animals of la belle province (caribou, moose, snow foxes...) at Parc Oméga!

You can find all the activities and adventures of the Maplr on InstagramYou'll see that we were not bored!

winter-quebec-animals-maplr

When does winter start in Quebec and in Montreal?

When does the cold start in Quebec?

We are often asked this question! Generally, the negative temperatures will start to arrive around December and then the coldest temperatures will be in January and February in Quebec (and especially in Montreal) with beautiful sunny days; Note that some years, we have not even had snow at Christmas.

winter-in-canada-snowcrest

As you can see, winter in Montreal and Quebec can be frightening for some, but it is an experience you should have at least once in your life as a future expat! If you are well equipped and ready to have fun, everything is lined up for you to have an unforgettable season.

And by the way, what we do at Maplr to spend a nice winter in Montreal is to get together and do lots of activities, follow our adventures on Instagram (you'll see we don't get bored!). 

maplr-apero-cage-montreal

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

our-tips-for-surviving-winter-in-quebec-min

More articles for you 👇

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

Vous arrivez prochainement à Montréal ou vous y êtes installés depuis peu et vous vous demandez comment survivre à votre premier hiver au Québec ? On vous donne nos conseils d’expat’ !

Les grands espaces, la nature, la douceur de vivre, le dynamisme de la ville lui confèrent des atouts non négligeables, mais il y a bien un point ici à prendre en compte lorsque l’on décide de venir y vivre : l’hiver. Parce que oui, l’hiver au Québec, c’est plusieurs mois de manteau blanc dans les rues et de grosses doudounes sur vos épaules. 

Mais n’ayez pas peur ! À Montréal, l’hiver rime aussi avec grand Soleil et belle luminosité : deux ingrédients clés pour un moral au top. Les températures atteignent certes des niveaux très bas parfois, mais soyez rassuré.e.s : le froid canadien est bien différent du froid européen et certain.e.s disent même qu’ils.elles ont plus froid à Paris qu’à Montréal. L’hiver ici est plus sec, plus facile à supporter quand on est bien équipé.e.s. Comme vous le lirez plus bas, la ville est vraiment faite pour que vous puissiez presque oublier la neige une fois sorti.e.s de chez vous !

Vivre l’hiver au Québec, c’est aussi s’imprégner de toute l’ambiance féérique des films de Noël romantiques ! À vous les belles rues enneigées, les illuminations dans la ville (et dans vos yeux), les chants joyeux et l’odeur de vin chaud ! La magie du temps des fêtes est partout – à Montréal, il y a même des endroits pour faire griller ses guimauves ou se réchauffer les mains autour d’un feu.

Pour anticiper votre premier hiver au Québec, nous vous livrons ici toutes les clefs pour survivre à l’hiver, en 3 règles d’or seulement ! 

Règle 1 : un bon équipement, tu auras !

La recette pour passer un bon hiver à Montréal est simple : avoir un – très – bon manteau et de – très – bonnes bottes. 

COMMENT CHOISIR LE MANTEAU IDÉAL ? 

Pour votre manteau d’hiver, gardez à l’esprit ces trois principes : isolation, coquille et imperméabilité

Le duvet est le composant par excellence pour garantir une bonne isolation, mais il aura tendance à moins isoler une fois mouillé. Notez que les manteaux en fibres synthétiques sont plus abordables et légers – donc plus confortables – que ceux en duvet. Pour le froid extrême, les isolants synthétiques les plus performants sont le Primaloft, le Thermadux et l’Isosoft – autant de beaux mots que vous vous réjouirez de retrouver à l’intérieur de votre manteau. 

Une fois l’isolation et l’imperméabilité de votre futur bouclier anti-froid vérifiés, vous vous pencherez sur la coquille, la couche extérieure du manteau.

Cette dernière vous protègera contre la neige, la pluie et le vent. Ici, plusieurs familles de matériaux sont disponibles : le nylon et le polyester, légers et abordables, vous protègeront du vent mais seront moins résistants au froid – puis lorsque l’on dit “froid”, on sous-entend ici “-20 degrés”. Les laminés de téflon comme le Dry loft vous offriront une excellente protection contre les intempéries. Le Gore-Tex, imper-respirant, évacuera votre transpiration (oui, il vous arrivera de transpirer dans votre manteau d’hiver, surtout si vous empruntez le métro et que vous passez des -20 degrés cités ci-dessus à +20 degrés collés-serrés en heure de pointe) et empêchera la neige et la pluie de s’infiltrer. Enfin, la laine polaire aura l’avantage de sécher rapidement et de vous isoler même si vous êtes trempés. 

Petites astuces pour choisir votre manteau qui deviendra votre seconde peau en hiver : 

  • Achetez en un avec une capuche et de la (fausse) fourrure si possible, élément essentiel contre la neige et le vent – prenez exemple sur les Inuits. 
  • Privilégiez les fermetures éclairs aux boutons.
  • Faites en sorte que votre manteau arrive au moins à vos cuisses ou vos genoux ; en plus d’avoir l’impression de sortir emmitouflé.e.s dans une couverture chaque matin, cela vous protègera mieux du vent et du froid.
  • Prenez un manteau avec de grandes poches pour vous garder au chaud et y glisser, téléphone portable, gros gants et vos mains en même temps. 
  • Ne vous fiez pas aux cotes de températures indiquées sur les manteaux, outils de marketing faits pour rassurer les clients un peu perdus – les seules cotes valables sont inscrites dans la composition de votre manteau !

Quelques marques de manteaux incontournables : Kanuk, Audvik (québécois), Arc’teryx, Mackage, Noize, the North Face, Pajar, Rudsak…

COMMENT CHOISIR LES BOTTES IDÉALES ? 

Investir dans un manteau comme dans des bottes d’hiver peut devenir très onéreux – comptez environ 600 CA$ pour un équipement complet de bonne qualité. Aussi, il vous est possible de choisir des bottes qui conviennent aussi bien à un mode de vie citadin qu’à un week-end en chalet à la montagne. Voici ici un petit guide pour choisir vos futures bottes d’hiver.

  • Choisissez des bottes légères et confortables : ce sera l’élément principal de votre confort pour marcher jusqu’au travail ou pour une randonnée sur le Mont-Royal – surtout lorsque marcher jusqu’à votre station de métro s’avère aussi intense qu’une randonnée en montagne. 
  • Des bottes arrivant à mi-mollets sont l’idéal pour envelopper la jambe et réchauffer davantage vos pieds.
  • L’imperméabilité des bottes est à ne pas négliger pour ne pas vous retrouver les pieds mouillés et congelés : aussi, il est recommandé de se procurer un “sèche bottes” (à environ 10 $ dans les pharmacies Jean Coutu ou Pharmaprix) qui se glisse dans les bottes chaque soir. 
  • Du côté de la fibre naturelle, la laine est un très bon isolant et une valeur sûre. Il existe aussi des fibres isolantes synthétiques, comme le Thinsulate, qui sèchent très rapidement et possèdent les mêmes propriétés que les fibres naturelles.
  • Portez toujours des bas (chaussettes) chauds et confortables.
  • La semelle : plus elle est épaisse, moins vous aurez froid.

Quelques valeurs sûres : Sorel, Pajar, UGG, Bogs, Kamik…

Trucs et astuces des Maplrs

  • En hiver, portez des collants chauds sous vos pantalons pour créer une barrière contre le froid et le vent ; pour mesdames, si vous souhaitez porter une robe ou jupe, remplacez vos collants par des leggings épais.
  • Gardez une deuxième paire de chaussure au bureau : il est en effet de coutume d’enlever ses bottes d’hiver en arrivant le matin au travail, et d’enfiler une grosse paire de chaussettes cosy, des chaussons (oui oui !) ou bien des chaussures plus légères. 
  • Ayez toujours une paire de gants (“mitaines”) sur vous ; nous vous conseillons d’ailleurs de privilégier les moufles, qui créeront plus de chaleur.
  • Portez deux à trois couches de vêtements en haut, pour pouvoir les enlever aisément et ne pas subir les différences de températures une fois arrivé.e.s au bureau, chez des ami.e.s ou dans le métro !  ; ceci s’appelle communément ici la “technique de l’oignon” ou le système des trois couches. Privilégiez cette technique surtout si vous faites des activités sportives en plein air. La première couche sert à garder la peau au sec tout en régulant la transpiration ; la deuxième couche sert à isoler la chaleur corporelle en ne laissant pas l’air s’échapper en dehors des vêtements ; la troisième couche sert, elle, à protéger contre l’humidité et le vent.
  • Gardez la tête au chaud avec une « tuque » (un bonnet) couvrante à double épaisseur….Vous comprendrez donc pourquoi le goodies officiel Maplr pour les nouveaux Maplrs expatriés est la fameuse #tuqueRouge 😂

Acheter avant de partir ou à l’arrivée ?

Nous vous conseillons de tout acheter sur place directement à votre arrivée : ce sera (beaucoup) moins cher, vraiment plus adapté et vous aurez plus de place dans votre valise pour le reste ! À noter aussi que Décathlon a ouvert récemment au centre-ville de Montréal (donc vraiment plus d’excuse pour ne pas tout acheter directement à l’arrivée !).

Le mieux pour acheter ses vêtements d’hiver est de les essayer sur place, donc exit le shopping en ligne pour cette fois ; vous trouverez de nombreux magasins de déstockage avec des vêtements de haute qualité à petit prix, comme Winners, Bradorhiver, La poubelle du ski, Plein air dépôt, 100 000 jeans… 

Sinon, il existe les magasins spécialisés de plein air où vous serez conseillé.e.s à merveille sur la composition des vêtements et bottes : La Cordée, MEC Montréal, Sports Experts, SAIL.

Règle 2 : en la ville et son adaptation, tu feras confiance !

Lorsqu’il neige à Montréal, la vie continue – et heureusement, avec presque cinq mois d’hiver par an ! Vous avez sûrement déjà entendu parler de la ville souterraine… Nous vous éclairons tout de suite : oui, il existe un réseau de tunnels en centre-ville, qui relie de nombreuses stations de métros, magasins, restaurants et même un cinéma. Ne voyez pas ici le métro parisien : ces tunnels sont lumineux, spacieux et on ne se sentirait presque pas sous terre ! 

Mais non, une fois la première neige tombée, les montréalais ne se terrent pas dans les sous-terrains de la ville et non, vous ne pourrez pas non plus TOUT faire en intérieur – mais si vous avez suivi nos conseils et êtes bien équipé.es, vous pourrez tout à fait vivre normalement, même dehors ! Si vous ne vivez pas à proximité des sous-terrains (soit en hyper centre) vous aurez à sortir dehors pour faire vos courses ou aller chercher votre café chez Tim Hortons. Mais là encore, pour les plus frileux.ses et-ou flemmard.e.s d’entre vous, il est possible de vous faire livrer vos courses à domicile, gratuitement auprès de nombreux supermarchés de quartier (IGA, Métro, Provigo…). 

Enfin, chaque matin et chaque fois qu’il y a des tempêtes de neige, la ville de Montréal déploie tout un système de déneigement, si bien que les trottoirs sont – presque – toujours utilisables. Les routes, quant à elles, sont aussi parfaitement adaptées aux conditions hivernales et il est possible de circuler normalement.

Règle 3 : dehors, tu sortiras !

En hiver, avec les températures négatives vous aurez tendance à vouloir rester bien au chaud chez vous et regarder Netflix à longueur de journée. Un conseil : SORTEZ ! Profitez de chaque moment ensoleillé pour marcher dehors, faites des activités en plein air, participez aux nombreuses animations que vous propose la région du Québec… pour passer le meilleur des hivers ! 

Montréal est connue pour le nombre incroyable d’activités qu’elle propose tout au long de l’année. Voici une petite liste non exhaustive de ce qui vous attend en hiver : 

📢Point Covid : Nous ne pouvons malheureusement pas vous donner de liste sur les événements à venir pour l’hiver 2021, mais nous pouvons vous assurer que nous avons adoré chaque événement que 2020 nous a laissé avoir 😉 

Les Activités Préférées des Maplrs :

  • Ski ou raquettes dans les montagnes à proximité de Montréal 
  • Randonnée sur le Mont Royal : à pied, en raquette ou ski de fond 
  • Chien de traineau (traineau à chien)
  • Motoneige (Ski-Doo)
  • Patin à glace sur les lacs gelés de la ville ou en dehors (Domaine de la forêt perdue, Mauricie ou le parc Lafontaine) 
  • Spa nordiques à Montréal (Bota Bota, spa sur le saint Laurent) et en pleine nature (Strom Spa nordique, La Source Bains nordiques, Scandinave Spa, Nordik Spa-Nature…) 
  • Passer un (ou plusieurs) week-end.s dans un chalet en pleine nature
  • Aller voir les animaux d’hiver typiques de la belle province (caribous, orignaux, renards des neiges…) au Parc Oméga !

Retrouvez d’ailleurs toutes les activités et aventures des Maplr sur Instagram, vous verrez on ne s’est pas ennuyé !

Vous l’aurez compris, l’hiver à Montréal et au Québec peut certes être effrayant pour certain.e.s mais c’est une expérience à vivre au moins une fois dans votre vie de futur.e.s expats ! Si vous êtes bien équipé.e.s et prêt.e.s à vous amuser, tout est aligné pour que vous passiez une saison inoubliable. 

Et d’ailleurs ce qu’on fait chez Maplr pour passer un bel hiver à Montréal : c’est se réunir et faire le plein d’activités, suivez nos aventures sur Instagram (tu verras on ne s’ennuie pas !).