fbpx

You will soon arrive in Montreal for your holiday or for your expatriation ? Did you know that hockey is the national sport in Canada in winter? More than a sport, hockey gathers thousands of fans and has quickly become the most popular sport in Canada . In Montreal, the city vibrates with the colours of the Montreal Canadiens, the city's emblematic team.

Would you like to know everything about this iconic sport and the Montreal team? This article is for you.
We will enlighten you on hockey in Montreal and how to see a game alone or with friends to enjoy the excitement ofthis sport that firmly unites Quebecers.

events-sports-montreal-hockey

Hockey in Montreal: The NHL and the Montreal Canadiens

The Montreal Canadiens is the city's hockey club. This hockey club is to Montrealers what the Knicks are to New York or what the Olympique de Marseille is to the city of Marseille .

There is a rare fervour on game nights at the Bell Centre, you can see the pride Montrealers have for their club. You can see Canadiens jerseys on countless people. But that's not all, the most impressive thing is to see Canadiens flags on fire trucks, in bars, restaurants, shops and even on dozens and dozens of cars.

sports-events-montreal-canadian-hockeys

What is the NHL?

As for the hockey season, the Montreal Canadiens play in the National Hockey League: the NHL. The league includes the best Canadian and American franchises. A regular season consists of 82 games, half at home and half on the road. The 8 best teams of the East and West divisions will play the playoffs, which will add more than twenty additional games and thus bring to more than one hundred games for the finalists of the Stanley Cup

montreal-hockey-canada

Photo credit: Wikimedia

Where to see a hockey event in Montreal?

Hockey games are played at the Bell Centre in Montreal. Historically, the Bell Centre is a mythical and attractive place in Montreal, at the time it was called the Molson Centre because it was financed and built by the owner of the same name. Since 1996, it has been home to the Canadiens. Located in the heart of downtown Montreal at 1909 Montreal Canadiens Ave, the arena seats 21,302. This emblematic place of Montreal welcomes today, in addition to hockey, the biggest international stars for the great concerts and shows of Montreal.

centre-bell-montreal-go-habs-go-hockey

GO HABS GO! What is it?

At first glance, you would think that fan chants would have a positive origin, but not all the time and the Montreal Canadiensclub is the exception that proves the rule.

We will go back to the Quebec of the beginning of the XXth century, at that time two hockey teams existed, the Montreal Canadiens, a mainly French-speaking team and the Montreal Maroons, an English-speaking team. The two teams were rivals and over the years the Maroons club died out while the Montreal Canadiens gradually became a real institution in the hockey world. The Anglophones, offended by this setback for their club, found themselves supporting the Canadiens, but they still wanted to throw their weight around and support them by singing the "Go Habs Go" chant.

Indeed, the word "Habs" comes from a pejorative term aimed at French-speaking people living in Quebec, because at that time of the beginning of the 20th century, French-speaking people lived for the most part in the countryside and were for the most part in agriculture. The term habitant at that time was attributed to those people from the countryside, a bit rough and living outside the city.

When the Francophones realised at the time that this song, which had become almost a cult, was ultimately an insult, they decided to replace "Go Habs Go" with "Halte-là les Canadiens sont-là".

It wasn't until about 30 years ago that the famous "Go habs Go" came back with a more positive impetus than it had at first and was able to replace the French saying. If you go to the Bell Centre, be prepared to hear "Go Habs Go", but now you'll know how to explain the history of this chant to your neighbour.

The 2020/2021 season and the Canadians in the Playoffs

In the last season 2020-2021, nobody expected the Montreal Canadiens to make the Playoffs, they surprised everyone by achieving an extraordinary season. After struggling to qualify for the play-offs, the Montreal club qualified for the conference finals by beating the rival Toronto Maple Leafs in 7 spectacular games.

Then they faced one of the big favourites of the 2020/2021 season, the Vegas Golden Knights. After a complicated start, Montreal ended up winning the conference final (4 wins to 2), a huge joy filled the streets of Montreal to enter the Playoffs for the first time since the last Stanley Cup victory in 1993. This World Cup-like event here in Canada was watched by millions, but the defending Tampa Bay Lightning were too high a step for our Canadiens. They lost that final (4 wins to 1) in an extraordinary series. The 2020-2021 team has won the hearts of old and new fans alike.

referent-sport-montreal-Maplr-pierre

What are the PlayOffs?

This term is specific to North American sports championships, and refers to the matches that take place at the end of the championship between the top teams. after the end of the championship between the best teams of the championship. At the end of this set of matches, the champion will be designated🏆

Hockey in Montreal: buying tickets to see a game

To get tickets to see a Centre Bell game, it's a little more complex, most of the time, you'll have to go to the Canadiens' partner ticket resale sites to get tickets. But don't worry, for games with mid to low-ranking clubs, there will always be affordable ticketsavailable.

The cheapest tickets to get to the Bell Centre are around $50. If you then want to get closer to the ice and be at the edge of the rink, you'll need a bigger envelope. Don't worry, the stadiums, rinks and other venues in North America are very well made, even if you are at the top, you will be able to see the game perfectly.

Pierre's advice

Visit the official Ticketmaster resale site to get your tickets to a hockey game for less!

Pierre

Maplr's sport referent

the-hockey-in-montreal-canada-community

Montreal Canadiens: Carey Price, THE player to know

The historical players are immortalized in statues in front of the Bell Centre. We will let you discover this memorial of the greatest players of the CH Montreal, all the statues are accompanied by a small historical note which will help you to understand their exploits.

Recently, the most emblematic player of the Canadiens is the great Carey Price: he has been the goalie of the club for 14 seasons now. Carey was born in Anahim Lake, Canada, and is now the most Quebecois of the Canadiens. No one in Quebec will ever have a bad word to say about this extraordinary player. Here, you will see many people on game days wearing Carey Price's jersey, he is the current legend of the club.
Another player to know is Shea Weber , the Sicamous, BC native who is currently the captain of the Canadiens at the time of writing! However, this year Shea is slowly recovering from an injury and we hope to see him wearing the Montreal Canadiens colours soon.

hockey-canadiens-montreal-jersey-price
montreal-canadians-hockey-jersey

Hockey in Montreal: Bars and restaurants where to watch hockey in Montreal

Outside of the Bell Centre, you can always go enjoy a great poutine at a bar that is broadcasting the game, with the amazing atmosphere that comes with the Canadiens. Here are our favourite sports bars to watch the Montreal Canadiens game:

  • The Cage : in addition to being one of the official HQ for the parties MaplrThe Cage is above all a wonderful place to experience the atmosphere of the matches while sipping a beer or a soda!
  • The MVP A sports bar located in the city centre that has been in existence since 1999!

The vocabulary of the hockey pros you need to know

A lexicon complete exists to perform in a conversation between hockey fans in Quebec, but if you were to learn only a few words about Hockey in Canada, here they are:

  • Palet/Puck/Disque/Rondelle: the disc for playing hockey (the palet in France)
  • The NHL: National Hockey League
  • The Stanley Cup: is a North American ice hockey trophy awarded annually by the National Hockey League to the winning team in the NHL Playoffs.
Pierre

Maplr's sport referent

Hockey in Canada: how to watch the NHL from France or by streaming

If you are currently in France, you can follow the NHL through the channels of the Canal + Group which owns the French rights until 2022.

If you are in Canada, you can follow the Canadians' exploits on TVA Sports.

Where to play hockey in Montreal?

Before you start playing hockey, why not practice skating first? Although we have little doubt about your level of glide and stability, it's always easier to handle a skate if you can stand on your own two feet. lacrosse if you stand on your own two feet 😊!
Enjoy, winterThere are many parks in Montreal and across Canada that offer skating rinks for you to enjoy! Of course, if you prefer to be indoors in the warmth, many arenas will allow you to practice all year round. At 1000 rue de la gauchetièreyou'll find the city's busiest indoor rink, which also offers courses for all ages and levels!

So are you ready to jump on the ice and become the next Price of history?

skate-a-montreal-parc-lafontaine-hockey

Hockey Culture at Maplr

At Maplr, we are passionate about hockey and we regularly offer skating lessons and outings to see hockey games at the Bell Centre or in a bar! For some, winter is a season complicatedFor some people, winter is a season, but for us, it's an opportunity to take advantage of this magnificent season to practice skating and to integrate a little bit more into the Canadian culture!

If you are a Tech looking for opportunities in Canada, don't hesitate to contact us and sign up for our free coaching program for Canada !

community-tech-canada-montreal-hockey-maplr

fbpx

Vous arrivez bientôt à Montréal pour les vacances ou pour votre expatriation ? Savez-vous que le Hockey est le sport national l’hiver au Canada ! Plus qu’un sport, le hockey rassemble des milliers d’adeptes et est rapidement devenu le sport le plus populaire au Canada. À Montréal, la ville vibre aux couleurs des Canadiens de Montréal, l’équipe emblématique de la ville.

Vous aimeriez tout savoir sur ce sport emblématique et l’équipe de Montréal ? Cet article est fait pour vous.
Nous vous éclairerons sur le Hockey à Montréal et comment voir un match seul ou entre amis afin de profiter de l’effervescence de ce sport qui unit fermement les québécois.

evenements-sportifs-montreal-hockey

Le Hockey à Montréal : La NHL et les Canadiens de Montréal

Les Canadiens de Montréal est le club de Hockey de la ville. Ce club de hockey est aux Montréalais ce que les Knicks sont à New-York ou ce que peut représenter l’Olympique de Marseille à la ville phocéenne. 

Il y a une ferveur rare lors des soirs de match au Centre Bell, on peut s’apercevoir de la fierté des montréalais pour leur club. On peut apercevoir des chandails des Canadiens sur un nombre incalculable de personnes. Mais ce n’est pas tout, le plus impressionnant, c’est de voir des drapeaux des Canadiens sur les camions de pompiers, dans les bars, les restaurants, les boutiques et même sur des dizaines et dizaines de voitures.

évenements-sportifs-montréal-canadiens-hockeys

Qu’est-ce que la NHL ?

Pour ce qui est de la saison de Hockey, les Canadiens de Montréal joue dans la Ligue Nationale de Hockey : la NHL. La ligue regroupe les meilleurs franchises canadiennes et américaines. Il faut savoir qu’une saison régulière est composée de 82 matchs, moitié à domicile l’autre à l’extérieur. Les 8 meilleures équipes des divisions Est et Ouest disputeront les playoffs, ce qui ajoutera plus d’une vingtaine de matchs supplémentaires et donc ce qui amènera à plus d’une centaine de matchs pour les finalistes de la Coupe Stanley

canadiens-de-montreal-hockey-canada

Crédit photo : Wikimédia

Où voir un événement de Hockey à Montréal ?

Les matchs de Hockey se déroulent au Centre BELL à Montréal.  Historiquement, le Centre Bell est un lieu aussi mythique qu’attrayant à Montréal, à l’époque, on l’appelait Centre Molson car il a été financé et construit par le propriétaire du même nom. Depuis 1996, il accueille les Canadiens. Se trouvant en plein centre-ville au 1909 Av. des Canadiens de Montréal, l’enceinte possède 21 302 places. Ce lieu emblématique de Montréal accueille aujourd’hui en plus du Hockey, les plus grandes stars internationales pour les grands concerts et spectacles de Montréal.

centre-bell-montreal-go-habs-go-hockey

GO HABS GO ! Késako ?

À la base, on pourrait croire que les chants de soutien des supporters partent d’une origine positive, mais pas tout le temps et le club des Canadiens de Montréal est l’exception qui confirme la règle.

Nous allons retourner dans le Québec du début du XXe siècle, à cette époque deux équipes de hockey existent, les Canadiens de Montréal, une équipe principalement francophone et les Maroons de Montréal, une équipe Anglophone. Les deux équipes étaient rivales et aux fils des années le club Maroons s’est éteint tandis que de son côté les Canadiens de Montréal sont devenus petit à petit une réelle institution dans le monde du hockey. Les anglophones vexés de cette déconvenue de leur club, se sont retrouvés à soutenir les Canadiens cependant ils ont quand même voulu jeter leur petit pic en allant les soutenir en entonnant le chant “Go Habs Go”.

En effet, à la base le mot “Habs” vient d’un terme péjoratif visant les francophones habitants au Québec, car à cette époque du début du XXe siècle, les francophones vivent pour la plupart dans les campagnes et sont pour la plupart dans l’agriculture. Le terme habitant à cette époque est attribué à ces personnes originaires de la campagne, un peu rustre et vivant en-dehors de la ville. 

Quand les francophones ont compris à l’époque que ce chant qui était devenu presque culte était finalement une insulte, ils ont décidé de remplacer le “Go Habs Go” par “Halte-là les Canadiens sont-là”.

Ce n’est qu’il y a une trentaine d’années que le fameux “Go habs Go” est revenu avec un élan plus positif qu’au départ et a pu remplacer le dicton français. Si vous vous rendez au Centre Bell, préparez-vous à entendre “Go Habs Go”, mais maintenant vous saurez expliquer à votre voisin l’histoire de ce chant.

La saison 2020/2021 et les Canadiens en Playoffs

Lors de la dernière saison 2020-2021, personne n’attendait les Canadiens de Montréal en Playoffs, ils ont surpris tout le monde en réalisant une saison extraordinaire. Après s’être qualifié difficilement pour les play-offs, le club montréalais s’est vu se qualifier en finale de conférence en ayant battu le club rival des Maple Leafs de Toronto en 7 matchs spectaculaires.

Pour ensuite affronter l’un des grands favoris de cette saison 2020/2021, les Golden Knights de Las Vegas. Après des débuts compliqués, Montréal finit par remporter cette finale de conférence (4 victoires à 2), une joie immense a rempli les rues de Montréal pour rentrer en finale de Playoffs pour la première fois depuis la dernière victoire en Coupe Stanley en 1993. Cet événement digne de la Coupe du monde ici au Canada, a été suivi par des millions de personnes, mais le Lightning de Tampa Bay, tenant du titre, était une marche trop haute pour nos Canadiens. Ils perdent cette finale (4 victoires à 1) dans une série extraordinaire. L’équipe de 2020-2021, a conquis le cœur des anciens et des nouveaux supporters.

referent-sport-montreal-Maplr-pierre

C’est quoi les PlayOffs ?

Ce terme est propre aux championnats sportifs nord-américains, il désigne les matchs qui se déroulent après la fin de championnat entre les meilleures équipes de ce dernier. À la fin de cet ensemble de matchs, le champion sera désigné🏆

Le Hockey à Montréal : acheter ses places pour voir un match

Pour se procurer des places pour voir un match Centre Bell, c’est une tâche un petit peu plus complexe, la plupart du temps, il faudra s’adresser à des sites de reventes de places partenaires des Canadiens pour pouvoir se procurer des billets. Mais ne vous inquiétez pas, pour les matchs avec des clubs de milieu ou bas de tableaux, il y aura toujours des places à des prix abordables.

Le prix des places les moins chères pour se rendre au centre Bell sont aux alentours de 50$. Si vous voulez ensuite vous rapprocher de la glace et être au bord de la patinoire, il faudra avoir une plus grosse enveloppe. Rassurez-vous les stades, patinoires et autres en Amérique du Nord sont très bien faits même si vous êtes tout en haut, vous pourrez voir parfaitement le match.

Le conseil de Pierre

Visitez le site de revente officiel Ticketmaster pour obtenir vos places pour voir un match de Hockey à moindre coût !

Pierre

Référent sport chez Maplr

le-hockey-à-montreal-canada-communauté

Les Canadiens de Montréal : Carey Price, LE joueur fétiche à connaître

Les joueurs historiques sont immortalisés sous forme de statues devant le Centre Bell. Nous vous laisserons le plaisir de découvrir ce mémorial des plus grands joueurs du CH Montréal, toutes les statues sont accompagnées d’une petite note historique qui vous aidera à comprendre leurs exploits. 

Récemment, le joueur le plus emblématique des Canadiens est le grand Carey Price : c’est le gardien du club depuis maintenant 14 saisons. Carey est né à Anahim Lake au Canada, il est aujourd’hui le plus Québécois des Canadiens, personne ne pourra au Québec avoir une mauvaise parole sur ce joueur extraordinaire. Ici, vous croiserez beaucoup de personnes les jours de match avec le chandail de Carey Price, c’est l’actuelle légende du club.
Un autre joueur à connaître : Shea Weber, le joueur originaire de Sicamous en Colombie-Britannique et qui est actuellement le capitaine des Canadiens au moment de l’écriture de cet article ! Cependant, cette année, Shea se remet doucement d’une blessure et nous espérons le voir arborer bientôt les couleurs des Canadiens de Montréal.

hockey-canadiens-montreal-chandail-price
canadiens-de-montreal-hockey-chandail

Le Hockey à Montréal : Bars et restaurants où regarder le hockey à Montréal

En dehors du Centre Bell, vous pourrez toujours aller déguster une très bonne poutine dans un bar qui diffusera le match, avec cette ambiance extraordinaire qui émane des Canadiens. Voici nos bars sportifs préférés pour voir le match des Canadiens de Montréal :

  • La Cage : en plus d’être un des QG officiel pour les soirées Maplr, la Cage est avant tout un endroit merveilleux pour vivre l’ambiance des matchs tout en sirotant une bière ou un soda !
  • Le MVP : Bar sportif situé en plein centre-ville qui existe depuis 1999 ! 

Le vocabulaire des pros du Hockey à connaître absolument

Un lexique complet existe pour performer dans une conversation entre fans de hockey au Québec, mais si vous ne deviez apprendre que quelques mots sur le Hockey au Canada, les voici :

  • Palet/Puck/Disque/Rondelle : le disque pour jouer au hockey (le palet en France)
  • La NHL :  National Hockey Ligue
  • La coupe Stanley : est en Amérique du Nord un trophée de hockey sur glace décerné chaque année par la ligue nationale de Hockey à l’équipe championne qui remportera les Playoffs de la NHL.
Pierre

Référent sport chez Maplr

Le Hockey au Canada : comment regarder la NHL depuis la France ou en streaming

Si vous êtes actuellement en France, vous pouvez suivre la NHL grâce aux chaines du Groupe Canal + qui possède les droits français jusqu’en 2022.

Si vous êtes au Canada, vous pouvez suivre les exploits des Canadiens sur TVA Sports.

Où faire du Hockey à Montréal ?

Avant de vous lancer dans le hockey à proprement parlé, pourquoi ne pas vous pratiquer d’abord au patin ? Bien que nous n’avons que peu de doutes concernant votre niveau de glisse et de stabilité, il est toujours plus simple de manier une crosse si vous tenez bien sur vos jambes 😊!
Profitez-en, l’hiver, les nombreux parcs de Montréal et du Canada proposent des patinoires pour vous permettre de vous amuser ! Bien évidemment, si vous préférez être à l’intérieur au chaud, de nombreuses arena vous permettront de vous entrainer toute l’année. Au 1000 rue de la gauchetière, vous trouverez la patinoire intérieure la plus animée de la ville qui proposent aussi des cours pour tous les ages et niveaux !

Alors prêt.e à sauter sur la glace et devenir le prochain Price de l’histoire ?

patin-a-montreal-parc-lafontaine-hockey

La Culture Hockey Chez Maplr

Chez Maplr, nous sommes passionnés de Hockey et nous proposons régulièrement des initiations au patin et des sorties pour aller voir les matchs de Hockey au Centre Bell ou dans un bar ! Pour certains, l’hiver est une saison compliquée, mais pour nous, c’est l’occasion de profiter de cette magnifique saison pour se pratiquer au patin et s’intégrer chaque jour un peu plus dans la culture canadienne !

Si tu es Tech en recherche d’opportunités au Canada, n’hésite pas à nous contacter et inscrit toi sans attendre à notre programme d’accompagnement gratuit pour le Canada !

communauté-tech-canada-montreal-hockey-maplr