Expatriation: 9 ways to make new friends abroad

If you are planning to travel alone and settle in a new country, you have probably made a list of all the important things you need to think about when you arrive: finding accommodation, a bank, insurance, etc. However, meeting people might not be on your list but is still essential. Here are some tips on how to make friends abroad and even before you leave!

Joining online groups to make new friends abroad

There are plenty of online groups for meeting new people.

Firstly, you will find the generalized sites where expatriates write about their experiences. You can comment on publications and ask questions. This will allow you to start a discussion with them.

You can also find more specialised groups where you can meet people with the same interests as you. Here are some examples:

For the more sporty, there are a lot of Facebook groups dedicated to organising sports activities, both as a team and individually. For example, you can find a partner to play tennis with or join a team of outdoor or indoor football players.

Again, don't hesitate to talk to some people before you arrive. You will be able to make friends with them and arrange meetings as soon as you arrive.

The Maplr community

Maplr's aim is to support you throughout your expatriation process, and this obviously includes your integration on the ground!

If you've been following Maplr for a while (you need to stop hesitating and pack your bags?), you've probably noticed that we've already accompanied several Maplrs in their expatriation. These people are part of our network and, once you've taken the plunge ✈️, they'll be part of yours!

The Maplr community is a real network of mutual support and brings together people who have decided to move to Canada.

Even before you arrive, we will put you in touch with the Maplrs so that you can introduce yourself and start a conversation. We hold regular events between Maplrs and their families to build relationships and new friendships. This is a great way for you to make friends when you arrive.

You should know that despite the pandemic, we continue to organise virtual events and small group remote games ?

Faire-des-rencontres-à-Montréal

Meet your work colleagues

In Canada, it is customary to organise what is called a 5 to 7. This is actually the Quebec expression for "Afterwork". Why 5 to 7? Simply because it's an after-work drink, usually held from 5:00 to 7:00 pm (or later for the more adventurous).

17:00 seems early to you? And yet! The pace of life in Canada is very different.

If you're interested, we discuss the pace of life in Montreal in this article.

Another tip is to get to know your future colleagues before you start work. Simply connect with them via LinkedIn and start a conversation. This way, you won't be a complete stranger when you join the company.

Making new friends abroad by organising or participating in meetups

The meetups are gatherings of people with a common interest. In other words, you meet people at themed events to discuss your common interests and make new connections. Until the pandemic is over, the events continue virtually. This is a good way to make friends abroad.

  • The meetup application

Do you know the meetup application? If you're a meetup fan, this should interest you! It will allow you to meet people while doing the activities you love!

There are a multitude of groups with a purely social purpose, such as meetup events in bars, game rooms, hiking... But also with a professional purpose, such as groups to learn a new language, help each other with IT projects, etc. Find your meetup!

  • Technical meetups

Depending on your technical skills, you will always find a meetup related to the technology in question. Each community usually has an associated Slack/discord. This is a great way to network and meet new people.

Some technical meetups in Montreal: 

  • The Montreal Java User Group (JUG) : The Montreal Java User Group (JUG) is a community around the JAVA ecosystem that meets monthly to exchange ideas and discuss technological advances. The meetings are free, open to all and consist of a technical presentation, a product demonstration, or a round table discussion.
  • Devops Montreal : This group is for anyone interested in the Devops movement and the digital transformation of companies. All levels are welcome.
  • Agile Montreal: This group is for anyone who practices or wants to develop their agile practice in business in areas as varied as project management, people management, strategy, innovation, leadership development or operations agilisation.
  • Vue Montreal : Group for anyone interested in Vuejs. The meetings are designed to learn about Vue.js in some way: through presentations or by helping each other.
Make-friends-abroad-1

Learn a new language and make new friends

Do you want to create a circle of English-speaking friends to improve your English? There are applications that allow you to meet English-speaking people. A great way to make friends abroad while improving your English (or another language).

Generally, these applications work on the basis of an exchange of knowledge: someone teaches you a language and you teach your native language to the other person.

Here are some examples of applications: HelloTalk, Speaky, Tandem, mylanguageexchange...

Discover the game bars

Are you a fan of board games? Then game bars are for you! It's a concept that's becoming more and more popular: meeting new people by playing board games (role-playing, pictionary, murder mysteries, etc.).

In Montreal, there are several of them and each one is as atypical as the other, in here is a small selection.

Make-meets-abroad

Doing volunteer work

A great way to meet new people while supporting a cause you care about is to volunteer?

There are lots of associations where you can give your support. This is a great way to find friends with whom you share the same humanitarian goals and interests.

Find the different volunteer centers in Montreal and its surroundings: I volunteer.

Registering on dating sites

At Maplr we have also thought about singles!

Here are some dating apps that also work very well in Montreal: the famous Tinder, Bumble, Happn...

Meet-me-in-Canada

Learn the basics of Quebec language

Finally, if you are going to a foreign country, the first thing to do is to learn the basics in the local language. If you come to Quebec, this will be easier since French is the main language. In this case, the best advice we can give you is to familiarise yourself with Quebec expressions!

To train you, here is a site which gathers several of them

A doubt during a meeting or an evening with friends? Here is WikébecHere is the participative dictionary to find the definition of words or expressions quickly.

Believe me, this avoids many misunderstandings!

Still looking for a job in Canada?

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

making-friends-abroad-expatriation-min

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

Si tu as prévu de voyager seul(e) et de t’installer dans un nouveau pays, tu as sans doute fait la liste de toutes les choses importantes auxquelles tu dois penser à ton arrivée : trouver un logement, une banque, une assurance, etc. Pourtant, faire des rencontres ne fait peut-être pas partie de ta liste mais reste essentiel… Voici donc quelques conseils pour se faire des amis à l’étranger et même avant ton départ!

Adhérer à des groupes en ligne pour se faire de nouveaux amis à l’étranger

Il existe une multitude de groupes en ligne pour faire de nouvelles rencontres.

Dans un premier temps, tu trouveras les sites généralisés où les expatriés y racontent leurs expériences. Tu peux y commenter des publications et poser des questions. Cela te permettra d’entamer une discussion avec eux.

Tu peux également trouver des groupes plus spécialisés qui te permettront de rencontrer des personnes qui ont les mêmes centres d’intérêt que toi. Voici quelques exemples :

  • Pour faire des rencontres et, pourquoi pas, organiser des escapades le week-end avec de nouvelles personnes, tu peux retrouver le groupe Sorties / soirées / bons plans PVTISTES Canada 🤙🏻
  • Tu es une fille et tu aimerais rencontrer d’autres filles ? Le groupe Facebook sorties entre elles Montréal  te permettra de rencontrer des femmes qui ont vécu la même expérience d’expatriation que toi et qui t’accueilleront à bras ouverts.

Pour les plus sportifs, sachez qu’il existe un grand nombre de groupes Facebook dédiés à l’organisation d’activités sportives, en équipe mais aussi en individuel. Tu peux par exemple trouver un partenaire avec qui jouer au tennis ou encore intégrer une équipe de joueurs de foot en extérieur ou en salle.

Encore une fois, n’hésite pas à discuter avec certaines personnes avant même ton arrivée. Tu pourras sympathiser avec eux et organiser des rencontres dès ton arrivée.

La communauté Maplr

Maplr a pour objectif de t’accompagner dans l’ensemble de ton processus d’expatriation et cela passe bien évidemment par ton intégration sur place !

Si tu suis Maplr depuis un moment (c’est qu’il faut que tu arrêtes d’hésiter et que tu fasses tes bagages 😜), tu as sans doute remarqué que nous avons déjà accompagné plusieurs Maplrs dans leur expatriation. Ces personnes font partie de notre réseau et, lorsque tu auras franchi le pas ✈️, elles feront partie du tien !

La communauté Maplr est un véritable réseau d’entraide et regroupe des personnes qui ont décidé de s’expatrier au Canada.

Avant même ton arrivée, nous te mettrons en relation avec les Maplrs pour que tu puisses te présenter et engager la conversation. Nous organisons très régulièrement des évènements entre les Maplrs et leurs familles pour créer du lien et de nouvelles amitiés. Voilà un excellent moyen pour toi de te faire des amis à ton arrivée.

Sache que malgré la pandémie, nous continuons d’organiser des évènements virtuels et des jeux à distance en petit groupe 🎮

Faire des rencontres à Montréal

 

Rencontrer tes collègues de travail

Au Canada, il est de coutume d’organiser ce que l’on appelle des 5 à 7. Il s’agit en réalité de l’expression québécoise pour dire “Afterwork”. Pourquoi 5 à 7 ? Tout simplement car c’est un apéro juste après le travail généralement organisé de 17:00 à 19:00 (ou plus tard pour les plus téméraires).

17:00 ça te parait tôt ? Et pourtant ! Le rythme de vie au Canada est très différent.

Si ça t’intéresse, nous abordons le sujet du rythme de vie à Montréal dans cet article.

Une autre astuce consiste à faire connaissance avec ses futurs collègues de travail avant même ton entrée en poste. Il te suffit de te connecter avec eux via LinkedIn et d’engager la conversation. De cette façon, à ton arrivée dans l’entreprise tu ne seras pas totalement inconnu(e).

Se faire de nouveaux amis à l’étranger en organisant ou participant à des meetups

Les meetups sont des rassemblements de personnes ayant un intérêt commun. En d’autres termes, tu rencontres des personnes lors d’événements à thème pour échanger de vos intérêts communs et tissez de nouveaux liens. En attendant la fin de la pandémie, les événements continuent virtuellement. Il s’agit d’un bon moyen pour se faire des amis à l’étranger.

  • L’application meetup

Connais-tu l’application meetup ? Si tu es un(e) adepte des meetups, ça devrait t’intéresser ! Elle te permettra de rencontrer du monde tout en faisant les activités que tu aimes !

Il existe une multitude de groupes aussi bien à vocation purement sociale comme des événements de rencontre dans des bars, des salles de jeux, des randonnées… Mais aussi à des fins professionnelles comme des groupes pour apprendre une nouvelle langue, s’entraider sur les projets informatiques, etc. Trouve ton meetup !

  • Les meetups techniques

En fonction de tes compétences techniques, tu trouveras toujours un meetup lié à la technologie en question. Chaque communauté possède généralement son Slack/discord associé. C’est un très bon moyen de faire du réseautage et rencontrer de nouvelles personnes.

    Quelques meetups techniques sur Montréal : 

    • Le Montréal Java User Group (JUG) : est une communauté autour de l’écosystème JAVA se réunissant chaque mois afin d’échanger des idées et de discuter des avancées technologiques. Les réunions sont gratuites, ouvertes à tous et consistent en une présentation technique, une démonstration d’un produit, ou une table ronde. 
    • Devops Montréal : Ce groupe s’adresse à tous ceux qui sont intéressés par la mouvance Devops et la transformation digitale des entreprises. Tous les niveaux sont les bienvenus.
    • Agile Montréal : Ce groupe est destiné à toute personne qui pratique ou qui souhaite développer sa pratique agile en entreprise dans des domaines aussi variés que la gestion de projets, la gestion des humains, la stratégie, l’innovation, le développement du leadership ou l’agilisation des opérations.
    • Vue Montréal : Groupe pour toute personne intéressée par Vuejs. Les rencontres ont pour but d’apprendre sur Vue.js d’une manière ou d’une autre: par des présentations ou par de l’entraide entre participants.
    Se-faire-des-amis-à-l'étranger

    Apprendre une nouvelle langue et se faire de nouveaux amis

    Ton objectif est de te créer un cercle d’amis anglophone pour améliorer ton niveau d’anglais ? Il existe des applications qui te permettront de rencontrer des personnes anglophones. Un excellent moyen de se faire des amis à l’étranger tout en améliorant son niveau d’anglais (ou une autre langue).

    Généralement ces applications fonctionnent sur la base d’un échange de connaissance : une personne t’apprend une langue et tu apprends ta langue maternelle à ton interlocuteur.

    Voici quelques exemples d’applications : HelloTalk, Speaky, Tandem, mylanguageexchange

    Découvrir les bars à jeux

    Es-tu un(e) adepte des jeux de société ? Alors les bars à jeux sont faits pour toi ! C’est un concept qui se développe de plus en plus : rencontrer de nouvelles personnes en jouant à des jeux de plateau (jeux de rôles, pictionary, meurtre et mystères, etc.).

    À Montréal, il en existe plusieurs et sont aussi atypiques les uns que les autres, en voici une petite sélection.

    Faire des rencontres à l'étranger

    Faire du bénévolat

    Un très bon moyen de faire de nouvelles rencontres tout en soutenant une cause qui te tient à cœur est de faire du bénévolat 🤝

    Il existe beaucoup d’associations au sein desquelles tu pourras apporter ton soutien. Voilà une belle façon de trouver des amis avec qui tu partages les mêmes objectifs humanitaires et les mêmes centres d’intérêts.

    Retrouvez les différents centres d’action bénévole de Montréal et ses alentours :

    S’inscrire sur des sites de rencontres

    La pandémie qui nous touche rend difficile les rencontres amoureuses… Mais chez Maplr nous avons aussi pensé aux célibataires !

    Voici quelques applications de rencontre qui fonctionnent aussi très bien à Montréal : le fameux TinderBumbleHappn

    Faire des rencontres au Canada

    Apprendre les notions de bases en québécois 

    Enfin, si tu pars dans un pays étranger, la première chose à faire est d’apprendre les notions de bases dans la langue du pays. Si tu viens au Québec, ce sera plus facile puisque le français y est la langue principale. Dans ce cas, le meilleur conseil que l’on puisse te donner est de te familiariser avec les expressions québécoises !

    Pour t’entraîner, voici donc un site qui regroupe plusieurs d’entre-elles 😉 

    Un doute durant une réunion ou une soirée entre amis ? Voici Wikébec, le dictionnaire participatif pour trouver la définitions des mots ou expressions rapidement. 👍🏻

    Crois-moi cela évite bien des quiproquos !

    Tu es toujours à la recherche d’un emploi au Canada ?