Changing employers with a closed work permit in Canada

Last updated on May 13, 2020 at 9:00 am (Montreal time)

In general, you need a work permit to come and work in Canada. In particular, there are temporary closed work permits (young professional, closed work permit with CAQ/EIMT....) that allow you to quickly start a life experience in Canada. 

A closed work permit means that you are bound to a particular employer and that you must work only for that employer for the duration of your work permit.

Nevertheless, in some cases, a change of employer may be considered. This article will help to clarify and reassure you about the possibilities of changing employer for a closed work permit in Canada.

Young Professionals Permit: how to change employers before arriving in Canada?

For most nationalities (especially for the French), you can only participate once in the EIC program. So make sure that you are completely confident with your future employer so as not to waste this opportunity. Even if you have already applied in the young professional category, you may be eligible for a second participation if, and only if, you cancel your application before coming to Canada

You have already received your letter of introduction to Canada

You have already received your letter of introduction to come to Canada and your employer has decided to change his mind or is no longer able to offer you the position you are seeking? Your employer will be able to withdraw the job offer from the employer portal so that you can have your application for a young professional permit refused. The costs incurred for your application for a permit will be automatically refunded. You can then submit a new application for a young professional permit via a new employer.

You have not yet received your letter of introduction to Canada

If you are not yet in Canada and no longer wish to continue your application for a Young Professional Permit, you may be required to withdraw your application and receive a refund (only if the Government of Canada has not produced your Letter of Introduction for the Port of Entry). Here are the steps to follow. You can then apply for a new Young Professional Permit through a new employer.

work-farm-permit-with-employer-canada

Young Professionals Permit: how to change employers once in Canada?

The Young Professionals Permit is issued under the IEC (International Experience Canada) program. It is offered to young people from 24 countries (including France), aged between 18 and 35 (30 depending on nationality) and who have found a job in Canada.

Under the Young Professionals category, as it is a closed work permit you cannot change employers if you have a valid reason ⬇️. Your new job must still meet the requirements requirements for the young professional category.

What are the valid reasons for changing employer? Some examples:

  • You worked for a company that closed down
  • You do not receive the remuneration you were promised
  • Your working conditions are not safe or do not correspond to those promised to you
  • You have been dismissed or laid off

You cannot change employer in the following situations:

  • A different employer offered you a better salary
  • You want to work in a different place
  • You don't like your job or your employer

If you are not eligible to change employer for these reasons you may be eligible for another type of workpermit (outside the EIC).

work permit-canada-travel-immigration

Changing employers on a closed work permit (CSQ holders)

For those with a CSQ (Certificat de Sélection du Québec), you can apply for an A75 closed work permit with a new employer in Canada. The A75 refers to the exemption code linked to the CSQ which avoids the employer having to do a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMI).

Here are the conditions to be met (source) :

  • Currently reside in Quebec;
  • Have a valid work permit (PVT, Jeune pro...)
  • Have a valid job offer submitted by the employer on the government's employer platform
  • Hold a CSQ under the Skilled Worker category (Quebec).

The special case of COVID-19 and layoffs in Canada

work-permit-canada-covid-immigration

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many foreign workers on closed work permits have lost their jobs. In the case of a lay-off you may be eligible for a change of employer.

Normally, any foreign worker with a closed work permit who sees the relationship with his or her employer break down is allowed to stay in Canada in order to find another job, but only for the duration of the validity of his or her initial work permit. Only, to start working for a new employer, they have to apply for a modification of their work permit and wait for the receipt of their new work permit (usually within 10 weeks).

In the framework of COVID-19 and to facilitate the return to work of workers, a new measure has been put in place on 12 May 2020: holders of a closed work permit already in Canada who have applied for a work permit modification with a valid work offer can start working for their new employer WITHOUT waiting for the issuance of their new work permit. An email authorization from the Canadian authorities is required.

Procedure for amending your work permit in the context of a layoff and COVID-19 (source)

  • Step 1: Find a new employer in Canada and have a validjob offer
  • Step 2: Apply for a work permit online
  • Step 3: Complete the IRCC web form requesting permission to start working for your new employer before your work permit is issued. Follow the instructions on this page for the text to be sent specifically (copy/paste message)
  • Step 4: Wait for your e-mail. If the application is successful, you will receive an email informing you that you can start working for your new employer.(The email should arrive within about 10 working days).

How to find a new employer to change your closed work permit?

At Maplr, specialist in international mobility and immigration of TECH profiles, we have several job offers available and we can help you change your work permit. 

We work in partnership with many Maplr-labelled Canadian companies to offer you the job of your dreams. A company with the Maplr label is a Canadian company that recruits internationally and shares our values in the world of work: human values, work environment and methods, onboarding, innovation, salaries, etc. By accompanying you in your job search, we can help you select a company that has already proven itself in hiring foreign workers and that will allow you to flourish in your life project in Canada Contact us to find out more!

More articles for you 👇

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

📅Dernière mise à jour le 13 mai 2020 à 9 h 00 (heure de Montréal)

De manière générale, vous devez obtenir un permis de travail pour venir travailler au Canada. Il existe notamment des permis de travail fermés temporaires (jeune professionnel, permis de travail fermé avec CAQ/EIMT….) permettant de débuter rapidement une expérience de vie au Canada. 

Un permis de travail fermé signifie que vous êtes lié à un employeur donné et que vous devez travailler uniquement pour celui-ci pendant la durée de votre permis de travail.

Néanmoins, dans certains cas, un changement d’employeur peut-être envisagé. Cet article vous aidera à y voir plus clair et à vous rassurer sur les possibilités de changement d’employeur pour un permis de travail fermé au Canada.

Permis jeune professionnel : comment changer d’employeur avant d’arriver au Canada ?

Pour la majorité des nationalités (notamment pour les français), vous ne pouvez participer qu’une seule fois au programme EIC. Assurez-vous donc d’être en confiance totale avec votre futur employeur pour ne pas gâcher cette opportunité. Même si vous avez déjà présenté une demande dans la catégorie jeune professionnel, vous pourriez être admissible à une seconde participation si et seulement si, vous annulez votre demande avant de venir au Canada. 

Vous avez déjà reçu votre lettre d’introduction pour venir au Canada

Vous avez déjà reçu votre lettre d’introduction pour venir au Canada et votre employeur a décidé de changer d’avis ou n’est plus en mesure de vous offrir le poste convoité ? Votre employeur pourra retirer l’offre d’emploi déposé sur le portail des employeurs pour que vous puissiez obtenir un refus de votre demande de permis jeune professionnel. Les frais engagés pour votre demande de permis vous seront automatiquement remboursés. Vous pouvez ensuite déposer une nouvelle demande de permis jeune professionnel via un nouvel employeur.

Vous n’avez pas encore reçu votre lettre d’introduction pour venir au Canada

Si vous n’êtes pas encore au Canada et que vous ne souhaitez plus continuer votre demande de permis jeune professionnel, vous pourriez être amené à retirer votre demande et recevoir un remboursement (uniquement si le gouvernement du Canada n’a pas produit votre lettre d’introduction pour le point d’entrée). Voici la marche à suivre. Vous pouvez ensuite déposer une nouvelle demande de permis jeune professionnel via un nouvel employeur.

Permis jeune professionnel : comment changer d’employeur une fois au Canada ?

Le permis jeune professionnel est délivré dans le cadre du programme EIC (Expérience Internationale Canada). Il est proposé aux jeunes de 24 pays (dont la France), âgés de 18 à 35 ans (30 ans selon les nationalités) et qui ont trouvé un emploi au Canada.

Au titre de la catégorie Jeunes professionnel, etant donné qu’il s’agit d’un permis de travail fermé vous ne pouvez changer d’employeur que si vous avez une raison valable ⬇️. Votre nouvel emploi doit toujours satisfaire aux exigences s’appliquant à la catégorie jeune professionnel.

Quelles sont les raisons valables pour changer d’employeur ? Quelques exemples :

  • Vous travailliez pour une entreprise qui a fermé ses portes
  • Vous ne recevez pas la rémunération qu’on vous a promise
  • Vos conditions de travail ne sont pas sécuritaires ou ne correspondent pas à celles qui vous ont été promises
  • Vous avez été congédié ou mis à pied

Vous ne pouvez pas changer d’employeur dans les situations suivantes :

  • Un employeur différent vous a offert un meilleur salaire
  • Vous souhaitez travailler dans un endroit différent
  • Vous n’aimez pas votre travail ou votre employeur

Si vous n’êtes pas admissible à changer d’employeur via ces raisons vous pourriez être admissible à un autre type de permis de travail (hors EIC).

Changer d’employeur sur un permis de travail fermé (titulaires du CSQ)

Pour les personnes titulaires d’un CSQ (Certificat de Sélection du Québec), vous pouvez faire une demande de permis de travail fermé A75 avec un nouvel employeur au Canada. Le A75 fait référence au code d’exemption lié au CSQ qui évite à l’employeur de faire une étude d’impact sur le marché du travail (EIMT).

Voici les conditions à remplir (source) :

  • Résider actuellement au Québec;
  • Avoir un permis de travail valide (PVT, Jeune pro…)
  • Avoir une offre d’emploi valide présentée par l’employeur sur la plateforme employeur du gouvernement
  • Etre titulaire d’un CSQ au titre de la catégorie des travailleurs qualifiés (Québec).

Le cas particulier de la COVID-19 et les mises à pied au Canada

À cause de la pandémie COVID-19, de nombreux travailleurs étrangers en permis de travail fermé ont perdu leur emploi. Dans le cas d’une mise à pied vous pouviez être admissible à un changement d’employeur.

En temps normal, tout travailleur étranger ayant un permis de travail fermé et qui voit la relation avec son employeur rompu est autorisé à rester sur le territoire canadien dans le but de trouver un autre emploi mais uniquement pour la durée de validité de son permis de travail initial. Seulement, pour commencer à travailler pour un nouvel employeur, il doit faire la demande de modification de son permis de travail et attendre la réception de son nouveau permis de travail (habituellement dans un délai de 10 semaines).

Dans le cadre du COVID-19 et pour faciliter le retour à l’emploi des travailleurs, une nouvelle mesure a été mise en place le 12 mai 2020 : les titulaires d’un permis de travail fermé déjà au Canada et ayant fait une demande de modification de permis de travail avec une offre de travail valide peuvent commencer à travailler pour leur nouvel employeur SANS attendre la délivrance de leur nouveau permis de travail. Il faudra au préalable une autorisation email de la part des autorités canadiennes.

Marche à suivre pour modifier son permis de travail dans le cadre d’une mise à pied et du COVID-19 (source)

  • Étape 1 : Trouver un nouvel employeur au Canada et avoir une offre d’emploi valide
  • Étape 2 : Présentez votre demande de permis de travail en ligne
  • Étape 3 : Remplir le formulaire web d’IRCC en demandant l’autorisation de commencer à travailler pour votre nouvel employeur avant la délivrance de votre permis de travail. Suivez les instructions sur cette page pour le texte à envoyer spécifiquement (message à copier/coller)
  • Étape 4 : Attendez votre courriel. Si la demande est acceptée, vous recevrez un courriel vous informant que vous pouvez  commencer à travailler pour votre nouvel employeur. (le courriel devrait vous parvenir dans un délai d’environ 10 jours ouvrables).

Si votre projet d’expatriation a été impacté par le COVID veuillez suivre notre article spécial sur les mesures prises dans le cadre du COVID-19.

Comment trouver un nouvel employeur pour changer son permis de travail fermé ?

Chez Maplr, spécialiste en mobilité internationale et immigration des profils TECH, nous avons plusieurs offres d’emploi disponibles et nous vous accompagnons dans le changement de votre permis de travail. 

Nous travaillons en partenariat avec de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes labelisée Maplr pour vous proposer l’emploi de vos rêves. Une entreprise labellisée Maplr est une entreprise canadienne recrutant à l’international et partageant nos valeurs du monde du travail : valeurs humaines, environnement et méthodes de travail, onboarding, innovation, salaires… En vous  accompagnant sur votre recherche d’emploi, nous vous aidons à sélectionner une entreprise qui a déjà fait ses preuves dans l’embauche de travailleurs étrangers et qui vous permettra de vous épanouir pour votre projet de vie au Canada. Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus !