fbpx

You are planning to move to the largest French-speaking city in America and you are wondering what the cost of living is in Montreal. Perfect! You've come to the right place.

What if we told you that Montreal is THE city for professional and personal opportunities? Indeed ,Montreal is known as a major player in information and communication technologies. The scale of digital technology is such that some Montreal companies are in shortage of computer scientists and developers; a godsend to find your future job ... wellYOUR future job, as we say here 😉

Example of a cost of living analysis in Montreal

Settling down to seize a great professional opportunity is good, but doing so while increasing your purchasing power is even better. Indeed, the average salary The average salary for a developer with 5 years of experience is around 75,000 CAD gross per year, which is more than 17% higher than in France. The same goes for those with more or less experience: the salary in Montreal is far more interesting than in France for tech profiles.

Let's take a look at how much it can cost to live in Montreal in 2022 when you are a newcomer to Canada (you will find at the end of this article an example of a concrete budget of daily life for an expatriate in Montreal).

Summary ?

Housing

The charges

Telephony and internet

The races

Leisure activities

Have a drink

Transport

Medical care

Housing

Montreal is a Canadian city with relatively low prices compared to the rest of the country, although the price of housing varies greatly depending on the area of the island and the size of the house. If you move outside of the downtown core, you can easily find a decent flat or condo for between $800 and $1100 per month (for a 3 ½(for a 3 ½ bedroom apartment in France, a one-bedroom apartment). The same thing in the heart of Montreal will be between 1300$-1500$. You will have to add 20$ per month for your home insurance (minimum coverage).

ℹ️ Note that there is no habitation tax for tenants in Montreal.

If you want to get an idea of where to live, don't hesitate to check out Canada's leading classified ad site : Kijiji. You can also find roommates there. Note that in Montreal, access to property is more accessible than in France and allows you to acquire a home for about $200,000/$250,000 . Here is some advice to find a flat in Montreal as a future expatriate and choose your future neighbourhood.

The charges

Water is free in the city of Montreal, for electricity count 50$ on average for a 3 ½. It all depends of course on your consumption and the insulation of your flat... In winter, the bill may increase a little 😉

ℹ️ Please note that in many new or recent flats electricity is included in the price of the accommodation.

Telephony and internet

Whether it is for a mobile or a fixed line, the packages are much more expensive than in France. The same goes for internet and cable TV packages .A piece of advice, plan on a minimum of 60$ per month for an internet box and to have a correct speed (although this amount can often be included in the rent price depending on the landlords) . In addition, you will have to add 25$ if you want to use cable TV . As far as cellular telephony is concerned, prices are very varied. On average, you should expect to pay 60$ on average for a smartphone package at bell or videotron with unlimited calls and data.

The Tuques Rouges tip:

Koodomobile offers great prices (sometimes even under $50) for a mobile plan with over 10G0 of data!

The races

The average monthly cost of food for one person is estimated at around$500. To get the best prices, don't hesitate toexplore areas less touristy than the city centre. Markets and small grocery shops offer products at very interesting prices . This willlower your average shopping basket. When it comes to shopping for clothes, you will find outlets with discounted branded goods.

The Tuques Rouges tip:

For your groceries, you can check out Costco for discounts on large quantities!

Leisure activities

Living in Montreal also means being able to take advantage of the many activities on offer. In summer and winter, the city often offers free activities for young and old. Here are some budget ideas for the more "classic" leisure activities:

?the cinema

Count 12.5$ for a full price ticket. But on Tuesday nights in some of the cineplexes in the city, it's half price, or 6.50$

?️The restaurant

The cost of a non-alcoholic meal in a "traditional" restaurant is $30 per person. Do not forget to add taxes (15%) and tips (approx. 15%). Count 80$ for a restaurant with a starter, main course, dessert and wine. For fast food, no tip but between 8 to 15$ for a on average for a submarine or a good poutine!

?♂️The gym

A membership in a gym is about 50$/month . But you should also know that in Montreal many flats have a gym directly in the residence and with free use for the tenants!

Have a drink

?a beer in a pub

Montreal is known for its many microbreweries and pubs. The price of a pint varies a lot depending on the day/week and in particular, it will be cheaper during happy hours for 5@7 with colleagues. Prices vary between 5$ and 10$ (plus 1$ tip)

?a drink with friends

You are invited to a colleague's house for a dinner ? As a good guest, don't forget to go to the SAQ (Société des alcools du Québec) to buy a good bottle of wine. It will cost you about 12$. And if you want to bring a pack of beer, count 17$ for a pack of "Bud Light".

☕ A coffee in a bar

A coffee in a bar-restaurant will cost you 2,5$ and 4$ for a cappuccino (it is much cheaper at Tim Hortons ;))

Transport

In Montreal, the monthly pass for public transport (OPUS card) is $90,50$ each ticket is 3,50$. For more information, you can visit the STM WEBSITE (Montreal's transportation company)

If you wish, an alternative could be to use a car-sharing scheme (e.g. communauto) or a Bixi.

 

Medical care

The equivalent of Social Security in Quebec is called RAMQ for Régie d'Assurance Maladie du Québec. It is free for immigrants. As in France, some medical care considered non-urgent is not covered by the Quebec public system. In many cases, group insurance (mutuelle) is provided by your employer. If this is not the case, you can subscribe to a basic private insurance. Here is a full article to help you see more clearly about The health care system in Canada.

Cost of living in Montreal: example of monthly budget for an expatriate

Below is an example of a budget for an expatriate in Montreal:

 

Recurrent expenditure

3 ½ bedroom flat in the city centre 1300$
Electricity 80$
Insurance 20$
Internet / Television 85$
Telephony 60$
TOTAL 1545$

 

Daily life

Opus Card 90,50$
Races 500$
5 pints per week 160$
1 traditional restaurant per week 30$
1 Fast food per week 40$
1 Restaurant with friends 80$
2 Evenings with friends 24$
2 cinemas per month 13$

Sports hall

50$

Some coffee (and donuts 😉 at Tim Hortons)

40$
TOTAL EXCL. 1027,50$
TOTAL with taxes (approx 15%) 1181$

 

Monthly total (recurring expenses and daily living)

C$2726

Do you need more tips for your expatriation?

Discover our Instagram accountEvery week, we publish the best tips for your move to Canada!

Instagram Maplr

A very attractive cost of living in Montreal

With this example, the housing/going out and daily living budget is approximately C$2,726 per month. An IT Developer with 5 years experience will earn approximately C$75,000 gross per year or C$6,250 gross per month or approximately C$4,346 net per month (the net salary includes the payment of taxes, as they are deducted at source). The cost of living is therefore very interesting in Montreal! We told you about it in this article.

Here is also a site for examples of other expenses in Montreal.

Discover our other blog posts about your move to Montreal!

What is the salary of a computer developer in Montreal, Quebec, Canada?

When it comes to the cost of living, it's interesting to compare it to the salary you could expect. Discover our complete study on salaries for computer developers in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Expatriate developer in Montreal - Canada

Want to try your hand at adventure in Montreal?

At Maplr, we will help you find your IT job in Montreal for free and assist you in all phases of your relocation.

Our team is here to guide you and give you all the information you need to start your new life in Montreal! Join our community now.

fbpx

Tu as un projet d’expatriation vers la plus grande ville francophone d’Amérique et tu te demandes quel est le coût de la vie à Montréal. Parfait ! Tu es au bon endroit.

Et si on te disait que Montréal est LA ville en matière d’opportunités professionnelles et personnelles ? En effet, Montréal est connu comme un acteur majeur dans les technologies de l’information et de la communication. L’ampleur du numérique est telle que certaines entreprises montréalaises sont en pénurie d’informaticiens et de développeurs ; une aubaine à saisir pour trouver ton futur job... enfin TA future job, comme on dit ici 😉

Exemple d’analyse du coût de la vie à Montréal

S’installer pour saisir une super opportunité professionnelle c’est bien, mais le tout en augmentant ton pouvoir d’achat, c’est encore mieux. En effet, le salaire moyen pour un développeur ayant 5 ans d’expérience est d’environ 75000 $CA brut par an soit plus de 17% par rapport à la France. Il en va de même pour les plus ou moins expérimentés : le salaire à Montréal est de loin plus intéressant qu’en France pour les profils Tech.

Regardons ensemble combien ça peut coûter de vivre à Montréal en 2020 quand on est un nouvel arrivant au Canada (tu trouveras à la fin de cet article un exemple de budget concret de la vie quotidienne pour un expatrié à Montréal).

Le logement

Montréal est une ville canadienne aux prix relativement bas par rapport au reste du pays bien que le prix d’un logement varie beaucoup en fonction de son secteur sur l’île et de la surface de l’habitation. En s’installant en dehors du centre-ville, tu pourras trouver aisément un appartement ou un condo décent pour un loyer variant entre 800 et 1100$ par mois (pour un 3 ½, donc un T2 en France, une seule chambre fermée). La même chose en plein cœur de Montréal sera autour des 1300$. Il te faudra ajouter 20$ par mois pour ton assurance habitation (couverture minimale).

ℹ️ À noter qu’il n’y a pas de taxe d’habitation pour les locataires à Montréal.

Si tu veux avoir une idée des logements, n’hésite pas à jeter un œil sur le site de petites annonces de référence au Canada : Kijiji. Tu pourras aussi y trouver des colocations. À noter qu’à Montréal l’accès à la propriété est plus accessible qu’en France et permet d’acquérir un logement pour environ 200,000$/250,000$. Voici quelques conseils pour trouver un appartement à Montréal en tant que futur expatrié et choisir ton futur quartier.

Les charges

L’eau est gratuite sur la ville de Montréal, pour l’électricité comptez 50$ en moyenne pour un 3 ½. Tout dépend bien évidemment de votre consommation et l’isolation de votre appartement… En hiver, la facture risque d’augmenter un petit peu 😉

ℹ️ A noter, que dans beaucoup d’appartements récents ou neufs l’électricité est incluse dans le prix du logement.

La téléphonie et internet

Que ce soit pour un portable ou un fixe, les forfaits sont beaucoup plus chers qu’en France. Il en va de même pour les forfaits internet et câble de télévision. Un conseil, prévois 60$ par mois minimum pour une box internet et pour avoir un débit correct (bien que ce montant peut souvent être inclus dans le prix du loyer dépendamment des propriétaires). De plus, il faudra ajouter 25$ si tu souhaites utiliser la télé sur le câble. Concernant la téléphonie cellulaire, les prix sont très variés. Il faudra compter en moyenne 60$ en moyenne pour un forfait téléphone intelligent chez bell avec appels illimités et de la data.

Les courses

Le  coût moyen mensuel de l’alimentation pour une personne est estimé à environ 250$. Pour te procurer des produits aux prix imbattables n’hésite pas à explorer des quartiers moins touristiques que le centre-ville. Des marchés et petites épiceries proposent des produits à des prix très intéressants. De quoi donc faire baisser ton panier moyen. Au niveau du magasinage (shopping) d’habillement plus particulièrement, tu trouveras ton bonheur dans les magasins « outlets » proposant des articles de marque dégriffés.

Les loisirs

Vivre à Montréal c’est aussi pouvoir profiter des nombreuses activités proposées, été comme hiver la ville propose très souvent des activités gratuites pour petits et grands. Voici quelques idées de budget concernant les loisirs les plus “classiques” :

🍿Le cinéma

Compte 12.5$ pour un ticket plein tarif. Mais le mardi soir dans certains des cinémas cineplex de la ville, c’est moitié prix, soit 6.50$

🍽️Le restaurant

Compte pour un repas entrée/plat ou plat/dessert sans alcool dans un restaurant “traditionnel” 30$ par personne. Il ne faudra pas oublier d’y ajouter les taxes (15 %) et les pourboires(approx. 15 %). Compte 80$ pour un restaurant entrée/plat/dessert et vin type gastronomique. Concernant les fast food, pas de pourboire mais entre 8$ et 15$ en moyenne pour un sous-marin ou une bonne poutine !

🏋‍♂️La salle de sport

Un abonnement dans une salle de sport (“un gym”) est d’environ 50$ /mois. Mais il faut aussi savoir qu’à Montréal beaucoup de logements ont la salle de sport directement dans la résidence et avec utilisation gratuite pour les locataires !

Boire un verre

🍻Une bière dans un pub

Montréal est connu pour ses nombreuses micro-brasseries et ses pubs. Le prix d’une pinte varie beaucoup en fonction de la journée/semaine et notamment, elle sera moins chère durant les “happy hours” pour les 5@7 entre collègues. Les prix varient entre 5$ et 10$ (plus 1$ de pourboire)

🍷Un verre chez des amis

Tu es invité chez un collègue pour un souper ? En bon invité, n’oublie pas de passer à la SAQ (société des alcools du Québec) pour acheter une bonne bouteille de vin. Celle-ci te coûtera environ 12$. Et si tu souhaites amener un pack de bière, compte 17$ pour un pack de « Bud Light ».

☕Un café dans un bar

Un café dans un bar-restaurant vous coûtera 2,5$ et 4$ pour un cappuccino (c’est bien moins cher chez Tim Hortons ;))

Les transports

À Montréal, l’abonnement mensuel aux transports en commun (carte OPUS) est de 86,50$ chaque ticket est à 3,50$. Pour plus d’informations, tu peux consulter le site de la STM (société de transport de Montréal)

Si tu le souhaites, une alternative pourra être d’utiliser une voiture en autopartage (par exemple communauto) ou un vélo Bixi.

Les soins médicaux

L’équivalent de la sécurité Sociale au Québec s’appelle la RAMQ pour Régie d’Assurance Maladie du Québec. Elle est gratuite pour les immigrants. Comme en France, certains soins médicaux considérés comme non urgent ne sont pas pris en charge par le système public québécois. Dans de nombreux cas une assurance collective (mutuelle) est fournie par ton employeur. Si ce n’est pas le cas, tu pourras souscrire à une assurance privée basique. Voici un article complet pour t’aider à y voir plus clair concernant le système de santé au Canada.

Coût de la vie à Montréal : exemple de budget mensuel pour un expatrié

Voici ci-dessous un exemple de budget pour un expatrié à Montréal :

Dépenses récurrentes

Appartement 3 ½ en centre ville 1300$
Electricité 80$
Assurance 20$
Internet / Télévision 85$
Téléphonie 60$
TOTAL 1545$

 

Vie quotidienne

Carte Opus 86,50$
Courses 250$
5 pintes par semaine 160$
1 Restaurant “tradi” par semaine 30$
1 Fast food par semaine 40$
1 Restaurant entre amis 80$
2 Soirées chez des amis 24$
2 cinémas par mois 13$

Salle de sport

50$

Quelques cafés (et donuts 😉 chez Tim Hortons)

40$
TOTAL HT 605$
TOTAL avec taxes (env 15%) 700$

 

Total mensuel (dépenses récurrentes et vie quotidienne)

2245$CA

Un coût de la vie très intéressant à Montréal

Avec cet exemple le budget logement / sorties et vie quotidienne est d’environ 2 245 $CA par mois. Un développeur en TI avec 5 ans d’expérience gagnera environ 75 000 $CA brut annuel soit 6 250 $CA brut par mois soit environ 4 346 $CA net par mois  (le salaire net inclut le paiement des impôts car il est prélevé à la source). Le coût de la vie est donc très intéressant à Montréal ! D’ailleurs on vous en a parlé dans cet article.

Voici aussi un site intéressant pour avoir des exemples concernant d’autres postes de dépenses à Montréal.

Découvre nos autres articles de blog concernant ton installation à Montréal !

Quel est le salaire d’un développeur informatique à Montréal, Québec, Canada ?

 Quand on parle de coût de la vie il est intéressant de le confronter au salaire que vous pourriez prétendre. Découvrez notre étude complète sur les salaires des développeurs en informatique à Montréal, Québec, Canada.

Envie de tenter l’aventure à Montréal ?

Chez Maplr, nous t’accompagnons gratuitement pour trouver ton emploi en TI à Montréal et sur toutes les phases de ta relocalisation.

Notre équipe est là pour te guider et te donner toutes les informations nécessaires pour démarrer sereinement ta nouvelle vie à Montréal ! Rejoins sans attendre notre communauté.

Envie de travailler au Canada dans les TI ?

Reçois sur ta boite mail mes conseils et astuces pour préparer au mieux ton projet d'expatriation.

 

Merci pour ton inscription !