.NET developer expatriate in Montreal : interview of Gauthier

Interview with Gauthier, .NET developer expatriate in Montreal since October 2019.

After three years of study in Toulouse for his engineering school and 4 years as a fullstack .NET developer in Montpellier (his home town), Gauthier, a 29-year-old developer, decided to leave the mild Mediterranean climate and move to Montreal in October 2019. Since then, he has been an active member of the Maplr community and his infectious smile is on many of our photos!

To celebrate his first anniversary as an active member of our community, we decided to ask him a few questions. Discover his feelings and feedback on his expatriation project in Montreal.

What are the reasons for your expatriation to Montreal?

An internship in New York during my studies gave me a taste for expatriation. I wanted to live a real experience abroad to discover another way of understanding the professional world but also to discover another country and a new culture.

I had already been to Quebec twice, once with my family when I was 9 years old and the second time with friends, only a few months before my expatriation. A way to confirm my desire to expatriate to Canada.

The welcome and kindness of the Quebecers, the beauty of nature and many other things made me decide to take the plunge.

gauthier-developer-expatrie-ski

How was your expatriation to Montreal?

I had been thinking about expatriation since that famous internship in New York, but I had never dared to take the plunge. As I was approaching thirty, I started to look into the subject more seriously. It was in a forum dedicated to expatriation that I came across a post by Marion talking about Maplr, I clicked on her site and the adventure began!

I had two interviews with Marion and Maxime to evaluate my technical level, my motivation and my personality. Then I continued the recruitment process with two interviews with a Quebec company that hired me shortly after.

All I had to do was get the work permit and pack my bags!

gauthier-kayak-developer-expatrie

Did you encounter any difficulties during your expatriation in Montreal?

Despite a visceral hatred for all things administrative, I did not encounter any particular difficulties when I applied for my Young Professionals permit.

Maplr was very helpful in providing me with a detailed procedure of the steps to be taken but also in answering each of my questions during the different stages.

The main difficulty I encountered was finding accommodation when I arrived. I wanted to live in a flat share to meet people and quickly build up a network, but I couldn't imagine doing that from a distance before arriving, without really seeing the flat and the flat mates. So I booked an Airbnb for the first 5 days thinking I would find the flat of my dreams very quickly... It finally took me 29 visits and more than a month and a half before I found the flat that was made for me!

gauthier-community-maplr

What do you think of the support offered by Maplr?

The support is great! The administrative procedures are made very accessible thanks to the help of Maplr. They provide help and advice on all sorts of subjects: visa, insurance, documents to take with you, first steps on arrival...

"The community, with everyone's experience, allows us to have all the answers! The community is the big plus of Maplr!"
Gauthier

.NET Developer in Montreal

The community is a big plus for a project such as expatriation! Indeed, being alone in a country other than one's own, even a French-speaking one, can be very difficult both socially and practically.

In addition, some questions may seem very basic but not so obvious in a foreign country:

  • How to make an appointment with a doctor?
  • How do you open a bank account and what is this famous credit rating?
  • In which shop can you find a particular product?

The community, with the experience of each one, makes it possible to have all the answers!

Finally, we regularly organise happy hours and activities of all kinds: escape game, hiking, tennis, beach volleyball, barbecue/picnic, skiing, ice skating... There is something for everyone and it allows you to quickly get to know people.

The community is the big plus of Maplr!

community-maplr-evenement-gauthier

What do you think of the cost of living as an expat in Montreal?

The cost of living is about the same as in France, or at least to compare to what I know best: Montpellier.

Some expenses are higher, others lower:

  • rents are higher, especially near the metro
  • food is a bit more expensive in general
  • taxation is about the same but there is no council tax here
  • electronics and textiles are cheaper

On the whole it balances out.

The big difference is in the salary: in the IT world in Canada, we are very well off! In my case, this represents an increase of about 30% on my net salary.

Note: If you need more information about the cost of living in Montreal, this article is for you.

What kind of reception did you get from the Canadians?

I was very well received at work. The use of "tutoiement" is most often used, whether in the company or in general in shops, restaurants, etc... communication is more direct than in France. The form with the big polite sentences doesn't interest them, it's "bullshit" as they say here. All this has the effect of breaking down barriers and making people more accessible and warm.

I was also very well integrated into my Quebec roommate's group of friends. They invited me to go canoe-camping and introduced me to some local customs such as the corn roast and the convivial evenings around a big fire.

What do you like most about Montreal?

The most striking thing about arriving is the feeling of security, tranquillity and human warmth.

Nature is also one of Montreal's great strengths. Whether in the city itself with its many parks or less than two hours away with the national and regional parks. It is easy to disconnect from the city world.

Ice skates

On the pro side, are there any differences with France?

Having worked in two different companies (the first in France, then here in Montreal), I don't have much perspective. But from what I've seen, the division between work and personal life is much more respected in Canada. It's not uncommon to see empty (or almost empty) open spaces from 4pm. You'll never hear the famous " you're taking the afternoon off " or "you've put in a leave of absence" when you leave at 5pm. 

The last difference I see is in the employment contracts and the speed of being hired... or fired! Both can happen overnight.

What is your favourite neighbourhood and why?

Before arriving I had researched the different neighbourhoods. Like many, I wanted to avoid the Plateau Mont-Royal because of the large number of French people there. What's the point of leaving France if it's just to be among French people?

After visiting all the areas that interested me, I finally decided to live... on the plateau! Because yes, there are many French people, but not only! One of my roommates is from Quebec and as he says himself, it's the best place! But why?

  • There are a large number of bars (including microbreweries) and restaurants: it is one of the liveliest districts
  • It is easy to get around, whether by metro, bus or bicycle in summer
  • Grocery shops and convenience stores are located nearby
  • The proximity of many parks, two of the best known being Lafontaine Park on one side and Mount Royal on the other, where you can go for a walk, have a picnic and play a large number of sports (baseball, soccer, beach volleyball, tennis, pétanque, ice skating in winter, etc.)
activity-montreal-igloofest

How was your confinement/COVID phase in Montreal?

The containment and the whole covid phase went relatively well given the unprecedented context. But the time was very long during the confinement because we could hardly leave our house. Fortunately, living in a shared house, I was not alone and that helped me a lot.

I am still teleworking, although I would have liked it to be no more than a few days a week to avoid losing the human contact.

The pandemic has prevented travel as well as the holding of many renowned and diverse festivals and events (jazz, electro, rap, comedy, fireworks, F1 Grand Prix, Canadian Masters 1000...). It was therefore necessary to revise certain plans, which is ultimately a blessing in disguise! Travelling only in the province and discovering all that Quebec has to offer: trips and outings more oriented towards nature and sports activities with hiking, canoeing or camping.

Any last words of advice for future expats in Montreal?

I would advise arriving at least two weeks (ideally a month) before starting work so as not to be caught up in the time with the various administrative procedures, accommodation or potential interviews.

For those who, like me, would like to have an overview of the accommodation before renting: plan more time (like a whole month) to visit the place and thus avoid accumulating several short-term rentals which are very expensive! 

If you are reading this article, it means that you are interested in expatriation to Canada. So my last piece of advice: don't hesitate, go for it and start by contacting Maplr!

Want to try your hand at an adventure in Montreal?

If you also want tohave more time anda better work/life balance? Then join the Maplr family. In addition,on is actively looking for someone motivated to try the new trendy activity in Montreal: lightsaber combat! ? So don't hesitate!

At Maplr, we will help you find your IT job in Montreal for free and assist you in all phases of your relocation. Our French-Canadian team is here to guide you and give you all the information you need to start your new life in Montreal with confidence!

More articles for you 👇

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

Interview de Gauthier, développeur .NET expatrié à Montréal depuis octobre 2019.

Après trois ans d’études à Toulouse pour son école d’ingénieur et 4 ans en tant que développeur fullstack .NET sur Montpellier (sa ville d’origine), Gauthier, jeune développeur de 29 ans, a décidé de quitter le doux climat méditerranéen pour s’installer à Montréal en octobre 2019. Depuis, il est un membre actif de la communauté Maplr et son sourire communicatif est sur beaucoup de nos photos !

Afin de célébrer sa première bougie en tant que membre actif de notre communauté nous avons décidé de lui poser quelques questions. Découvrez son ressenti et les retours sur son projet d’expatriation à Montréal.

Quelles sont les raisons de ton expatriation à Montréal ?

Un stage à New York pendant mes études m’a donné le goût de l’expatriation. J’avais envie de vivre une réelle expérience à l’étranger pour découvrir une autre façon d’appréhender le monde professionnel mais aussi pour découvrir un autre pays et une nouvelle culture.

J’étais déjà venu deux fois au Québec, une première fois avec ma famille lorsque j’avais 9 ans et la seconde fois avec des amis, seulement quelques mois avant mon expatriation. Une manière de confirmer mon envie d’expatriation au Canada.

L’accueil et la gentillesse des québécois, la beauté de la nature et biens d’autres choses encore m’ont décidé à faire le grand saut.

 

gauthier-developpeur-expatrie-ski

Comment s’est déroulée ton expatriation à Montréal ? 

Je pensais à l’expatriation depuis ce fameux stage à New York, mais je n’avais jamais osé me lancer. La trentaine approchant, j’ai commencé à me renseigner plus sérieusement sur ce sujet. C’est dans un forum dédié à l’expatriation que je suis tombé sur un post de Marion qui parlait de Maplr, j’ai cliqué sur son site et l’aventure a commencé !

J’ai effectué deux entretiens avec Marion et Maxime pour évaluer mon niveau technique, ma motivation et ma personnalité. Puis j’ai continué le processus de recrutement par deux entretiens avec une entreprise québécoise qui m’a embauché peu de temps après.

Il ne me restait plus qu’à faire le permis de travail et les valises !

gauthier-developpeur-expatrie-kayak

As-tu rencontré des difficultés lors de ton expatriation à Montréal ?

Malgré une haine viscérale pour tout ce qui est administratif, je n’ai pas rencontré de difficultés particulières lorsque j’ai effectué ma demande de permis Jeune Professionnel.

Maplr m’a bien aidé en me fournissant une procédure détaillée des démarches à réaliser mais aussi en répondant à chacune de mes questions au cours des différentes étapes.

La principale difficulté que j’ai rencontré a été de trouver un logement à mon arrivée. Je souhaitais vivre en colocation pour rencontrer des personnes et me faire rapidement un petit réseau, mais je ne concevais pas de faire ça à distance avant d’arriver, sans réellement voir l’appartement et les colocataires. Alors j’ai réservé un Airbnb pour les 5 premiers jours pensant trouver très rapidement la colocation de mes rêves… Il m’a finalement fallu 29 visites et plus d’un mois et demi avant de trouver la colocation faite pour moi !

gauthier-communaute-maplr

 

Que penses-tu de l’accompagnement offert par Maplr ?

L’accompagnement est super ! Les démarches administratives sont rendues très accessibles grâce à l’aide de Maplr. Ils apportent une aide et des conseils sur toutes sortes de sujets : visa, assurances, documents à emporter avec soi, premières démarches en arrivant…

 

« La communauté, avec l’expérience de chacun, permet d’avoir toutes les réponses ! La communauté c’est le gros plus de Maplr ! »

Gauthier

Développeur .NET à Montréal

La communauté est un gros plus pour un projet tel que l’expatriation ! En effet, se retrouver seul dans un autre pays que le sien, même francophone, peut être très difficile tant sur le plan social que sur le plan pratique.

En plus, certaines questions peuvent paraître très basique mais pas si évidente dans un pays étranger :

  • Comment prendre rendez-vous avec un médecin ?
  • Comment ouvrir un compte bancaire et qu’est-ce que cette fameuse côte de crédit ?
  • Dans quel magasin trouver tel ou tel produit ?

La communauté, avec l’expérience de chacun, permet d’avoir toutes les réponses !

Enfin, on organise régulièrement des 5 à 7 et des activités en tout genre : escape game, randonnée, tennis, beach volley, barbecue/pique-nique, ski, patin à glace… Il y en a pour tous les goûts et cela permet de rapidement faire des connaissances.

La communauté c’est le gros plus de Maplr !

La famille Maplr

communaute-maplr-evenement-gauthier

Que penses-tu du coût de la vie en tant qu’expatrié à Montréal ?

Le coût de la vie est sensiblement identique à la France ou du moins pour comparer à ce que je connais le mieux : Montpellier.

Certaines dépenses sont plus élevées, d’autres le sont moins :

  • les loyers sont supérieurs, surtout proche du métro
  • la nourriture est un peu plus cher aussi de manière générale
  • l’imposition est sensiblement la même mais il n’y a pas de taxe d’habitation ici
  • l’électronique et le textile sont moins cher

Dans l’ensemble ça s’équilibre.

La grande différence se fait au niveau du salaire : dans le monde de l’IT au Canada, on est très bien lotie ! Dans mon cas, cela représente une augmentation d’environ 30% sur mon salaire net.

Nota  : si tu as besoin de plus d’informations concernant le coût de la vie à Montréal, cet article est fait pour toi.

Quel accueil as-tu reçu des Canadiens ?

J’ai été très bien accueilli au travail. Le tutoiement est le plus souvent utilisé, que ce soit dans l’entreprise ou en général dans les magasins, au restaurant, etc… la communication est plus directe qu’en France. La forme avec les grandes phrases de politesse ne les intéresse pas, c’est de la « bullshit » comme ils disent ici. Tout ça a pour effet de casser les barrières et de rendre les gens plus accessibles et chaleureux.

J’ai aussi été très bien intégré dans le groupe d’amis de mon colocataire québécois. Ils m’ont invité à faire du canoë-camping et m’ont fait découvrir quelques coutumes locales comme l’épluchette de blé d’inde et les soirées conviviales autour d’un grand feu.

Qu’est-ce que tu aimes le plus à Montréal ?

Le plus marquant en arrivant c’est le sentiment de sécurité, de tranquillité et la chaleur humaine.

La nature est aussi un des gros points forts de Montréal. Que ce soit dans la ville-même avec ses nombreux parcs ou encore à moins de deux heures de route avec les parcs nationaux et régionaux. Il est facile de déconnecter du monde citadin.

developpeur-montreal-patinoire-activite

Côté pro, est ce qu’il y a des différences avec la France ?

Ayant travaillé dans deux entreprises différentes (la première en France, puis ici à Montréal), je n’ai pas beaucoup de recul. Mais de ce que j’ai pu constater, le partage vie pro versus vie perso est beaucoup plus respecté au Canada. Il n’est pas rare de voir des open-spaces vide (ou presque) dès 16h. On n’entendra jamais le fameux « tu prends ton après-midi ? » ou “tu as posé un RTT” lorsqu’on part à 17h. 

La dernière différence que je vois, c’est au niveau des contrats de travail et de la rapidité d’être embauché… ou viré ! L’un comme l’autre peuvent se faire du jour au lendemain.

Quel est ton quartier préféré et pourquoi ?

Avant d’arriver je m’étais renseigné sur les différents quartiers. Comme beaucoup, je voulais éviter le Plateau Mont-Royal à cause du grand nombre de français présents. A quoi bon quitter la France si c’est pour se retrouver entre français ?

Après avoir visité tous les quartiers qui m’intéressaient, j’ai finalement décidé d’habiter… sur le plateau ! Car oui, il y a beaucoup de Français, mais pas seulement ! L’un de mes colocataires est québécois et comme il le dit lui-même, c’est la meilleure place ! Mais pourquoi ?

  • Il y a un grand nombre de bars (incluant des microbrasseries) et restaurants : c’est un des quartiers les plus vivants
  • Il est facile de se déplacer que ce soit en métro, en bus ou à vélo l’été
  • On trouve des épiceries et dépanneurs à proximité
  • La proximité de nombreux parcs dont deux des plus connus : d’un côté le parc Lafontaine et de l’autre côté le Mont Royal, dans lesquels on peut se balader, faire des pique-nique et pratiquer un grand nombre de sports (baseball, soccer, beach-volley, tennis, pétanque, patin à glace en hiver…)
activite-montreal-igloofest
Comment s’est passé ton confinement/ la phase COVID à Montréal ?
Le confinement et toute la phase covid s’est relativement bien passée compte tenu du contexte inédit. Mais le temps a été très long lors du confinement puisqu’on ne pouvait quasiment pas sortir de chez nous. Heureusement en vivant en colocation je n’étais pas seul et ça m’a bien aidé.

Je suis toujours en télétravail, même si j’aurais aimé que ce soit pas plus de quelques jours par semaine pour éviter de perdre le contact humain.

La pandémie a empêché les voyages ainsi que la tenue de nombreux festivals et évènements très réputés et diversifiés (jazz, électro, rap, humour, feux d’artifice, Grand Prix de F1, Masters 1000 du Canada…). Il a donc fallu revoir certains plans, ce qui est finalement un mal pour un bien ! Voyager uniquement dans la province et ainsi découvrir tout ce que peut offrir le Québec : des voyages et sorties plus orientés nature et des activités sportives avec des randonnées, du canoé ou encore du camping.

 Un dernier conseil pour les futurs expatriés à Montréal ?

Je conseillerai d’arriver au minimum deux semaines (idéalement un mois) avant de commencer le travail pour ne pas être pris par le temps avec les différentes démarches administratives, le logement ou encore les potentiels entretiens.

 

Pour ceux qui comme moi souhaitent avoir un aperçu des logements avant de louer : prévoyez plus de temps (comme un mois entier)  sur place pour visiter et ainsi éviter de cumuler plusieurs locations de courte durée qui coûtent très cher ! 

 

Si tu lis cet article c’est que tu t’intéresses à l’expatriation au Canada. Alors mon dernier conseil : n’hésite plus, lance-toi et pour ça commence par contacter Maplr !

Envie de tenter l’aventure au Canada ?

Si toi aussi tu as envie d’avoir plus de temps pour « performer dans la vie ? Alors rejoins la famille Maplr. En plus, on, recherche activement quelqu’un de motivé pour faire le tour des micro-brasseries du quartier de Gauthier 😄 Alors n’hésite plus ! 

Chez Maplr, nous t’accompagnons gratuitement pour trouver ton emploi en TI à Montréal et sur toutes les phases de ta relocalisation. Notre équipe franco-canadienne est là pour te guider et te donner toutes les informations nécessaires pour démarrer sereinement ta nouvelle vie à Montréal !

Rejoins sans attendre notre communauté.

communauté-maplr-developpeurs-montreal

Envie de travailler au Canada dans les TI ?

Reçois sur ta boite mail mes conseils et astuces pour préparer au mieux ton projet d'expatriation.

 

Merci pour ton inscription !