Equivalence of diplomas France Canada

When planning an expatriation, the question of theequivalence of French and Canadian diplomas is frequently raised. It is not always easy to understand what a French diploma means abroad. On your CV, some of the training you may have done in France may not be equivalent in the province in which you wish to settle in Canada. It is important to know how to recognisethe"local equivalence" of your diploma in order to be able to explain it to the company that wishes to recruit you.

Equivalence of diplomas France Canada: the case of Quebec

Whether you want to move to Quebec or to another province in Canada, it is important to understand that, although the Canadian constitution allows each province to develop its own academic programs, overall the same terms are used to describe university courses and degrees.

First of all, it is important to understand that higher education in Quebec is divided into 3 university cycles after college studies :
  • 1st cycle university ➡️ Canadian baccalaureate (Bac+3 in France)
  • 2nd cycle university ➡️ MaĂ®trise (Master in France)
  • Postgraduate ➡️ Doctorate

These three cycles provide an approximation of the number of years a student has studied.

Here is an infographic that provides an overview of the university system in Quebec and the equivalencies in France:

infography-equivalence-diploma-france-canada-maplr

Equivalence of diplomas France Canada: what to put on your CV?

If you have training that is not equivalent in Quebec (such as a BTS or DUT), it is always useful to mention the higher level of your diploma on your CV. For example, you can specify: "BTS Informatique (Quebec equivalent: DEC + 2 years)".

We do not recommend writing directly: "BTS Informatique - 2-year training after the DEC in computer science". In this case, the company that recruits you may understand that you have completed a Quebec training course to reach this level. It is therefore important to specify in which country you obtained your diploma. If you are at the stage of writing your CV, we have put at your disposal a Canadian CV template a developer to help you write your CV in Canadian format.

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

Equivalence of diplomas in France and Canada: the case of computer science diplomas

To give you an idea of the equivalent studies in IT (computer science) in Canada, here are some examples of Quebec diplomas that may correspond to the French equivalents:

 

  • Bachelor's degree in computer and electronic systems: Equivalent to a French bachelor's degree in computer science (Bac + 3).
  • DEP and AEC in Computer Management: These are short specialized courses, they do not really have any equivalence in France but they could be compared to a BEP in computer management.
  • MaĂ®trise en informatique Equivalent to a master's degree in computer science in France.
diploma-equivalence-canada-maplr

The value of foreign credentials in Canada

First of all, you should know that in the IT field in Canada, your experience is more valuable than your diplomas. The technical skills and soft-skills you have acquired during your experiences are the most important points to highlight on your CV.

For the same reasons, it is generally not necessary to apply for equivalence in IT.

However, in some cases it is necessary to have a degree in your field. Indeed, for closed work permit applications (your permit is sponsored by a company that has made you a job offer), it is necessary to have a CV that corresponds to the NOC code(National Occupational Classification) to which the job offer is attached. The NOC code of a job states the main functions of your future role and the conditions of access to the profession. To find out more about NOC codes, we invite you to consult the dedicated page on the Canadian immigration website.

 

Here is an example with NOC 2174 for the occupation of Web designer and developer:

cnp-2174-conditions-acces-profession

Equivalence of diplomas France Canada: recognition of European credits

As in Europe, studies in Canada are credit-based. Credits are used to evaluate the number of hours of courses required to obtain a degree. One course generally corresponds to 3 credits (it is also possible to accumulate credits during an internship). Here an overview of the credits required for some degree categories:

  • Certificate: 30 credits
  • Bachelor's degree: 90 to 120 credits
  • DESS: 30 credits
  • Master's degree: 45 credits
  • PhD: 90 credits

If you wish to obtain a diploma equivalence in Quebec, you should know that there are reciprocal agreements between France and Quebec allowing the recognition of European credits in Quebec: two European credits(ECTS) correspond to one Quebec credit.

Are you an engineer in France? There is an arrangement on the mutual recognition of professional qualifications (ARM) between the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ) and the Commission des titres d'ingénieur (CTI) of France. You can find more information on this subject here.

More articles for you 👇

Are you from another country than France?

If you come from another country than France and you wish to know the equivalence of your degree between Canada and your country, the University of Montreal has set up several comparative tables according to your country of origin. You can easily compare the educational systems and get an idea of the equivalence of your degree in Quebec.

Still have doubts about the value of your degree in Canada?

If you have any doubts about the value of your credentials in Canada, you can apply for a request a comparative evaluation of your studies with the MIFI. This is not adiploma equivalency but simply a comparison between two official educational systems to give you a benchmark on the value of your diploma in Canada.

⚠️ Important: This is an expert opinion issued by the Ministère de l'Immigration, de la Francisation et de l'Intégration for information purposes only. It is not a neither a diploma nor an equivalence of diploma.

A comparative assessment is not required for an immigration application and you can send a request for a comparative assessment from abroad.

 

Equivalencies-Canada

Experience trumps degrees in IT

In general, the degrees of French schools and universities are highly valued in Canada in Canada: this is explained by the good reputation of studies in France, good qualifications, specialised technical knowledge and a generally exemplary academic record exemplary.

In Canada, we are not interested in the label of a school: each person is considered for what they are worth in terms of their involvement in projects and teams Each person is considered for what he or she is worth in terms of involvement in projects and teams, and in terms of the "soft skills" that make each of us more competitive and unique in the eyes of employers.

If you are looking for a new life experience in Canada do not hesitate to contact us. contact us. We can help you to find a job in Canada and we will guide you for free on all the steps of the relocation.

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks đź‘Ť

equivalence-diploma-france-canada-min

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

 

Lors d’un projet d’expatriation la question de l’équivalence des diplômes France Canada  se pose très fréquemment. Il n’est pas toujours évident de comprendre à quoi correspond un diplôme français à l’étranger. Sur ton CV, certaines formations que tu as pu faire en France n’ont peut-être aucune équivalence dans la province dans laquelle tu souhaites t’installer au Canada. Il est important de savoir reconnaître “l’équivalence locale” de ton diplôme pour être en mesure de l’expliquer à l’entreprise qui souhaite te recruter.

L’équivalence des diplômes France Canada : le cas du Québec

Que tu souhaites t’expatrier au Québec ou dans une autre province du Canada, il est important de comprendre que, même si la constitution canadienne permet à chaque province de développer ses propres programmes scolaires, globalement ce sont les mêmes termes qui sont utilisés pour décrire les parcours universitaires et les diplômes.

Tout d’abord il est important de comprendre que les études supérieures au Québec sont divisées en 3 cycles universitaires après les études collégiales :
  • 1er cycle universitaire ➡️ baccalauréat canadien (Bac+3 en France)
  • 2e cycle universitaire ➡️ Maîtrise (Master en France)
  • 3e cycle universitaire ➡️ Doctorat

Ces trois cycles permettent de connaître approximativement le nombre d’années d’étude qu’un étudiant a à son actif.

Voici une infographie qui offre un aperçu du système universitaire au Québec et les équivalences en France :

infographie-equivalence-diplome-france-canada-maplr

Équivalence des diplômes France Canada : que mettre sur son CV ?

Si tu as une formation sans équivalence au Québec (comme un BTS ou un DUT), il est toujours utile de mentionner sur ton CV le niveau d’études supérieur de ton diplôme. Tu peux, par exemple, préciser : “BTS Informatique (équivalent québécois : DEC + 2 ans)

Nous ne recommandons pas d’écrire directement : “BTS Informatique – formation de 2 ans après le DEC en informatique”. Auquel cas l’entreprise qui vous recrute peut comprendre que vous avez passé une formation québécoise pour atteindre ce niveau. Il est donc important de préciser dans quel pays vous avez obtenu votre diplôme. Si tu es à l’étape de la rédaction du CV, nous avons mis à ta disposition un modèle de CV canadien d’un développeur pour t’aider dans la rédaction de ton CV au format canadien.

Équivalence des diplômes France Canada : le cas des diplômes en informatique

Pour te donner un aperçu des études équivalentes en TI (informatique) au Canada, voici quelques exemples de diplômes québécois qui peuvent correspondre aux équivalences françaises :

  • Baccalauréat en systèmes informatiques et électroniques : Équivalent d’une licence française en informatique (Bac + 3).
  • DEP et AEC en Informatique de gestion : Il s’agit de courtes formations spécialisées, elles n’ont pas vraiment d’équivalences en France mais on pourrait les comparer à un BEP en informatique de gestion.
  • Maîtrise en informatique : Équivalent d’un master informatique en France.

 

diplome-equivalence-canada-maplr

La valeur des diplômes étrangers au Canada

Déjà il faut savoir que dans le domaine de l’informatique au Canada ton expérience a plus de valeur que tes diplômes 🚀 Les compétences techniques et les soft-skills que tu as pu acquérir au cours de tes expériences sont les points les plus importants à mettre en avant sur ton CV.

Pour ces mêmes raisons, il n’est généralement pas nécessaire de demander une équivalence de diplôme dans les TI.

Néanmoins, dans certains cas, il est nécessaire d’avoir un diplôme dans ton domaine. En effet, pour les demandes de permis de travail fermé (ton permis est sponsorisé par une entreprise qui t’a fait une offre d’emploi), il est nécessaire d’avoir un CV qui correspond au code CNP (classification nationale des professions) auquel l’offre d’emploi proposée est rattachée. Le code CNP d’un métier énonce les fonctions principales de ton futur rôle et les conditions d’accès à la profession.  Pour en savoir plus au sujet des codes CNP nous t’invitons à consulter la page dédiée sur le site de l’immigration canadienne.

cnp-2174-conditions-acces-profession

Pour t’éclairer, voici un exemple avec le CNP 2174 pour le métier de concepteurs/conceptrices et développeurs/développeuses Web

Équivalence des diplômes France Canada : reconnaissance des crédits européens

Comme en Europe, les études au Canada donnent droit à des crédits. Les crédits permettent d’évaluer le nombre d’heures de cours requis pour avoir son diplôme. Un cours correspond généralement à 3 crédits (il est également possible de cumuler des crédits durant un stage). Voici un aperçu des crédits nécessaires pour certaines catégories de diplômes :

  • Certificat : 30 crédits
  • Baccalauréat : 90 à 120 crédits
  • DESS : 30 crédits
  • Maîtrise : 45 crédits
  • Doctorat : 90 crédits

Si tu souhaites faire une équivalence de diplôme au Québec, sache qu’il existe des accords de réciprocité entre la France et le Québec permettant la reconnaissance des crédits européens au Québec  : deux crédits européens (ECTS) correspondent à un crédit québécois. Pour en savoir plus sur cet accord.

Tu es ingénieur en France ? Il existe un arrangement sur la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles (ARM) entre l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ) et la Commission des titres d’ingénieur (CTI) de France. Tu retrouveras plus d’informations à ce sujet ici.

Tu viens d’un autre pays que la France ? 

Si tu viens d’un autre pays que la France et que tu souhaites connaître les équivalences de diplôme entre le Canada et ton pays, l’université de Montréal a mis un place plusieurs tableaux comparatifs en fonction de ton pays d’origine. Tu peux facilement comparer les systèmes éducatifs et avoir une idée de l’équivalence de ton diplôme au Québec.

Tu as encore des doutes sur la valeur de ton diplôme au Canada ?

Si tu as des doutes concernant la valeur de tes diplômes au Canada il t’est possible de faire la demande d’évaluation comparative des études auprés du MIFI🎓Il ne s’agit pas d’une équivalence de diplôme mais simplement d’une comparaison entre deux systèmes éducatifs officiels pour te donner un repère sur la valeur de ton diplôme au Canada.

⚠️ Important : Il s’agit d’un avis d’expert délivré par le ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration à titre indicatif seulement. Elle n’est ni un diplôme, ni une équivalence de diplôme.

L’évaluation comparative n’est pas requise pour présenter une demande d’immigration et vous pouvez envoyer une demande d’évaluation comparative depuis l’étranger.

Equivalences-diplome-Canada

L’expérience prime sur les diplômes dans l’informatique (TI)

De façon générale, les diplômes des écoles et universités françaises sont fortement valorisés au Canada : cela s’explique par la bonne réputation des études dans l’Hexagone, de bonnes qualifications, des connaissances techniques pointues et un parcours académique en général exemplaire

Au Canada, on ne s’intéresse pas à l’étiquette d’une école : chaque personne est considérée pour ce qu’elle vaut en termes d’implication dans les projets et au sein des équipes et à travers ses “soft skills”, ses compétences qui rendent chacun de nous plus compétitif.ve et unique aux yeux des employeurs.

Si tu cherches une nouvelle expérience de vie au Canada n’hésite pas à entrer en contact avec nous. Nous pouvons t’aider à trouver un emploi au Canada et nous t’accompagnons gratuitement sur toutes les démarches de la relocalisation.