How to write a Canadian CV?

Looking for a computer developer job in Canada?

Congratulations, there are many opportunities of career opportunities as a developer are available to you. However, in the face of competition, you must know how to stand out and put all the chances on your side in order to be noticed. The first step is to write your CV with Canadian specificities. Indeed, the Canadian resume has very specific rules.

Whether you want to write a Canadian CV or a Quebec CV, here are our different tips to seduce your recruiter and increase your chances of getting the Developer job of your dreams.

To inspire you, you will find a free downloadable Canadian developer resume sample.

Canadian CV: experience is key

Unlike French recruiters, Canadians, like North Americans, attach more importance to professional experience than to academic background. You will therefore have to write your CV in such a way as to highlight each of your professional experiences by emphasising your personal skills, which are just as important as your know-how in their eyes.

You cannot therefore simply list your various experiences. You will have to develop them, and highlight your tasks and functions, without hesitating to put a figure on the results you have obtained (percentage, progress, development, etc.).

In order to best respond to the various advertisements, it is preferable to write a specific CV for each job offer, using the company's key words and highlighting the skills required during your experience. You must show that you are the ideal candidate.

Highlight your personal skills and passions

Softskills are highly sought after and valued in Canada. Write down all the experiences you have had in associations, internships, volunteering, or volunteer work, even during your high school years. Don't forget to mention your passions/hobbies, and the trips you have made to Canada or elsewhere in the world.

E.g.: volunteering in your spare time, giving professional trainings or participating in additional trainings, coaching young professionals, participating in competitions, etc.

soft-skills-cv-canadian

Should a Canadian CV be written in English or French?

To find out what language to write your CV in, just look at the advert. If it is in French, write it in French, if it is in English, choose English.

Bilingualism is particularly sought after, as most positions require the use of English on a daily basis. Even in Quebec. It is therefore preferable to emphasize this skill by writing your level in English, even if it is a French position.

The format of your Canadian CV

As you can imagine, your Quebec or Canadian CV will be much longer than your French CV. It will therefore not fit on half a page. However, it should not be too long either. The ideal size is generally 1 to 3 pages depending on your different experiences.

It should be smooth, logical and enjoyable to read. You should not jump from one thing to another, but follow a common thread, highlighting the evolution of your skills.

It is important to have an open CV to make it attractive. To do this, keep the different sections separate, highlighting your objective and key skills.

cv-canadian-quebecer

Personal information on a Canadian CV

Unlike in France, where the beginning of each CV includes age, date of birth, sex, marital status or number of children, in Canada it is unthinkable to write them. The recruiter will not look for this information on your CV, but will look for the added value you can bring to the company. Indeed, this information is strictly personal and does not change your professional skills.

Similarly, there is no point in attaching your photo to your CV if it is not explicitly requested in the advertisement. Indeed, your photo does not reflect your skills at work, so there is no reason to attach it.

You may be confused by these changes, which are in total contradiction with our traditional French standards, but the Canadian mindset is different. And it minimises the risk of discrimination.

write-cv-canadian

The "contact" area of the Canadian CV

It istherefore advisable to put your various means of contact at the top of your CV, i.e. yourtelephone number and e-mail address, which must be professional and serious.

As for your telephone number, if it is a French number, do not forget to enter it in international format. That is to say, add the code +33, and delete the first 0.

The list of your references

Unlike in France, where this practice is rarely used, it is customary in Canada for the employer to check each of the references mentioned before hiring you. This makes it possible to verify your background and skills with your former colleagues or employers. It is therefore customary to prepare a list containing their names, functions and contact details, which you can then pass on to the recruiter. These references should not appear on your CV, but be available on request.

You can therefore indicate at the bottom of your CV " References on request " to let the recruiter know that if they are interested in your CV, they can contact you to obtain it.

Be careful to only include people on this list who can speak about your attitude and skills at work.

If you have just finished your studies or have limited work experience, your list can also include the names of teachers who will speak about your qualities and your work.

Equivalencies for a Canadian CV

You should use the following on your resume Canadian terms corresponding to your degreescertifications and positions. The terms are specific to each country.

For example, the Quebec baccalaureate corresponds in France to the Licence and the French baccalaureate corresponds in la Belle Province to the DEC pre-university.

You can also obtain a comparative evaluation of your studies outside Quebec (optional).


equivalence-cv-canadian

Canadian CV template to download

To help you and inspire you, please find a downloadable Canadian developer resume template.

Regarding the form of the CV, do as you like!

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

writing-a-cv-canadian

More articles for you 👇

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

Comment rédiger un CV canadien ?

Vous souhaitez obtenir un poste de développeurs en informatique au Canada ?

FĂ©licitations, de nombreuses opportunitĂ©s de carriĂšre de dĂ©veloppeur s’offrent Ă  vous. Cependant, face Ă  la concurrence, il faut savoir se dĂ©marquer et mettre toutes les chances de votre cĂŽtĂ© afin d’ĂȘtre remarquĂ©. La premiĂšre Ă©tape consiste donc Ă  rĂ©diger votre CV avec les spĂ©cificitĂ©s canadiennes. En effet, le CV canadien rĂ©pond Ă  des rĂšgles bien particuliĂšres.

Que vous souhaitiez rĂ©diger un CV canadien ou un CV quĂ©bĂ©cois, voici nos diffĂ©rents conseils pour sĂ©duire au mieux votre recruteur et augmenter vos chances d’obtenir l’emploi de DĂ©veloppeur dont vous rĂȘvez.

Pour vous inspirer, vous trouverez un exemple de CV de développeur au format canadien à télécharger gratuitement.

CV canadien : l’expĂ©rience prime

Contrairement aux recruteurs français, les Canadiens, tout comme les Nord-AmĂ©ricains, attachent plus d’importance Ă  l’expĂ©rience professionnelle qu’au cursus scolaire. Il va donc falloir rĂ©diger votre CV de sorte Ă  valoriser chacune de vos expĂ©riences professionnelles en soulignant votre savoir-ĂȘtre qui est tout aussi important que votre savoir-faire Ă  leurs yeux.

Vous ne pouvez donc pas vous contenter de lister vos différentes expériences. Il va falloir les développer, et mettre en avant vos tùches et vos fonctions, sans hésiter à chiffrer les résultats que vous avez obtenus (pourcentage, progression, développement
).

Afin de rĂ©pondre aux mieux aux diffĂ©rentes annonces, il est prĂ©fĂ©rable de rĂ©diger spĂ©cifiquement un CV par offre d’emploi en reprenant les mots clĂ©s de l’entreprise, ainsi qu’en dĂ©gageant les compĂ©tences demandĂ©es au cours de votre expĂ©rience. Il faut montrer que vous ĂȘtes le candidat idĂ©al.

Mettre en avant votre savoir-ĂȘtre et vos passions

Les compĂ©tences relationnelles, ou “soft skills” sont trĂšs recherchĂ©es et apprĂ©ciĂ©es au Canada. Inscrivez toutes les expĂ©riences en association, stage, volontariat ou bĂ©nĂ©volat que vous avez eu mĂȘme lors de vos annĂ©es collĂšges ou lycĂ©es. N’oubliez pas de parler aussi de vos passions/hobbies, et des voyages que vous avez pu faire au Canada ou ailleurs dans le monde.

Ex : bénévolat dans vos temps libres, donner des formations professionnelles ou participer à des formations supplémentaires, coacher des jeunes professionnels, participer à des compétitions, etc.

soft-skills-cv-canadien

Faut-il le rédiger un CV canadien en anglais ou en français ?

Pour savoir dans quelle langue rĂ©diger votre CV, il suffit de regarder l’annonce. Si elle est en français, rĂ©digez-le en français, si elle est en anglais, optez pour l’anglais.

Le bilinguisme est particuliĂšrement recherchĂ©, car la plupart des postes nĂ©cessitent d’utiliser l’anglais au quotidien. MĂȘme au QuĂ©bec. Il est donc prĂ©fĂ©rable de souligner cette compĂ©tence en Ă©crivant votre niveau en anglais, mĂȘme si c’est un poste francophone.

Le format de votre CV canadien

Comme vous pouvez l’imaginer, votre CV quĂ©bĂ©cois ou canadien sera nettement plus long que votre CV français. Il ne va pas donc tenir sur une demi-page. Cependant, il ne doit pas non plus ĂȘtre trop long. La taille idĂ©ale est gĂ©nĂ©ralement de 1 Ă  3 pages en fonction de vos diffĂ©rentes expĂ©riences.

Sa lecture doit ĂȘtre fluide, logique et agrĂ©able. Il ne faut pas passer du coq Ă  l’ñne, mais suivre un fil conducteur, mettant en avant l’évolution de vos compĂ©tences.

Il est important d’avoir un CV aĂ©rĂ© pour le rendre attrayant. Pour cela, sĂ©parez bien les diffĂ©rentes sections, en valorisant votre objectif et vos compĂ©tences clĂ©s.

cv-canadien-quebecois

Les informations personnelles sur un CV canadien

Contrairement Ă  la France ou chaque dĂ©but de CV comporte l’ñge, la date de naissance, le sexe, la situation maritale ou encore le nombre d’enfants, au Canada il est impensable de les Ă©crire. Le recruteur ne va pas s’attarder ni rechercher ces informations sur votre CV, par contre il va chercher la valeur ajoutĂ©e que vous pouvez apporter Ă  l’entreprise. En effet, ces informations sont strictement personnelles et ne changent en rien vos compĂ©tences professionnelles.

De mĂȘme, il est inutile de joindre votre photo Ă  votre CV si ce n’est pas explicitement demandĂ© sur l’annonce. En effet, votre photo ne reflĂšte en rien vos compĂ©tences au travail, il n’y a donc aucune raison de la joindre.

Vous pourrez ĂȘtre dĂ©stabilisĂ© par ces changements qui sont en totale contradiction avec nos normes françaises traditionnelles, mais l’état d’esprit Canadien est diffĂ©rent. Et cela permet de rĂ©duire au minimum les risques de discrimination.

rediger-cv-canadien

La zone “contact” du CV canadien

Il convient donc d’inscrire en haut de page de votre CV vos diffĂ©rents moyens de vous contacter, c’est-Ă -dire votre tĂ©lĂ©phone et adresse courriel qui doit ĂȘtre professionnelle et sĂ©rieuse.

Quant Ă  votre tĂ©lĂ©phone, si c’est un numĂ©ro français, n’oubliez pas de l’inscrire sous format international. À savoir en ajoutant l’indicatif +33, et en supprimant le premier 0.

La liste de vos références

Contrairement Ă  la France oĂč cette pratique est peu utilisĂ©e, il est d’usage au Canada qu’avant l’embauche, l’employeur vĂ©rifie chacune des rĂ©fĂ©rences mentionnĂ©es. Cela permet de vĂ©rifier votre parcours, ainsi que vos compĂ©tences auprĂšs de vos anciens collĂšgues ou employeurs. Il est donc d’usage de prĂ©parer une liste comportant leurs noms, fonctions et coordonnĂ©es, que vous pourrez transmettre par la suite au recruteur. En effet, ces rĂ©fĂ©rences ne doivent pas figurer sur votre CV, mais ĂȘtre disponibles sur demande.

Vous pouvez donc indiquer en bas de votre CV une mention « RĂ©fĂ©rences sur demande » pour signaler au recruteur que si votre CV l’intĂ©resse, il peut vous contacter pour l’obtenir.

Attention, n’indiquez sur cette liste que des personnes qui peuvent parler de votre attitude et de vos compĂ©tences au travail.

Si vous venez juste de terminer vos études ou que votre expérience professionnelle est assez limitée, votre liste peut aussi comporter des noms de professeur qui parleront de vos qualités et de votre travail.

Les Ă©quivalences pour un CV canadien

Il convient sur votre CV d’utiliser les termes canadiens correspondants Ă  vos diplĂŽmes, certifications et postes. Les termes sont spĂ©cifiques Ă  chacun des pays.

Par exemple, le baccalaurĂ©at québécois correspond en France à la Licence et le baccalaurĂ©at français correspond dans la Belle Province au DEC pré-universitaire.

Vous pouvez Ă©galement obtenir une évaluation comparative de vos Ă©tudes effectuĂ©es Ă  l’extĂ©rieur du QuĂ©bec (facultatif).


equivalence-cv-canadien

ModÚle de CV canadien à télécharger

Pour vous aider et inspirer pour le fond, veuillez retrouver en tĂ©lĂ©chargement un modĂšle de CV canadien d’un dĂ©veloppeur.

Concernant la forme du CV faites à votre goût !

Cet article t’a plu ? N’hĂ©site pas Ă  le partager
sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux 👍

rediger-un-cv-canadien

D’autres articles pour toi 👇

Lettre de motivation au Canada : comment la faire ?

Lettre de motivation au Canada : comment la faire ?

Avoir envie d’écrire une lettre de motivation pour le Canada et se retrouver devant une page blanche. Ne serait-ce pas la pire des sensations ? Peut-ĂȘtre. Si c’est ton cas, ne panique pas ! On a dĂ©cidĂ© de mettre Ă  ta disposition un exemple de lettre de motivation pour...

S’expatrier au Canada avec des animaux

S’expatrier au Canada avec des animaux

S'expatrier au Canada avec ses animaux de compagnie ? Vous prĂ©voyez de voyager au Canada avec vos compagnons Ă  quatre pattes ? Voici toutes les exigences en matiĂšre d’immigration avec votre fidĂšle compagnon (chien ou chat).S'expatrier au Canada avec ses animaux de...

Développeur Full Stack : la fiche métier pour tout savoir !

Développeur Full Stack : la fiche métier pour tout savoir !

Développeur Full Stack : Qui est-il ? Quelles sont ses missions ? (Le masculin est utilisé afin d'alléger le texte. On parle de développeur dans l'article, mais les développeuses sont bien évidemment incluses) Ce développeur est le développeur polyvalent et complet...