The 7 Fun Facts about Canada you need to know

Have you done your homework on the cost of living or Montreal's neighbourhoods ? Now it's time for some fun facts about Canada. Without further ado, discover our 7 fun facts about Canada. But beware, even if you think you know everything about this fabulous country, we're sure you'll discover some new things!

Indeed, even if most of the fun facts are very well known, such as the fact that the Queen of England is the sovereign of Canada or that Canada is about 20 times bigger than France, we are going to focus today on some facts that are not well known to the general public, but that are just as fascinating.

We will show you, through 7 fun facts about Canada, that despite its relatively short existence, this country is full ofunusual stories.

1 - The name "Canada" comes from an Aboriginal word

The name "Canada" probably comes from the Huron-Iroquois word kanata, which means " village " or "settlement". In 1535, when two Aboriginal youths pointed out the way to kanata to the explorer Jacques Cartier, they were in fact referring to the village of Stadacona, the present-day site of Quebec City. For want of another name, Cartier named not only the village, but also the entire territory governed by its chief, Donnacona, " Canada.

Soon, explorers and fur traders ventured west and south, and the territory known as Canada grew. In the early eighteenthe century, the name referred to all the French lands that now make up the American mid-west and extend south to Louisiana.

The name Canada was first officially used in 1791, when the province of Quebec was divided into two colonies: Upper Canada and Lower Canada. In 1841, the two Canadas were united under the name of the Province of Canada.

In the same idea, the name "Quebec" comes from the Algonquin word "Kebec" which means "where the river narrows".

village-fun-facts-canada-1

2 - The Marvel character "Wolverine" is named after a very... special Canadian animal

Wolverine 's code name comes from the wolverine (wolverine a carnivorous mammal of the family mustelidae. The wolverine is a massive, stocky animal, no more than one metre long, with a dark brown, banded coat. It is very ferocious and does not hesitate to attack larger animals such as reindeer or elk.

Like the glutton, Wolverine is subject to uncontrollable rages that increase his already above-average agility and strength tenfold. He is very bold and takes on opponents whose powers often far exceed his own, such as Hulk.

His physical appearance also shows bestial characteristics, notably his canines pronounced canines.

But rest assured, it is very unlikely that you will come across one.

Admit it, this 7 fun facts about Canada is already starting to surprise you.

wolverine-7-fun-facts-canada-1

3 - One of the biggest heists of the Canadian century is maple syrup

No doubt this fun fact is a big cliché, but at least true.

Between August 2011 and July 2012, no less than 9,500 barrels (or 2,000 tonnes) of maple syrup were stolen ( worth $18.7 million).

The theft took place in the warehouse operation belonging to the FPAQ (Fédération des producteurs acéricoles du Québec) which alone represents 72% of world production and 90% of Canadian production.

To elaborate further, the criminals used trucks to transport the barrels to a remote sugar shack. From there, they would siphon off the maple syrup, fill the barrels with water, and send them back to the facility. As the operation grew, the maple syrup in the barrels was replaced by water, resulting in completely empty barrels.

In the fall of 2012, the FPAQ conducted an annual inventory of maple syrup barrels. The deception was discovered when an officer almost tripped while climbing on an empty barrel (which was supposed to weigh 600 pounds).

No less than 17 people have been charged in this case with prison sentences of up to 8 years.

If you want more information, the flight was featured in the documentary series Netflix Dirty Money in season 1, episode 5, "The Maple Syrup Heist".

When we said that this 7 fun facts about Canada would surprise you... it wasn't a joke.

erable-7-fun-facts-canada-1

4 - The best camembert in the world is from Quebec

Hard blow for French cheese! The best Camembert does not come from Normandy, but from Saint-Hubert in Quebec. 

In 2018, an international cheese competition was held called the "World Championship Cheese Contest" where more than 3,400 cheeses from 26 countries competed.

As far as Camembert is concerned, there were cheeses from New Zealand, Denmark and the USA, some of which made it to the podium. It is important to know that Camembert is an unprotected designation of origin.

The Quebec company Agropur won the prize for the best camembert in the world. 

Its name? L'Extra, which won against 17 other competing camemberts, including the highly reputed Isigny Sainte-Mère de Normandie, which had sent its best. It had already won the title in 2010.

But rest assured, it was a French cheese that won the competition for the best cheese in the world and it was Esquirrou (a cheese made from sheep's milk).

As much as we love Canada, this anecdote from this 7 fun facts about Canada broke our hearts.

cheese-7-fun-facts-canada-1

5 - Quebec almost became an independent and sovereign country

In 1995, the province of Quebec held a referendum on its independence and departure from Canada.

It took a few thousand votes to tip the balance one way or the other.

In summary, the Quebec independence movement has always existed, but with variations in intensity. The first important movement took place in 1837 with an armed conflict which resulted in a defeat for the Quebec patriots.

In 1967, René Lévesque (author of the book Option Québec) gave a second wind to the independence movement by winning more and more seats in the Quebec parliament.

Throughout the second half of the 21st century, the movement continued to grow, culminating in a referendum in 1995 on whether Quebec should be independent.

On 30 October 1995, the referendum was counted, resulting in a victory for the "no" side with only 50,000 votes (50.58 for the "no" side and 49.42 for the "yes" side).

6 - Hockey is not the only national sport in Canada

How? Why? How?

And yes, hockey is the national sport in winter, but in summer, it is Lacrosse. With its French-sounding name, one might think that the sport of lacrosse has crossed the pond from Europe to Canada.

In fact, lacrosse was first played by First Nations people in the 1600s. The sport was then adopted by Canada's English-speaking middle classes in the 19th century and was officially declared Canada's national sport by an act of Parliament in 1994. 

This sport is played with a stick (a stick with a net at the end). The aim is to catch, pass and carry a rubber ball in order to score goals for the opposing team. There are different types of sticks:

  • Men's field lacrosse: is played outdoors on grass and consists of 2 teams of 10 players. A game lasts 80 minutes divided into 20-minute quarters. It is a contact sport requiring special equipment and protection (similar to hockey or American football).
  • Women's field lacrosse: This is played outdoors on grass and involves two teams of 12 players. It is played without contact, so the equipment is lighter. Each game lasts 60 minutes (2 halves of 30 minutes).

The game is particularly dynamic and scores rise quickly as teams are required to shoot at the goal every 30 seconds

Lacrosse-7-fun-facts-canada-1

7 - The origins of poutine

If there's one thing we don't joke about in Quebec, it's the poutine.

And yes, this 7 fun facts about Canada could not end without mentioning the quintessential Quebecois dish.

But what is it? Poutine is a dish from the Quebecois cuisine in its classic form, consisting of three elements: French fries,cheese curds, and brown gravy..

Several places are vying for this unequalled merit... What is certain is that it was born in rural Quebec in the 1950s.

But the most common story is that it comes from a restaurant formerly called Le Lutin Qui Rit in Warwick, in the municipality of Arthbaska. In 1957, a customer named Eddy Lainesse asked the owner, Fernand Lachance, to mix the cheese case with fries.

So, don't fancy a nice hot poutine in the winter? That's not the only tip we have for you survive during this season. 

Putin-7-fun-facts-canada2-1

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

the-best-district-in-montreal-for-the-french-2-min

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

Vous vous êtes bien renseigné sur le coût de la vie ou bien les quartiers de Montréal ? Il est maintenant venu le moment de connaître quelques anecdotes croustillantes sur le Canada. Découvrez sans plus attendre nos 7 fun facts sur le Canada. Mais attention, même si vous pensez tout connaitre sur ce fabuleux pays, nous sommes persuadés que vous allez découvrir de nouvelles choses 👀

En effet, même si la plupart des fun facts sont très connus comme le fait que la reine d’Angleterre soit la souveraine du Canada ou encore que le Canada est environ 20 fois plus grand que la France nous allons nous attarder aujourd’hui a des faits assez méconnus du grand public, mais tout en étant aussi passionnants.

Nous allons donc vous démontrer, à travers 7 fun facts sur le Canada, que malgré une existence relativement courte, ce pays regorge d’histoires insolites.

1 – Le nom « Canada » vient d’un mot autochtone

Le nom « Canada » vient probablement du mot huron et iroquois kanata, qui signifie « village » ou « bourgade ». En 1535, quand deux jeunes autochtones indiquent à l’explorateur Jacques Cartier le chemin de kanata, ils font en fait allusion au village de Stadacona, emplacement actuel de la ville de Québec. Faute d’une autre appellation, Cartier baptise « Canada » non seulement le village, mais aussi tout le territoire gouverné par son chef, Donnacona.

Très bientôt, les explorateurs et les commerçants de fourrures s’aventurent à l’ouest et au sud, et le territoire connu sous le nom de Canada s’agrandit. Au début du XVIIIe siècle, ce nom désignait toutes les terres françaises qui constituent maintenant le Middle West américain et s’étendent, au sud, jusqu’à la Louisiane.

Le nom Canada est officiellement utilisé pour la première fois en 1791, lorsque la province de Québec est divisée en deux colonies : le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada. En 1841, les deux Canadas sont réunifiés sous le nom de province du Canada.

Dans la même idée, le nom “Québec” vient du mot algonquin “Kebec” qui signifie “où le fleuve rétréci”.

village-fun-facts-canada

2 – Le personnage Marvel « Wolverine » tire son nom d’un animal canadien très… spécial

Le nom de code de Wolverine lui vient du glouton (wolverine en anglais), un mammifère carnivore de la famille des mustélidés. Trapu et massif, le glouton ne mesure pas plus d’un mètre de long et il est doté d’un pelage marron foncé à bandes. Très féroce, il n’hésite pas à s’attaquer à des adversaires plus imposants que lui, tels que des rennes ou des élans.

Comme le glouton, Wolverine est sujet à des rages incontrôlables qui décuplent son agilité et sa force, déjà supérieures à la moyenne. Très hardi, il entreprend des combats contre des adversaires dont les pouvoirs surpassent souvent largement les siens, tels que Hulk.

Son apparence physique présente aussi des caractères de bestialité, notamment ses canines prononcées.

Mais rassurez-vous, il est très peu probable d’en croiser un.

Avouez que ce 7 fun facts sur le Canada commence déjà à vous surprendre.

carcajou-7-fun-facts-canada

3 – Un des plus gros casse du siècle canadien est celui de sirop d’érable

Sans doute que cette fun facts est un gros cliché, mais pour le moins véridique.

En effet, entre août 2011 et juillet 2012, ce n’est pas moins 9500 barils (ou 2000 tonnes) de sirops d’érables qui ont été dérobés (soit 18,7 millions de dollars).

Le vol a eu lieu dans l’exploitation d’entrepôts appartenant à la FPAQ (Fédération des producteurs acéricoles du Québec) qui représente à elle seule 72% de la production mondiale et 90% de la production canadienne.

Pour approfondir un peu plus le sujet, les malfaiteurs utilisaient des camions pour transporter les barils dans une cabane à sucre éloignée. De là, ils siphonnaient le sirop d’érable, remplissaient les barils avec de l’eau, puis les renvoyaient à l’installation. Plus l’opération prenait de l’ampleur, moins le sirop d’érable dans les barils était remplacé par de l’eau, ce qui eu pour conséquences de créer des barils complétement vides.

Durant l’automne 2012, la FPAQ a effectué un inventaire annuel de fûts de sirops d’érable. C’est lorsque qu’un agent failli trébucher en montant sur un baril, qui était vide, (alors qu’il devait peser 600 livres) que la supercherie fût découverte.

Pas moins de 17 personnes ont été inculpées pour cette affaire avec des peines d’emprisonnement pouvant aller jusqu’à 8 ans.

Si vous souhaitez plus d’informations, le vol figurait dans la série de documentaires Netflix Dirty Money dans la saison 1, épisode 5, « The Maple Syrup Heist ».

Quand on vous dit que ce 7 fun facts sur le Canada allait vous surprendre… ce n’était pas une blague.

erable-7-fun-facts-canada

4 – Le meilleur camembert du monde est québécois

Coup dur pour le fromage français ! Le meilleur camembert ne provient pas de Normandie, mais de Saint-Hubert au Québec. 

En 2018 s’est tenu un concours international de fromage nommé “World Championship Cheese Contest” ou plus de 3.400 fromages venant de 26 pays étaient en lice.

Concernant le camembert, on pouvait noter la présence de fromages venant de Nouvelle-Zélande, du Danemark ou encore des USA dont certains ont foulé les marches du podium. Chose importante à savoir, le camembert est une appellation d’origine non-protégée.

C’est donc l’entreprise québécoise Agropur qui remporta le prix du meilleur camembert du monde

Son nom ? L’Extra, qui s’est imposé face à 17 autres camemberts concurrents, dont le très réputé Isigny Sainte-Mère de Normandie, qui avait envoyé ses meilleurs. Il avait déjà remporté le titre en 2010.

Mais rassurez-vous, c’est bien un fromage français qui a remporté le concourt du meilleur fromage du monde et ils ‘agit de l’Esquirrou (fromage au lait de brebis).

Bien que nous aimions le Canada, cette anecdote de ce 7 fun facts sur le Canada nous a brisé le cœur.

fromage-7-fun-facts-canada

5 – Le Québec a failli être un pays indépendant et souverain

En 1995, la province du Québec tenait un référendum sur son indépendance et son départ du Canada.

Il a fallu en effet quelques milliers de voix pour faire basculer la balance d’un côté ou de l’autre.

Pour résumé, le mouvement indépendantiste du Québec a toujours existé, mais avec des variantes d’intensité. Le premier mouvement important eu lieu en 1837 avec un conflit armé qui se solda par une défaite des patriotes québécois.

En 1967, René Lévesque (auteur du livre Option Québec) donne un second souffle au mouvement indépendantistes en gagnant toujours plus de sièges au parlement québécois.

Tout au long de cette seconde moitié du 21e siècle, le mouvement continue de prendre de l’importance pour arriver à son paroxysme en 1995 où un référendum, pour savoir si le Québec devait être indépendant, eu lieu.

Le 30 octobre 1995 eu lieu le dépouillement du référendum, donnant la victoire pour le “non” avec seulement 50.000 voix d’écarts (50,58 en faveur du non pour 49,42 pour le oui).

québec-7-fun-facts-canada

6 – Le hockey n’est pas le seul sport national au Canada

Comment ? Quoi ? Comment ?

Et oui, le hockey est bien le sport national en hiver, mais en été, il s’agit de La Crosse. Avec son nom à consonance française, on pourrait croire que ce sport de crosse a traversé l’étang pour venir d’Europe au Canada. 

En réalité, la crosse a été pratiquée pour la première fois par les peuples des Premières Nations dans les années 1600. Ce sport a ensuite été adoptée par les classes moyennes anglophones du Canada au XIXe siècle et a été officiellement déclarée sport national du Canada par une loi du Parlement en 1994. 

Ce sport se joue avec une crosse (un bâton au bout duquel se trouve un filet). Le but est d’attraper, de passer et de transporter une balle en caoutchouc, afin de marquer des buts dans l’équipe adverse. Il existe différents types de crosses :

  • La crosse au champ masculine : elle se pratique en extérieur, sur gazon et comprend 2 équipes de 10 joueurs. Un match dure 80 minutes divisées en quart-temps de 20 minutes. C’est un sport de contact nécessitant un équipement spécial et des protections (un peu comme pour le hockey ou encore le football américain).
  • La crosse au champ féminine : elle se pratique en extérieur, sur gazon et comprend 2 équipes de 12 joueurs. Elle se joue sans contact, l’équipement est donc plus léger. Chaque match dure 60 minutes (2 mi-temps de 30 minutes).

Le jeu est particulièrement dynamique et les scores grimpent rapidement puisque les équipes sont dans l’obligation de tirer au but toutes les 30 secondes

Lacrosse-7-fun-facts-canada

7 – Les origines de la poutine

Si on ne rigole pas avec une chose au Québec, c’est bien la poutine.

Et oui ce 7 fun facts sur le Canada ne pouvait pas se terminer sans parler du plat québécois par excellence.

Mais qu’est-ce ? La poutine est un plat de la cuisine québécoise composé, dans sa forme classique, de trois éléments : des frites, du fromage en grains et de la sauce brune.

Plusieurs endroits se disputent ce mérite inégalé… Ce qui est sûr, c’est qu’elle est née dans le Québec rural des années 1950.

Mais l’histoire la plus répandue est qu’elle proviendrait d’un restaurant autrefois appelé Le Lutin Qui Rit à Warwick, dans la municipalité d’Arthbaska. En 1957, un client nommé Eddy Lainesse aurait demandé au propriétaire Fernand Lachance, de mélanger le casseau de fromage avec celui des frites.

Alors? Une bonne poutine chaude pendant l’hiver ne vous tente pas ? Ce n’est pas le seul tips que l’on vous donne pour survivre pendant cette saison. 

 

Poutine-7-fun-facts-canada2

Envie de tenter l’aventure au Canada ?

Envie de tester ce fameux camembert québécois ? Chez Maplr, nous t’accompagnons gratuitement pour trouver ton emploi en TI à Montréal et sur toutes les phases de ta relocalisation. Notre équipe franco-canadienne est là pour te guider et te donner toutes les informations nécessaires pour démarrer sereinement ta nouvelle vie à Montréal (et pas nécessairement que les bons plans fromage) !

Rejoins sans attendre notre communauté.

Développeur-expatré-à-Montréal