Why do so many developers move to Canada?

Canada has become the destination of choice for developers from around the world. In addition to the goodwill that Canadians enjoy, the country has an incomparable quality of life that makes it attractive across the Atlantic. 

You probably know a colleague or even a family member who has decided to leave everything behind to live in Canada and start a new chapter in their life and career. Here are a few reasons why Canada is so attractive.

developer-a-montreal

Living in Canada: A life experience

In France in 2019, 76% of digital employees want to move abroad, according to a study by BCG and Cadremploi. Although French universities are ranked among the best in the world, the country is struggling to retain its students once they graduate. Digital experts tend to go to the United States, Germany and Canada, the top three countries ahead of Australia and the United Kingdom. France only comes 7th in the ranking of the most attractive destinations. 

For digital professionals, immersion in a new culture is a real springboard in their professional and personal lives.

developer-quebec-kayak

Living in Canada: An incomparable quality of life

Each year, U.S. News and World Report's Best Countries Report The report ranks countries in a number of categories, and quality of life plays a major role, as it is one of the main motivating factors for future expatriates. This is also Canada's great strength, as the country ranks number 1 in quality of life in the world.

This can be explained by a rich and accessible natural environment, several choice cities where life is good(Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal...), strong and human values (individual freedoms are very important in Canada, volunteering, mutual aid, warm attitude are very widespread values). Inclusiveness is also one of Canada's strong points; here, laws and society condemn any form of discrimination based on gender, race, religion, appearance, etc. 

Health care is also an important aspect of quality of life: in Canada, 13 provincial and territorial health insurance plans ensure that Canadian residents have satisfactory access to medical and hospital services without having to pay for them. 

Finally, according to the OECD's Live Well Index, Canada scores 9.1 out of 10 on safety and 81% of Canadians say they feel safe walking alone at night - compared to 69% on average. The homicide rate is as low as 1.4% per 100,000 population - compared to 3.6% in OECD countries.

developer-quebec-summer-indian

For some time now, Canada has been experiencing a shortage of Information Technology (IT) workers; Maplr had made this a full article early 2019:

"The problem is that the Canadian school system is not producing enough qualified students to fill the gap. Between 2004 and 2019, it is estimated that the number of future computer scientists in Canadian schools has not changed. In Quebec, for example, 3,000 new computer scientists graduate each year... While in the same period of time, more than 10,000 jobs are created. It is therefore important to encourage Canadians to go into this field; however, even with the most optimistic forecasts, this will not be enough."

As a result, Canadian IT companies are now turning to international recruitment in order to operate - 88% of tech companies consider hiring through immigration as a solution to current recruitment challenges. For the French and other Francophones, the advantage is there, since by 2021, Quebec alone will need 45,000 additional workers in the IT field. In Ontario, there is talk of 88,000 jobs being created by the same year.

Attractive salary conditions

Lalary, salary conditions are also very attractive for foreign workers: more than 50% of Canadian employers consider that a competitive salary is the key to attracting and retaining talent in the IT and computer sector. On average, for the same position, salaries are 30% higher in Canada than in France: junior profiles earn a minimum of CAD$60,000 per year, intermediate profiles CAD$75,000 per year and senior profiles CAD$90,000 per year.

In 2019, Hays led survey on what Canadian IT employers will do to retain their employees: the ability to work from home (56%), expanded health benefits (54%), flexible work hours (49%), more than 10 days holiday for new hires (45%), RRSP contributions (39%), individual performance bonuses (32%)...

The IT job market in Canada is both active and attractive: the unemployment rate is very low and there are many vacancies on a continuous basis. 

emploi-ti-canada

A working environment focused on the well-being of employees

In Canada, many companies offer telecommuting and flexible working arrangements for their employees. It is also customary to finish at 5pm on average, as the country greatly favours work-life balance, leaving people more time to enjoy their family, do activities, see friends... 

Internal communication is built in the opposite way to what we know in France: in Canada, management is horizontal, exchanges take place more quickly between employees and management andthere are real opportunities fordevelopment. 

The work environment is very low-stress and employees' personal motivation, involvement and commitment to their company are valued as much or more than their performance. There is no culture of presenteeism and trust is built naturally. 

In France, as in the UK and Russia, only 22% of developers say they are "very happy", while in Canada the satisfaction rate is around 33% .

happiness-developer-canada

French IT talent has a good reputation

Graduates of French schools and universities are highly valued in Canada: this is due to the good reputation of French studies, good qualifications, advanced technical knowledge and a generally exemplary academic record. 

In Canada, we are not interested in a school label: each person is considered for what he or she is worth in terms of involvement in projects and teams and through their "soft skills", the competencies that make each of us more competitive and unique in the eyes of employers.

Immigration facilities for living in Canada

Today, it is easy to immigrate to Canada, there are many choices available to those wishing to settle there to work and the simplicity of the procedures reassures even the most reluctant to deal with the administration: Working Holiday Permit (allowing you to work in any field and valid for up to two years), Young Professionals Permit for those under 35 years old (permit attached to the company that sponsors you)...

Computer designers and developers are among the most sought-after skilled workers in Canada, particularly through priority immigration programs and work permits.

route-developer-canada

A booming tech ecosystem

Montreal, Quebec's largest city, is not only the world leader in artificial intelligence and video games, but also the IT capital of Canada. According to a recent report, Machine Learning is by far the skill that developers plan to acquire the most in 2019, followed closely by video game development.

In the process of becoming the "silicon valley" of Canada, the city enjoys numerous tech events, meetups and conferences. A rich and lively ecosystem that motivates French developers to start a new life across the Atlantic.

competences-developper-canada

Living in Canada: Conclusion

Attractive, inclusive and in constant need of new talent, Canada is a destination of choice for French developers. In addition to offering a motivating professional environment, the quality of life in the country is a real added value that encourages workers to settle there.

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

why-developers-partner-live-in-canada-min

More articles for you 👇

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

Pourquoi autant de développeurs/euses partent vivre au Canada ?

Le Canada est devenu une destination de choix pour les dĂ©veloppeurs.euses du monde entier. Outre le capital sympathie dont bĂ©nĂ©ficient les Canadiens, le pays jouit d’une qualitĂ© de vie incomparable faisant rayonner son attractivitĂ© outre-Atlantique. 

Vous connaissez sĂ»rement un.e collĂšgue ou mĂȘme une personne de votre famille qui a dĂ©cidĂ© de tout quitter pour vivre au Canada et dĂ©marrer un nouveau chapitre de sa vie et carriĂšre. Voici quelques raisons mettant en lumiĂšre les attraits du Canada.

developpeur-a-montreal

Vivre au Canada : Une expérience de vie

En France en 2019, 76% des salariĂ©.e.s du numĂ©rique dĂ©sirent s’expatrier, selon une Ă©tude de BCG et Cadremploi. Si les universitĂ©s françaises sont classĂ©es parmi les meilleures au Monde, l’Hexagone peine Ă  conserver ses Ă©tudiants une fois diplĂŽmĂ©s. Les expert.e.s du numĂ©rique s’orientent davantage vers les États-Unis, l’Allemagne et le Canada, trio de tĂȘte devant l’Australie et le Royaume-Uni. La France, elle, n’arrive que 7e dans le classement des destinations les plus attractives. 

Pour les professionnel.le.s du numĂ©rique, l’immersion dans une nouvelle culture est un vĂ©ritable tremplin dans la vie professionnelle et personnelle.

developpeur-quebec-kayak

Vivre au Canada : Une qualité de vie incomparable

Chaque annĂ©e, le U.S. News and World Report’s Best Countries Report Ă©tablit un classement des pays selon un grand nombre de catĂ©gories ; la qualitĂ© de vie y joue un rĂŽle majeur, puisqu’elle est l’un des facteurs principaux de motivation des futurs expatriĂ©.e.s. C’est aussi la grande force du Canada puisque le pays arrive numĂ©ro 1 en qualitĂ© de vie dans le monde entier.  

Cela s’explique par un environnement naturel riche et accessible, plusieurs villes de choix oĂč il fait bon vivre (Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa, MontrĂ©al
), des valeurs fortes et humaines (les libertĂ©s individuelles sont trĂšs importantes au Canada, le bĂ©nĂ©volat, l’entraide, l’attitude chaleureuse sont des valeurs trĂšs rĂ©pandues). L’inclusivitĂ© est, par ailleurs, l’un des points forts du Canada ; ici, les lois comme la sociĂ©tĂ© condamnent toute forme de discrimination basĂ©e sur le genre, la race, la religion, l’apparence, etc. 

La santĂ© est Ă©galement un point non nĂ©gligeable de la qualitĂ© de vie : au Canada, 13 rĂ©gimes d’assurance-maladie provinciaux et territoriaux assurent aux rĂ©sidents canadiens un accĂšs satisfaisant aux services mĂ©dicaux et hospitaliers sans avoir Ă  dĂ©bourser d’argent. 

Enfin, selon l’Indicateur du vivre mieux de l’OCDE, le Canada obtient une note de 9.1 sur 10 quant Ă  la sĂ©curitĂ© et 81% des Canadien.ne.s affirment se sentir en sĂ©curitĂ© lorsqu’ils.elles marchent seul.e.s la nuit – contre 69% en moyenne. Le taux d’homicide est aussi bas que 1,4% pour 100 000 habitants – contre 3,6% dans les pays de l’OCDE.

developpeur-quebec-ete-indien

Depuis quelque temps, le Canada connaĂźt une pĂ©nurie de main d’Ɠuvre en Technologies de l’Information (TI) ; Maplr en avait d’ailleurs fait un article complet  au dĂ©but de l’annĂ©e 2019 : 

“le problĂšme est que le systĂšme scolaire canadien ne permet pas de former suffisamment d’étudiants qualifiĂ©s pour combler ce manque. Entre 2004 et 2019, on estime ainsi que le nombre de futurs informaticiens dans des Ă©coles canadiennes n’a pas bougĂ©. Au QuĂ©bec par exemple, 3000 nouveaux informaticiens sont diplĂŽmĂ©s chaque annĂ©e
 Tandis que dans le mĂȘme laps de temps, plus de 10000 postes sont crĂ©Ă©s. Il est donc important d’encourager les Canadiens Ă  se diriger vers cette filiĂšre ; cependant, mĂȘme en se fiant aux prĂ©visions les plus optimistes, cela ne suffira pas.”

 Les entreprises canadiennes en TI s’orientent donc aujourd’hui vers le recrutement international pour pouvoir fonctionner – 88 % des entreprises tech quĂ©bĂ©coises envisagent l’embauche via l’immigration comme une solution aux enjeux de recrutement actuels. Pour les Français et autres francophones, l’avantage est bel et bien lĂ , puisque d’ici 2021, le QuĂ©bec Ă  lui seul aura besoin de 45000 travailleurs supplĂ©mentaires dans le domaine de l’informatique. En Ontario, on parle de 88000 crĂ©ations de postes d’ici la mĂȘme annĂ©e. 

Des conditions salariales attractives

Les conditions salariales sont elles aussi trĂšs attractives pour les travailleurs Ă©trangers : ce sont plus de 50 % des employeurs canadiens qui considĂšrent qu’un salaire compĂ©titif est la clef pour attirer et garder les talents dans le secteur des TI et de l’informatique. C’est ainsi qu’en moyenne, Ă  fonction Ă©gale, la rĂ©munĂ©ration est 30 % plus importante au Canada qu’en France : les profils juniors gagnent au minimum 60,000 CAD$ par an, les profils intermĂ©diaires 75,000 CAD$ par an et les profils sĂ©niors 90,000 CAD$ au minimum par an. 

En 2019, Hays a mené une étude quant aux mesures que les employeurs canadiens en TI vont prendre pour conserver leurs salarié.e.s : possibilité de travailler de la maison (56 %), élargissement des prestations de santé (54 %), flexibilité des horaires de travail (49 %), plus de 10 jours de vacances pour les nouvelles embauches (45 %), cotisations à des REER (39 %), bonus liés à la performance individuelle (32 %)


Dans le domaine des TI, le marchĂ© de l’emploi est Ă  la fois actif et attractif au Canada : le taux de chĂŽmage est trĂšs bas et de nombreux postes sont Ă  pourvoir continuellement. 

emploi-ti-canada

Un environnement de travail axĂ© sur le bien-ĂȘtre des employĂ©.e.s

Au Canada, nombreuses sont les entreprises proposant le tĂ©lĂ©travail et la gestion flexible de l’emploi du temps pour leurs employĂ©.e.s. Il est Ă©galement coutume de terminer Ă  17 h en moyenne, le pays favorisant grandement l’équilibre entre travail et vie personnelle, laissant alors aux personnes davantage de temps pour profiter de leur famille, de faire des activitĂ©s, de voir leurs amis
 

La communication interne se construit Ă  l’inverse de ce que nous pouvons connaĂźtre en France : au Canada, le management se veut horizontal, les Ă©changes se font plus rapidement entre employĂ©s et direction et les possibilitĂ©s d’évolution sont rĂ©elles. 

L’environnement professionnel est trĂšs peu stressant et la motivation personnelle, l’implication et l’engouement des employĂ©.e.s envers leur entreprise sont aussi valorisĂ©s, voire davantage que leur performance. La culture du prĂ©sentĂ©isme n’existe pas et la confiance se tisse naturellement. 

En France, tout comme au Royaume-Uni ou en Russie, seulement 22 % des dĂ©veloppeurs/euses affirment ĂȘtre “trĂšs heureux.se“, alors que ce taux de satisfaction avoisine les 33 % au Canada.

bonheur-developpeur-canada

Les talents en TI français ont bonne réputation

Les diplĂŽmĂ©.e.s d’écoles et universitĂ©s françaises sont fortement valorisĂ©.e.s au Canada : cela s’explique par la bonne rĂ©putation des Ă©tudes dans l’Hexagone, de bonnes qualifications, des connaissances techniques pointues et un parcours acadĂ©mique en gĂ©nĂ©ral exemplaire. 

Au Canada, on ne s’intĂ©resse pas Ă  l’étiquette d’une Ă©cole : chaque personne est considĂ©rĂ©e pour ce qu’elle vaut en termes d’implication dans les projets et au sein des Ă©quipes et Ă  travers ses “soft skills”, ses compĂ©tences qui rendent chacun de nous plus compĂ©titif.ve et unique aux yeux des employeurs.

Des facilitĂ©s d’immigration pour vivre au Canada

Il est aujourd’hui facile d’immigrer au Canada, de nombreux choix s’offrent Ă  celles et ceux souhaitant s’y installer pour travailler et la simplicitĂ© des dĂ©marches rassure mĂȘme les plus frileux.ses Ă  l’administration : Permis Vacances Travail (permettant de travailler dans n’importe quel domaine et valide jusqu’à deux ans), permis Jeune Professionnel pour les moins de 35 ans (permis rattachĂ© Ă  l’entreprise qui vous sponsorise)


Les concepteurs.trices et dĂ©veloppeurs.euses informatiques font partie des travailleurs.euses qualifiĂ©.e.s les plus recherchĂ©.e.s au Canada, notamment Ă  travers les programmes d’immigration prioritaires et les permis de travail.

route-developpeur-canada

Un Ă©cosystĂšme tech en plein essor

MontrĂ©al, plus grande ville du QuĂ©bec s’offre, en plus de la place de leader mondial en intelligence artificielle et jeux vidĂ©o, celle de capitale des technologies de l’information du Canada. Selon un rĂ©cent rapport, le Machine Learning est de loin la compĂ©tence que les dĂ©veloppeurs.euses planifient le plus d’acquĂ©rir en 2019 suivi de prĂšs par le dĂ©veloppement de jeux vidĂ©os. 

En phase de devenir “la silicon valley” du Canada, la ville jouit de nombreux Ă©vĂ©nements techs, meetup et confĂ©rences. Un Ă©cosystĂšme riche et animĂ© qui motive d’autant plus les dĂ©veloppeurs.euses français.es Ă  dĂ©marrer une nouvelle vie outre-atlantique.

competences-developpeur-canada

Vivre au Canada : Conclusion

Attractif, inclusif et en besoin constant de nouveaux talents, le Canada s’impose comme une destination de choix pour les dĂ©veloppeurs.euses français.es. En plus de proposer un cadre professionnel motivant, la qualitĂ© de vie qui rĂšgne dans le pays est une vĂ©ritable valeur ajoutĂ©e incitant les travailleurs.euses Ă  s’y installer.

Cet article t’a plu ? N’hĂ©site pas Ă  le partager
sur les rĂ©seaux sociaux 👍

pourquoi-les-developpeurs-partent-vivre-au-canada-min

Tu travailles dans la tech ?
Viens vivre ton aventure au Canada 🇹🇩

Inscris-toi Ă  notre programme d’accompagnement et nous pourrons voir s’il nous est possible de t’accompagner, gratuitement !

D’autres articles pour toi 👇

Suis nos aventures sur Instagram 👇