The WHV in Canada, everything you need to know

Article Update Date: December 12, 2022

Do you want to travel to Canada but are not aware of the work permits available? Do you know that there are international agreements that allow you to travel and/or work in a foreign country for a certain period of time?

In this article, we will introduce you to the WHV in Canada and everything you need to know about this famous work permit.

What is the WHV in Canada (Working Holiday Permit)?

The Working Holiday Permit (WH P) is a work permit accessible through the EIC programme (International Experience Canada). This program aims to offer young people (18-35 years) the opportunity to travel and/or work in Canada. The PVT is for a period of 2 years for the French and 1 year for Belgians.

This isan "open"work permit: it allows you to work and travel throughout Canada and is not tied to an employer .It is therefore very flexible and you can work in almost any field of activity. Note that in some sectors, such as education and health, you need to pass a medical examination.

One of the advantages of a WHV is that there is no obligation to work for a certain amount of time, it is up to you how you want to use it. As long as you stay within the period of time stated on your work permit, you can work for as long as you want. For example: you can work for 12 months and travel for 12 months, only travel or only work for the whole duration of your WHV.

The WHP seems like the ideal work permit, but there are a few important things you should know before embarking on the Canada WHP adventure :

  • The WHV is not renewable*.The only exception for France concerns people who obtained a WHV before 2015 and who have only benefited once from the EIC programme.
  • It is obtained by drawing lots, to avoid discrimination against participants. You get your chance almost every week when the random invitation rounds are scheduled.
  • It is difficult to access! Indeed, there are more and more applications and the quotas per year do not necessarily correspond to the number of applicants.
  • You cannot combine a WHV with a Young Professionals (YP) permit*. Although they are part of the same programme, it is not possible to combine these two work permits.
  • You will not have access to the health insurance plan of the province in which you are located. The WHV is the only work permit in the IEC program that does not allow you to be attached to the local health insurance plan (in Quebec this is the RAMQ).

More articles for you 👇

*There are exceptions depending on the agreements with the countries. It is possible to renew your WHV or to combine the WHV and the JP for the following countries: Spain, Greece, Estonia, Costa Rica, Germany, Chile, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico (agreements suspended), Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Czech Republic, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine (agreements suspended).

Passport-PVT-Expatriation-Canada

Who can apply for a WHP for Canada in 2023?

All people who are part of the 33 countries that have an agreement with Canada's IEC programme are eligible for a WHP. You can check here if your country has an agreement with the IEC programme.

For example, France and Belgium are among the partner countries of the EIC programme and each has an agreement with well-defined admission criteria.

Here are the selection criteria for the French?

In order to register in the WHV pool, and have the chance to be drawn, you must :

  • Being a French citizen. If you live in France, but are not a French citizen, you are not eligible for a WHP under the France-Canada agreement. If your country of nationality has an agreement with the EIC Canada programme you may be eligible through your country's agreement.
  • Have a French passport that is valid for the duration of your stay in Canada (at least 2 years). If your passport expires before the two years, remember to renew it before starting the WHV application procedure. Otherwise, the work permit you will be provided with will be for the duration of your passport. If you apply for a passport renewal during your WHP application, remember to notify immigration of this change via your IRCC account.
  • Be between 18 and 35 years old (inclusive). You have until the day before your 36th birthday to be eligible for the draw.
  • Have at least $2,500 CDN to cover your expenses in Canada. This is a proof of funds that will be requested when you arrive in Canada. This can be an official letter from your bank or a bank statement dated within 3 days of your departure.
  • Take out health insurance for the duration of your stay. You will be asked for proof of insurance when you arrive in Canada. If your insurance is less than 2 years old, then the duration of your WHV may be equivalent to the duration of your insurance.
  • Not being inadmissible to Canada.
  • Have a return ticket before you leave OR show that you will have enough money to buy a return ticket at the end of your stay in Canada. If you do not have a return ticket, include an additional sum of money on your proof of funds to prove that you are able to pay for a return ticket.
  • Not be accompanied by dependants. It is still possible to bring your de facto spouse under certain conditions (see below).
  • Pay the applicable feeswhich is $346 (in total). This fee is due only after the draw and if you wish to submit your application. If your application is rejected, you will be eligible for a refund.

In addition, the EIC agreement with France also includes the YoungProfessionals(JP) work permit. This has different eligibility criteria to the WHV.

pvt-canada-expatriation

WHP Canada: conditions for Belgians?

  • Be a Belgian citizen. If you live in Belgium, but are not a Belgian citizen, you are not eligible for a WHV under the Belgium-Canada agreement.
  • The age age limit is 30 years (inclusive).
  • Since the Belgian PVT is for one year, thehe duration of your passport must be at least 1 year.

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Do I have any chance of being selected for the WHV Canada?

Each year, Canada's immigration authorities announce quotas for the coming year's draws. These quotas are subject to change in the course of the year according to the needs recommended by immigration.

Usually, the WHV registration pools open between late October and early December and close at the same time the following year.

➡️ For the 2023 season, the session began on January 9, 2023.

Please note: it is important to find out the opening and closing dates of the sessions!Indeed, it is possible that atthe end of the session, the registration pools are empty. In this case, your application will be automatically withdrawn. You will then have to re-register for the next session if you wish to be drawn.

The draws are random and usually weekly.

I am selected for the WHV and my partner is not, what can I do?

You were lucky enough to be drawn, but your other half wasn't so lucky?

Firstly, it is important to understand that the WHV is for one person only.The Young Professional Permit (YPP) is more suited to people who want to go abroad as a couple or as a family . If your choice is exclusively for WHP, there are several options available to you.

The first is towait for your partner to be drawn in turn. You have up to 12 months to validate your WHP and arrive in Canada, your spouse may have a chance to be drawn during this period. This decision is possible, but risky, because as you know, draws are very risky.

The second solution is reserved for for people who do not intend to work in Canada. Your spouse may consider accompanying you on a tourist visa to Canada (note that this is not currently possible during the pandemic). In this case, he/she will have to justify that he/she has the financial means to stay in Canada for the duration of his/her visa without employment. The tourist visa can be issued for a period of 6 months maximum.

If your partner does not need to work, she may also consider doing a study permit for the duration of your WHV.

The third option, certainly the one that will suit many of you, your spouse has the possibility to obtain an open work permit, under certain conditions.

When you cross the border, the government has no guarantee that you will work or that your job will be skilled. If you manage to find a job quickly and you meet the following conditions, your partner can apply for an open permit:

  • The job you have in Canada is a skilled jobthat is, a job in category 0, 1, 2 or 3 according to the Canadian National Occupational Classification.
  • NOC FEER 4 employment may be accepted if the individual can submit a post-secondary certificate, degree or diploma with their work permit application.
  • You are married or in a common-law relationship and you can prove this status (marriage certificate, invoices, certificates...).
  • You have proof of this employment (employment contract, letter of employment).
  • Your job has already started and you can proveat least 3 payslips.

If you meet these conditions, your spouse can quickly apply for an open work permit. In Canada, pay is generally paid every two weeks, so a month and a half after your WHP begins, his or her application can be launched.

If you are convinced by the PVT and you want to register in the pool, here is the procedure to follow.

More articles for you 👇

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

The sun is back, the birds are singing and the parks are filling up. The last straight line before summer in Montreal and all its festivals known around the world. Whether it's for a fireworks festival, a comedy festival or an art festival, Montreal has a lot to offer.

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Are you coming to Montreal soon for vacation or for your expatriation? Did you know that field hockey is the national sport in Canada in winter? More than a sport, field hockey brings together thousands of fans and has quickly become the most popular sport in Canada...

Landscape-PVT-Expatriation-Canada-Couple

WHP Canada: how to find a job in Canada from France

A job offer for the TECH professions (Developers, DevOps, Scrum...)

Are you in Tech and IT? Are you a developer, Scrum Master or Devops? Are you looking for a job in Canada? 

Maplr will certainly be able to help you and propose a job offer while accompanying you to obtain your WHP for Canada. Register for free at our support program to learn more or apply directly to our offers.

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

le-pvt-canada

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

fbpx

Vous voulez voyager au Canada mais vous ne connaissez pas les permis de travail disponibles ? Savez-vous qu’il existe des accords internationaux qui vous permettent de voyager et/ou travailler dans un pays étranger pour une certaine durée ?

Dans cet article, nous allons vous présenter le PVT au Canada et tout ce que vous devez savoir sur ce célébre permis de travail.

Qu’est-ce que le PVT au Canada (Permis Vacances Travail) ?

Le Permis Vacances Travail (PVT) est un permis de travail accessible grâce au programme EIC (Expérience International Canada). Ce programme a pour but d’offrir aux jeunes (18-35 ans) l’occasion de voyager et/ou de travailler au Canada. Le PVT est d’une durée de 2 ans pour les Français et 1 an pour les Belges.

C’est un permis de travail dit “ouvert” :  il vous permet de travailler et de voyager à travers tout le Canada et il n’est pas rattaché à un employeur. Il est donc très souple et vous avez la possibilité de travailler dans presque tous les domaines d’activités. À noter que dans certains secteurs, notamment l’éducation et la santé, il est nécessaire de passer un examen médical.

Un des avantages du PVT est qu’il n’y a pas d’obligation de temps de travail, c’est à vous de choisir la façon dont vous souhaitez en profiter. Tant que vous respectez la période inscrite sur votre permis de travail, vous pouvez travailler autant de temps que vous le voulez. Par exemple : vous pouvez travailler 12 mois et voyager 12 mois, uniquement voyager ou uniquement travailler pour toute la durée de votre PVT.

Hors pandémie, vous n’aviez pas besoin d’avoir un employeur qui vous attend au Canada pour prétendre au PVT. En raison de la pandémie, et depuis le 1er mars 2021, seules les personnes qui ont une offre d’emploi valide pour le Canada auront la chance d’être tirées au sort. Pour en savoir plus, lisez notre article complet à ce propos : PVT Canada 2021 : Offre d’emploi nécessaire.

Le PVT semble être le permis de travail idéal, mais il y a quelques informations importantes à savoir avant de se lancer dans l’aventure PVT Canada 🇨🇦 :

  • Le PVT n’est pas renouvelable*. La seule exception pour la France concerne les personnes qui ont obtenu un PVT avant 2015 et qui n’ont bénéficié qu’une seule fois du programme EIC.
  • Il est obtenu par tirage au sort, pour éviter toute discrimination envers les participants. Vous avez vos chances presque chaque semaine lorsque les rondes d’invitations aléatoires sont programmées.
  • Il est difficile d’accès ! En effet, il y a de plus en plus de demandes et les quotas par an ne répondent pas nécessairement au nombre d’inscrits.
  • Vous ne pouvez pas cumuler un PVT et un permis Jeune Professionnel (JP)*. Bien qu’ils fassent partie du même programme, il n’est pas possible de cumuler ces deux permis de travail.
  • Vous n’aurez pas accès au régime d’assurance maladie de la province où vous vous situez. Le PVT est le seul permis de travail du programme EIC qui ne vous permet pas d’être rattaché au régime d’assurance maladie locale (au Québec il s’agit de la RAMQ).

    *Il existe des exceptions en fonction des accords avec les pays. Il est possible de renouveler son PVT ou bien de Cumuler le PVT et le JP pour les pays suivants : Espagne, Grèce, Estonie, Costa Rica, Allemagne, Chili, Croatie, Lettonie, Lituanie, Mexique (accords suspendus), Norvège, Pays-Bas, Pologne, République tchèque, Saint-Marin, Slovaquie, Slovénie, Suède, Suisse, Ukraine (accords suspendus).

    Passeport-PVT-Expatriation-Canada

    Qui peut s’inscrire au PVT pour le Canada ?

    Toutes les personnes qui font partie des 33 pays qui ont un accord avec le programme EIC du Canada peuvent prétendre au PVT. Vous pouvez vérifier ici si votre pays a des accords avec le programme EIC.

    Par exemple, la France et la Belgique font partie des pays partenaires du programme EIC et ont chacune un accord avec des critères d’admission bien définis.

    Voici les critères de sélection pour les Français 🇫🇷

    Pour pouvoir vous inscrire dans le bassin des PVT, et avoir la chance d’être tiré au sort, vous devez :

    • Être citoyen français. Si vous vivez en France mais que vous n’avez pas la nationalité française, vous ne pouvez pas prétendre au PVT dans le cadre de l’accord France-Canada. Si votre pays de nationalité a un accord avec le programme EIC Canada vous pourrez y être éligible via l’accord de votre pays.
    • Posséder un passeport français valide pendant toute la durée prévue de votre séjour au Canada (au moins 2 ans). Si votre passeport expire avant les deux ans, pensez à le renouveler avant d’entamer la procédure d’inscription au PVT. Dans le cas contraire, le permis de travail qui vous sera fourni sera de la durée de votre passeport. Si vous demandez un renouvellement de passeport pendant votre inscription au PVT, pensez à notifier, l’immigration de ce changement via votre compte IRCC.
    • Avoir entre 18 et 35 ans (inclus). Vous avez jusqu’à la veille de vos 36 ans pour pouvoir être tiré au sort.
    • Disposer d’au moins 2 500 $ CAN pour couvrir vos dépenses au Canada. Il s’agit d’une preuve de fond qui vous sera demandée à votre arrivée au Canada. Cela peut être une lettre officielle de votre banque ou un relevé bancaire datant de moins de 3 jours avant votre départ.
    • Souscrire une assurance maladie pour la durée de votre séjour. La preuve de souscription vous sera demandée à votre arrivée au Canada. Si votre souscription est de moins de 2 ans, alors la durée de validité de votre PVT pourra être équivalente à la durée de votre assurance.
    • Ne pas être interdit de territoire au Canada.
    • Détenir, avant votre départ, un billet aller-retour OU démontrer que vous aurez suffisamment d’argent pour acheter un billet de retour à la fin de votre séjour au Canada. Si vous n’avez pas de billet aller-retour, prévoyez une somme d’argent supplémentaire sur votre preuve de fond pour prouver que vous êtes en capacité de payer un billet retour.
    • Ne pas être accompagné de personnes à charge. Il reste possible de faire venir votre conjoint de fait sous certaines conditions (voir plus bas).
    • Payer les frais applicables, qui s’élèvent à 314 $ (au total). Ils sont à payer uniquement après tirage au sort et si vous souhaitez soumettre votre demande. Si votre dossier est rejeté vous pourrez vous faire rembourser.

    Par ailleurs, l’accord EIC avec la France comprend également le permis de travail Jeunes Professionnels (JP). Celui-ci a des critères d’admissibilité différents du PVT.

    le-pvt-canada

    PVT Canada : conditions pour les Belges 🇧🇪

    • Être citoyen belge. Si vous vivez en Belgique mais que vous n’avez pas la nationalité belge, vous ne pouvez pas prétendre au PVT dans le cadre de l’accord Belgique-Canada.
    • L’âge limite est de 30 ans (inclus)
    • Le PVT belge ayant une durée d’un an, la durée votre passeport doit d’être au moins 1 an.

    Ai-je des chances d’être tiré au sort pour le PVT Canada ?

    Chaque année, les services de l’immigration du Canada annoncent des quotas prévus pour les tirages au sort de l’année à venir. Ces quotas sont susceptibles d’évoluer en cours d’année en fonction des besoins préconisés par l’immigration.

    Habituellement les bassins d’inscription au PVT ouvrent entre fin octobre et début décembre et ferment à la même période l’année suivante.

    ➡️Pour la saison 2021, la date d’ouverture de la session est fixée au 1er mars 2021

    Attention : il est important de se renseigner sur les dates d’ouverture et de fermeture des sessions ! En effet, à la fin de chaque session, les bassins d’inscription sont vidés et votre candidature sera retirée d’office. Vous devrez alors vous réinscrire à la session suivante si vous souhaitez être tiré au sort.

    Les tirages au sort se font aléatoirement et généralement chaque semaine.

    pvt-canada-2021-offre-emploi-necessaire

    Je suis tiré au sort pour le PVT et pas mon/ma partenaire comment faire ?

    Vous avez eu la chance d’être tiré au sort, mais votre moitié n’a pas eu cette chance ?

    Dans un premier temps, il est important de comprendre que le PVT est destiné à une personne uniquement. Le permis jeune professionnel (JP) répond plus facilement aux besoins des personnes qui souhaitent s’expatrier en couple ou en famille. Si votre choix se tourne uniquement vers les PVT, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous. 

    La première est d’attendre que votre partenaire soit tiré au sort à son tour. Vous avez jusqu’à 12 mois pour valider votre PVT et arriver au Canada, votre conjoint peut avoir une chance d’être tiré au sort durant cette période. Cette décision est possible, mais risquée, car comme vous le savez, les tirages au sort sont très hasardeux.

    La deuxième solution est réservée aux personnes qui n’ont pas l’intention de travailler au Canada. Votre conjoint peut envisager de vous accompagner en visa touriste au Canada (à noter que ce n’est pas possible actuellement pendant la pandémie). Dans ce cas, il devra justifier qu’il a les moyens financiers de rester au Canada durant la durée de son visa sans emploi. Le visa touriste peut être délivré pour une durée de 6 mois maximum.

    Si votre partenaire n’a pas besoin de travailler, elle peut également envisager de faire un permis d’étude pour la durée de votre PVT.

    La troisième option, certainement celle qui conviendra à beaucoup d’entre vous, votre conjoint a la possibilité d’obtenir un permis de travail ouvert, sous certaines conditions.

    Lorsque vous passez la frontière, le gouvernement n’est ni assuré que vous travaillerez ni que votre emploi sera qualifié. Si vous parvenez à trouver un emploi rapidement et que vous réunissez les conditions suivantes, votre partenaire pourra alors faire sa demande de permis ouvert :

    • L’emploi que vous occupez au Canada est un emploi qualifié, c’est-à-dire un emploi de catégorie 0, A ou B selon la Classification nationale des professions canadienne
    • Vous êtes mariés ou conjoints de fait et vous pouvez justifier de ce statut (certificat de mariage, factures, attestations…)
    • Vous avez une preuve de cet emploi (contrat de travail, lettre d’embauche)
    • Votre emploi a déjà débuté et vous pouvez justifier d’au moins 3 fiches de paie

    Si vous réunissez ces conditions votre conjoint pourra rapidement faire sa demande de permis de travail ouvert. En effet, au Canada la paie est généralement versée toutes les 2 semaines (et parfois toutes les semaines), de ce fait, un mois et demi après le début de votre PVT, sa demande pourra être lancée.

    Si vous êtes convaincu par le PVT et que vous voulez vous inscrire dans le bassin, voici la démarche à suivre.

    Paysage-PVT-Expatriation-Canada-Couple

    PVT Canada 2021 : comment trouver un emploi au Canada depuis la France

    Une offre d’emploi pour les métiers de la TECH (Développeurs, DevOps, Scrum…)

    Vous êtes dans la Tech et les TI (technologies de l’information) ? Vous êtes développeur, développeuse, Scrum Master ou Devops ? Vous recherchez un emploi au Canada ? 

    Maplr pourra certainement vous aider et vous proposer une offre d’emploi pour vous aider à obtenir votre PVT pour le Canada en 2021. Inscrivez-vous gratuitement à notre programme d’accompagnement pour en savoir plus ou postulez directement à nos offres.