Accommodation: discovering Montreal's neighbourhoods

What are the best neighbourhoods in Montreal?

Montreal is a pleasant city to live in, both dynamic and warm. As we mentioned earlier in our Top 10 reasons to live in MontrealAs we mentioned in our previous article, warm hospitality, art and gastronomy are at the heart of the city's neighborhoods. The question now is: what are the best neighborhoods in Montreal?

We offer you an overview of the main neighbourhoods in Montreal, with pictures, budget and description to help you in your selection of your future neighbourhood in Montreal as part of your expatriation . Our interactive map below integrating the 4 metro lines in Montreal (green, orange, blue and yellow) will allow you to easily locate the neighbourhoods in the city of Montreal.

Overview of Montreal's neighbourhoods

which-montreal-neighborhood-to-pick

Montreal neighbourhood: Plateau Mont-Royal (●on the map)

At the foot of Mount Royal, the Plateau overlooks the city centre. It is the favourite neighbourhood of the French, who settle here in large numbers. Get ready for an intense and friendly neighbourhood life while having access to all the charms of urban life. Green alleys and lanes, colourful houses, spiral staircases, local shops... You will feel like in a big village!

ℹ️ This area is very popular with the French and the rent prices are quite high!

Metro: Mont-Royal, Sherbrooke and Laurier (South exit) - Line ORANGE

Average housing cost: 3 ½ : 1450 $ // 5 ½ : 2100 $

Parks Lafontaine Park, Laurier Park, Jeanne Mance Park, Mount Royal Park

Commercial and tourist streets: avenue Mont Royal, rue Saint-Denis, Boulevard Saint-Laurent (between Mont-Royal and avenue Duluth), avenue Laurier, avenue du Parc, rue Rachel, avenue Duluth

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

se-loger-plateau-montreal

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Le Mile-End

Mile End is the little Brooklyn of Montreal. Here, designer boutiques and local artisans flourish on every street corner, artists' studios are popping up everywhere and urban, festive and avant-garde culture is king. There are dozens of new addresses and small independent cafés mingle with institutions (Bagels de Fairmount and St Viateur, Kem Coba ice cream parlour, Café Olimpico...). In this neighbourhood, as on the Plateau, the life of a large village is reflected in its streets where all the inhabitants seem to know each other. 

ℹ️ Although it is quite far from the metro (about a 15-25 minute walk from the nearest metro), it is well served by bus routes.

Subway : Laurier, Rosemont - Line ORANGE du Parc - Line BLUE LINE

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1250 // 5 ½: $1500

Commercial and tourist streets: Boulevard Saint-Laurent (from Villeneuve to Van Horne), avenue du Parc, rue Fairmount, rue Saint-Viateur, avenue Bernard

quartier-montreal-mile-end-maplr-housing

Montreal neighbourhood : Griffintown

Formerly an industrial district, Griffintown is today the famous landmark of modern and trendy condos with high-end services (roof terraces with swimming pool, barbecue, gym...) and a superb view of downtown. Preferred by young dynamic executives and couples without children, Griffintown is a rapidly developing neighbourhood, with a growing number of trendy restaurants and bars. 

ℹ️If you are a family though, this area may be less suitable: 10-20 minutes distance to the nearest metros, less green space, less friendly neighbourhood life. 

Metro: Bonaventure, Georges Vanier - Line ORANGE LINE

Average cost of housing: 3 ½: $1500 // 5 ½: $2000

Parks Park of Meubliers, Lachine Canal

Commercial and tourist streets: Notre-Dame Street West, William Street

More articles for you 👇

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

The sun is back, the birds are singing and the parks are filling up. The last straight line before summer in Montreal and all its festivals known around the world. Whether it's for a fireworks festival, a comedy festival or an art festival, Montreal has a lot to offer.

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Are you coming to Montreal soon for vacation or for your expatriation? Did you know that field hockey is the national sport in Canada in winter? More than a sport, field hockey brings together thousands of fans and has quickly become the most popular sport in Canada...

griffintown-se-loger-montreal-francais-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : The South-West (Saint-Henri, Little Burgundy)

The Sud-Ouest offers an urban and friendly living environment, with fresh air on the banks of the Canal and proximity to the downtown area. A real neighbourhood life reigns here and the Atwater Market is a daily gathering of residents, local producers and tourists in search of gourmet flavours. The district has been growing in recent years and offers a wide variety of housing for all budgets: Victorian houses stand alongside working-class buildings, and former factories transformed into designer lofts are popping up all over the canal.

Subway: Lionel-Groulx - Line ORANGE and GREENLine

Average cost of housing: 3 ½: $750 // 5 ½: $1200

Parks Lachine Canal

Commercial and tourist streets: Notre-Dame Street West, Atwater Market

saint-henri-se-loger-montreal-housing-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Verdun

Verdun is a quiet neighbourhood, a little out of the way but very accessible by public transport. It is ideal for young urban families who want community life, green spaces and good, affordable shopping. 

Subway : Verdun GREENline

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1100 // 5 ½: $1600

Parks Angrignon Park

Shopping and tourist streets: Wellington Drive

se-loger-montreal-verdun

Neighbourhood of Montreal : The Old Montreal

Montreal's historic district has an air of Europe and New York through its beautiful architecture and cobblestone streets. Running along the St. Lawrence River, Old Montreal (and the Old Port) is a great place to stroll in all seasons and is very vibrant: many restaurants, bars and cafes are nestled in its charming streets. 

ℹ️Beware though, it is a very touristy place and far from supermarkets and local shops. 

Subway: Square-Victoria, Place d'Armes, Champ de Mars Line ORANGE

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1700 // 5 ½: $2100

ParksOld Port : edge of the Old Port

Commercial and tourist streets: Notre-Dame Street, Saint-Paul Street

old-montreal-port-housing-expartie-maplr

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Little Italy and Mile-Ex

Little Italy and Mile-Ex are two neighbouring and very similar neighbourhoods: peacefulThey are a little further from downtown than Mile End and the Plateau, but close to the metro. The proximity of the Jean-Talon market and the dynamic life that reigns around it make it a place of shared cultures (you'll find the best Italian and Indian restaurants in town, among others). In these neighbourhoods too, the emphasis is on artistic and gustatory development Art galleries, restaurants, bars and surprising design cafés await you here.

Subways: Jean Talon - ORANGEline and BLUE, De Castelnau, Parc - BLUE line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1500 // 5 ½: $1900

Parks Little Italy Park

Commercial and tourist streets: Avenue du Parc, Avenue Jean Talon, Boulevard Saint-Laurent, Rue Dante

mile-ex-little-italy-montreal-housing-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Downtown, Ville-Marie

It is the business centre of Montreal. Here, shopping centres and companies have taken up residence and the area is divided between flats and offices. It is nonetheless very lively and busy, but you won't find the conviviality of some other neighbourhoods.

Subway: Peel, Concordia - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1600 // 5 ½: $2000

Parks Dorchester Square, Canada Place

Commercial and tourist streets: Rue sainte-Catherine

downtown-montreal-housing-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Le Village

The LGBTQ+ Quarter of Montreal is a very lively and colourful part of the city, full of restaurants and bars. In the summer, St. Catherine Street is entirely pedestrianized in the area.

Metro: Saint-Laurent, Beaudry - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1600 // 5 ½: $2000

Commercial and tourist streets: Rue sainte-Catherine

village-montreal-se-loger-expatrie

Quartier de Montréal : Quartier des Spectacles

The cultural heart of the city, this district is animated by numerous festivals and events throughout the year. Many bars and restaurants are present around the Place des Festivals, enough to delight your stomach between two concerts. Very central, the Quartier des Spectacles is suitable for young professionals and couples wishing to have a rhythmic and dynamic daily life.

Metro: Place des Arts - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1600 // 5 ½: $2000

Commercial and tourist streets: Sainte-Catherine Street, Place des Festivals

quartier-spectacles-montreal-se-loger

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Hochelaga-Maisonneuve-Viau

This popular neighbourhood is now in full development. Its proximity to the city centre has made it an asset and it is now popular with young families who want to live in a warm and community atmosphere. 

Metro: Préfontaine, Joliette, Pie IX, Viau - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $900 // 5 ½: $1,700

Parks: Lalancette Park, Morgan Park

Shopping and tourist streets: Ontario Street East

hochelaga-se-loger-montreal-housing-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Sainte-Marie

A working-class neighbourhood that is also changing. Once a working-class neighbourhood, the closure of factories and manufacturing plants has left urban scars. For some years now, the Sainte-Marie district has been recovering and the area has been revitalised.

Metro: Frontenac, Pie IX - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $875 // 5 ½: $1200

Parks : Faubourgs park

Shopping and tourist streets: Ontario Street East

quartier-montreal-sainte-marie-maplr

Neighbourhood of Montreal : McGill Milton-Parc

Located just a stone's throw from the prestigious McGill University, this neighbourhood is very popular with students and offers a wide range of festive and affordable restaurants and bars. The campus atmosphere is around every corner, with the University spread out in many buildings around the main campus. The houses and buildings have beautiful historic architecture and the area is still very central, halfway between the Plateau and the city centre.

Metro: McGill - GREEN line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1600 // 5 ½: $2000

Parks Mount Royal Park

Shopping and tourist streets: Sherbrooke Street

More articles for you 👇

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

Montreal Summer Festival Guide

The sun is back, the birds are singing and the parks are filling up. The last straight line before summer in Montreal and all its festivals known around the world. Whether it's for a fireworks festival, a comedy festival or an art festival, Montreal has a lot to offer.

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Field hockey in Montreal : Sports events in Canada

Are you coming to Montreal soon for vacation or for your expatriation? Did you know that field hockey is the national sport in Canada in winter? More than a sport, field hockey brings together thousands of fans and has quickly become the most popular sport in Canada...

montreal-se-loger-mcgill-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Westmount

This residential city is very upscale and predominantly English-speaking. Westmount is ideal for families, with prestigious schools and numerous parks.

Subways: None - only buses

Average cost of housing: > 2000$.

Parks Westmount Park, Summit Woods, King George Park

Commercial and tourist streets: Sherbrooke Street, Sainte-Catherine Street

westmount-se-loger-expatries-maplr

Neighborhood of Montreal : Outremont

Outremont is an affluent residential neighbourhood with beautiful homes and many parks. It is a very family-oriented neighbourhood with many schools. Outremont is also home to the largest Hasidic Jewish community in North America, after New York.

Subway: Outremont - BLUE line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1200 // 5 ½: $1800

Parks Joyce Park, Outremont Park, Pratt Park

Shopping and tourist streets: Van Horne Avenue, Bernard Avenue

outremont-se-loger-montrea

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie

Rosemont has an impressive number of urban villages. The Masson Promenade, the Angus sector, the Cité-Jardin, and the Molson Park area are all areas with distinct personalities and lively living environments. In the heart of these villages, a vast choice of properties is available. 

Metro : Rosemont - ORANGE line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $1200 // 5 ½: $1800

Parks Beaubien Park, Père-Marquette Park, Molson Park

Commercial and tourist streets: Saint-Laurent Boulevard, Beaubien Street

rosemont-logement-montreal-expatries

Neighbourhood of Montreal : Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension

The borough of Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension is a real jewel of greenery. Its streets lined with large trees and its green spaces maintain a unique neighbourhood life. Its commercial streets are at the heart of true urban villages. They are animated by people of all origins who take great pleasure in living together.

ℹ️ A little out of thecity centre, this area is still accessible by public transport .

Subways : Fabre - BLUE line, Jean Talon - ORANGE and BLUE line , Jarry - ORANGE line

Average housing cost: 3 ½: $900 // 5 ½: $1600

Parks Beaubien Park, Père-Marquette Park, Molson Park

Commercial and tourist streets: Saint-Laurent Boulevard, Beaubien Street

villeray-housing-montreal-expatries-guide

Choosing your neighbourhood in Montreal: our advice

The first thing to keep in mind when looking for accommodation in Montreal is the distance to a subway station. In winter, being located less than 10 minutes from a metro station is a considerable asset and a guarantee of keeping your mood and energy up. 

If you are a parent, be sure to check the ratings of schools in Montreal neighbourhoods as well. In the public sector, your child's future school choice will depend on the neighbourhood in which you live. You can go to the Montreal School Board to find the schools attached to the different neighbourhoods. You can also consult the Fraser Institute's ranking to compare schools.

Consult our article "Living in Montreal: tips and tricks for expatriates" for more information on finding accommodation in Montreal as part of your expatriation.

Put all the chances on your side for your neighbourhood search in Montreal

Sign up for our free support program to join our community of French-speaking expatriate developers in Montreal and be connected with our residential real estate brokers and home search experts.

Did you like this article? Don't hesitate to share it
on social networks 👍

quartiers-de-montreal

More articles for you 👇

Cost of living in Toronto

Cost of living in Toronto

The first question people ask themselves when considering a move to Canada is: How much will it cost? What is the cost of living in Toronto? If you are considering moving to Toronto to work or to start a new life, don't look for a price tag...

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Cover letter in Canada: how to do it?

Wanting to write a cover letter for Canada and finding yourself with a blank page. Wouldn't that be the worst feeling? It might be. If this is your case, don't panic! We have decided to provide you with a sample cover letter for Canada...

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with animals

Expatriating to Canada with your pets? Are you planning to travel to Canada with your four-legged friends? Here are all the requirements for immigration with your faithful companion (dog or cat).Expatriating to Canada with your pets...

Logement : découvrir les quartiers de Montréal

Quels sont les meilleurs quartiers de Montréal ?

Montréal est une ville agréable à vivre, à la fois dynamique et chaleureuse. Nous vous le disions précédemment dans notre Top 10 des raisons de vivre à Montréall’accueil chaleureux, l’art et la gastronomie sont au cœur des quartiers de la métropole.  La question à se poser maintenant est : quels sont les meilleurs quartiers de Montréal ?

Nous vous proposons un tour d’horizon des principaux quartiers de Montréal, en images, budget et description pour vous aider dans votre sélection de votre futur quartier à Montréal dans le cadre de votre expatriation. Notre carte interactive ci-dessous intégrant les 4 lignes de métro à Montréal (vert, orange, bleu et jaune)  vous permettra de repérer plus facilement les quartiers dans la ville de Montréal.

Tour d’horizon des quartiers de Montréal

quel-quartier-de-montreal-choisir

Quartier de Montréal : Plateau Mont-Royal (● sur la carte)

Au pied du Mont Royal, le Plateau surplombe le centre-ville. C’est le quartier préféré des Français qui s’y installent en grand nombre. Préparez-vous à une vie de quartier intense et amicale tout en ayant accès à tous les charmes de la vie urbaine. Ruelles et ruelles vertes, maisons colorées, escaliers en colimaçons, commerces de proximités… Vous vous y sentirez comme dans un grand village !

ℹ️ Ce quartier est très prisé des Français et le prix des loyers est assez haut !

Métros : Mont-Royal, Sherbrooke et Laurier (sortie Sud) – Ligne ORANGE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½  : 1450 $ // 5 ½  : 2100 $

Parcs : parc Lafontaine, parc Laurier, parc Jeanne Mance, parc du Mont Royal  

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : avenue Mont Royal, rue Saint-Denis, Boulevard Saint-Laurent (entre Mont-Royal et avenue Duluth), avenue Laurier, avenue du Parc, rue Rachel, avenue Duluth

se-loger-plateau-montreal

Quartier de Montréal : Le Mile-End

Le Mile-End est le petit Brooklyn de Montréal. Ici, les boutiques de créateurs et artisans locaux fleurissent à chaque coin de rue, les ateliers d’artistes se dessinent un peu partout et la culture urbaine, festive et avant-gardiste y est reine. Les nouvelles adresses se comptent par dizaines et les petits cafés indépendants se mêlent aux institutions (les Bagels de Fairmount et St Viateur, le glacier Kem Coba, Café Olimpico…). Dans ce quartier, tout comme sur le Plateau, la vie de grand village se répercute dans ses rues où tous les habitants semblent se connaître. 

ℹ️Assez éloigné des métros (comptez environ 15 à 25 minutes de marche des métros les plus proches), ce quartier est tout de même bien desservi par les lignes de bus.

Métros : Laurier, Rosemont – Ligne ORANGE du Parc – Ligne BLEUE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1250 $ // 5 ½ : 1500 $

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Boulevard Saint-Laurent (de Villeneuve à Van Horne), avenue du Parc, rue Fairmount, rue Saint-Viateur, avenue Bernard

quartier-montreal-mile-end-maplr-logement

Quartier de Montréal : Griffintown 

Ancien quartier industriel, Griffintown est aujourd’hui le fameux repère des condos modernes et branchés avec des services haut de gamme (toits terrasses avec piscine, barbecue, salle de sport…) et une superbe vue sur le centre-ville. Privilégié par les jeunes cadres dynamiques et les couples sans enfants, Griffintown est un quartier qui se développe rapidement, avec une offre de restaurants et de bars branchés de plus en plus importante. 

ℹ️Si vous êtes une famille néanmoins, ce quartier peut être moins approprié : distance de 10-20 minutes avec les métros les plus proches, moins d’espaces verts, une vie de quartier moins chaleureuse. 

Métros : Bonaventure, Georges Vanier – Ligne ORANGE

Coût moyen des logements :  3 ½  : 1500$ // 5 ½  : 2000$

Parcs : parc des Meubliers, Canal de Lachine

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : rue Notre-Dame Ouest, rue William

griffintown-se-loger-montreal-francais-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Le sud-Ouest (Saint-Henri, Petite-Bourgogne) 

Le Sud-Ouest propose un cadre de vie urbain et convivial, entre air frais au bord du Canal et proximité avec le centre-ville. Une véritable vie de quartier y règne et le Marché Atwater est un rassemblement quotidien des habitants, producteurs locaux et touristes en quête de saveurs gourmandes. En essor depuis ces dernières années, cet arrondissement présente des habitations très diverses et pour tous les budgets : maisons victoriennes côtoient les immeubles ouvriers et les anciennes usines transformées en lofts design émergent partout au bord du Canal.

Métros : Lionel-Groulx – Ligne ORANGE et Ligne VERTE 

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 750 $ // 5 ½ : 1200 $

Parcs : Canal de Lachine

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Rue Notre-Dame Ouest, Marché Atwater

saint-henri-se-loger-montreal-logement-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Verdun 

Verdun est un quartier paisible, un peu excentré mais très accessible en transports en commun. Il convient tout à fait aux jeunes familles urbaines souhaitant avoir une vie communautaire, des espaces verts et des commerces de proximités aussi bons qu’abordables. 

Métros : Verdun Ligne VERTE 

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1100 $ // 5 ½ : 1600 $

Parcs : parc Angrignon

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : promenade Wellington

se-loger-montreal-verdun

Quartier de Montréal : Le Vieux-Montréal 

Le quartier historique de Montréal a des airs d’Europe et de New York à travers sa belle architecture et ses rues pavées. Longeant le Saint-Laurent, le Vieux-Montréal (et le Vieux-Port) est un quartier agréable pour des balades par toutes saisons et est très dynamique : de nombreux restaurants, bars et cafés sont nichés dans ses charmantes rues. 

ℹ️Attention néanmoins, c’est un endroit très touristique et éloigné des supermarchés et commerces de proximité. 

Métros : Square-Victoria, Place d’Armes, Champ de Mars Ligne ORANGE 

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1700 $ // 5 ½ : 2100 $

Parcs : bord du Vieux-Port

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Rue Notre-Dame, rue Saint-Paul

vieux-montreal-port-logement-expartie-maplr

Quartier de Montréal : Petite-Italie et Mile-Ex 

La Petite Italie et le Mile-Ex sont deux quartiers voisins et très semblables : paisibles, un peu plus éloignés du centre-ville que le Mile-End et le Plateau mais proche des métros. La proximité avec le marché Jean-Talon et la vie dynamique qui y règne autour en fait un lieu de cultures partagées (vous y trouverez les meilleurs restaurants italiens et indiens en ville, entre autres). Dans ces quartiers encore, l’accent est mis sur le développement artistique et gustatif : galeries d’art, restaurants, bars et cafés surprenants et design vous attendent ici.

Métros : Jean Talon – Ligne ORANGE et BLEUE, De Castelnau, Parc – ligne BLEUE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1500 $ // 5 ½ : 1900 $

Parcs : parc de la Petite-Italie

Rues commerçantes et touristiquesAvenue du Parc, avenue Jean Talon, Boulevard Saint-Laurent, rue Dante

mile-ex-petite-italie-montreal-logement-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Centre-ville, Ville-Marie 

C’est le centre d’affaires de Montréal. Ici, les centres commerciaux et entreprises y ont élu résidence et le secteur est partagé entre appartements et bureaux. Il n’en reste pas moins très animé et vivant, mais vous n’y retrouverez pas la convivialité de certains autres quartiers.

Métros : Peel, Concordia – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1600 $ // 5 ½ : 2000 $

Parcs : Square Dorchester, Place du Canada

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Rue sainte-Catherine

centre-ville-montreal-logement-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Le Village 

Quartier Gay de Montréal, cette partie de la ville est très animée, colorée et remplie de restaurants et de bars. En Été, la rue Sainte-Catherine est entièrement piétonne dans le quartier.

Métros : Saint-Laurent, Beaudry – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1600 $ // 5 ½ : 2000 $

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Rue sainte-Catherine

village-montreal-se-loger-expatrie

Quartier de Montréal : Quartier des Spectacles 

Coeur culturel de la métropole, ce quartier est animé par de nombreux festivals et animations tout au long de l’année. De nombreux bars et restaurants sont présents autour de la Place des Festivals, de quoi ravir votre estomac entre deux concerts. Très central, le Quartier des Spectacles convient aux jeunes professionnels et couples souhaitant avoir un quotidien rythmé et dynamique.

Métros : Place des Arts – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1600 $ // 5 ½ : 2000 $

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : Rue Sainte-Catherine, Place des Festivals

quartier-spectacles-montreal-se-loger

Quartier de Montréal : Hochelaga-Maisonneuve-Viau 

Ce quartier populaire est aujourd’hui en pleine évolution. Sa proximité avec le centre-ville en a fait son atout et il est aujourd’hui prisé des jeunes familles souhaitant vivre dans une ambiance chaleureuse et communautaire. 

Métros : PréfontaineJoliette, Pie IX, Viau – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 900 $ // 5 ½ : 1700 $

Parcs : parc Lalancette, parc Morgan

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : rue Ontario Est

hochelaga-se-loger-montreal-logement-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Sainte-Marie 

Quartier populaire lui aussi en pleine évolution. Autrefois quartier ouvrier, la fermeture des usines et des manufactures a laissé des cicatrices urbaines. Depuis quelques années, le quartier Sainte-Marie se relève et le secteur est revitalisé. 

Métros : Frontenac, Pie IX – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 875 $ // 5 ½ : 1200 $

Parcs : parc des Faubourgs

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : rue Ontario Est

quartier-montreal-sainte-marie-maplr

Quartier de Montréal : McGill Milton-Parc 

Situé à deux pas de la prestigieuse Université McGill, ce quartier est très fréquenté par les étudiants et propose une offre de restaurants et bars festifs et abordables. L’ambiance campus règne à chaque coin de rue, l’Université étant répartie dans de nombreux immeubles autour du campus principal. Les maisons et immeubles ont une belle architecture historique et le quartier reste très central, à mi-chemin entre le Plateau et le centre-ville.

Métros : McGill – ligne VERTE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1600 $ // 5 ½ : 2000 $

Parcs : parc du Mont-Royal

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : rue Sherbrooke

montreal-se-loger-mcgill-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Westmount 

Cette ville résidentielle est très huppée et à dominance anglophone. Westmount est idéal pour les familles, les écoles étant prestigieuses et les parcs nombreux. 

Métros : Aucun – uniquement des bus

Coût moyen des logements : > 2000$

Parcsparc Westmount, bois Summit, parc King George

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : rue Sherbrooke, rue Sainte-Catherine

westmount-se-loger-expatries-maplr

Quartier de Montréal : Outremont 

Outremont est un quartier résidentiel aisé aux belles résidences et aux nombreux parcs. C’est un quartier très familial et de nombreuses écoles y sont présentes. À Outremont est présente également la plus grande communauté de juifs hassidiques en Amérique du Nord, après New York.

Métros : Outremont – Ligne BLEUE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1200 $ // 5 ½ : 1800 $

Parcs : parc Joyce, parc Outremont, parc Pratt

Rues commerçantes et touristiquesavenue Van Horne, avenue Bernard

outremont-se-loger-montrea

Quartier de Montréal : Rosemont-La-Petite-Patrie 

Rosemont compte un nombre impressionnant de villages urbains. La promenade Masson, le secteur Angus, la Cité-Jardin, les environs du parc Molson sont autant de secteurs à la personnalité bien distincte, autant de milieux de vie animés. Au coeur de ces villages, un vaste choix de propriété est disponible. 

Métros : Rosemont – Ligne ORANGE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 1200 $ // 5 ½ : 1800 $

Parcs :  parc Beaubien, parc Père-Marquette, parc Molson

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : boulevard Saint-Laurent, rue Beaubien

rosemont-logement-montreal-expatries

Quartier de Montréal : Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension 

L’arrondissement de Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension est un véritable joyau de verdure. Ses rues bordées de grands arbres et ses espaces verts entretiennent une vie de quartier unique. Ses rues commerciales sont au cœur de véritables villages urbains. Ceux-ci sont animés par des gens de toutes origines qui prennent grand plaisir à se côtoyer.

ℹ️ Un peu excentré du centre-ville, ce quartier reste tout de même accessible en transports en communs. 

Métros : Fabre – ligne BLEUE, Jean Talon  Ligne ORANGE et BLEUE, Jarry – Ligne ORANGE

Coût moyen des logements : 3 ½ : 900 $ // 5 ½ : 1600 $

Parcs :  parc Beaubien, parc Père-Marquette, parc Molson

Rues commerçantes et touristiques : boulevard Saint-Laurent, rue Beaubien

villeray-logements-montreal-expatries-guide

Choisir votre quartier à Montréal : nos conseils

La première chose à retenir lorsque vous rechercherez votre logement à Montréal sera la distance avec une station de métro. L’hiver, être situé à moins de 10 minutes d’un métro est un atout considérable et un garant de la conservation de votre bonne humeur et énergie. 

Si vous êtes parent.s, vérifiez bien également les notes des établissements scolaires des quartiers de Montréal. Dans le public, le choix de la future école de votre/vos enfant.s dépendra du quartier dans lequel vous résidez. Vous pouvez vous rendre sur le site de la Commission scolaire de Montréal pour trouver les écoles rattachées aux différents quartiers. Consultez également le classement de l’Institut Fraser  pour comparer les établissements.

Consultez notre article “Se loger à Montréal : conseils et astuces pour les expatriés” pour plus d’informations sur votre recherche de logement à Montréal dans le cadre de votre expatriation.

Mettez-toutes les chances de votre côté pour votre recherche de quartier à Montréal

Inscrivez-vous à notre programme d’accompagnement gratuit pour rejoindre notre communauté de développeurs francophones expatriés à Montréal et être mis en relation avec nos courtiers immobiliers résidentiels et experts en recherche de logement.

Cet article t’a plu ? N’hésite pas à le partager
sur les réseaux sociaux 👍

quartiers-de-montreal

D’autres articles pour toi 👇

Lettre de motivation au Canada : comment la faire ?

Lettre de motivation au Canada : comment la faire ?

Avoir envie d’écrire une lettre de motivation pour le Canada et se retrouver devant une page blanche. Ne serait-ce pas la pire des sensations ? Peut-être. Si c’est ton cas, ne panique pas ! On a décidé de mettre à ta disposition un exemple de lettre de motivation pour...

S’expatrier au Canada avec des animaux

S’expatrier au Canada avec des animaux

S'expatrier au Canada avec ses animaux de compagnie ? Vous prévoyez de voyager au Canada avec vos compagnons à quatre pattes ? Voici toutes les exigences en matière d’immigration avec votre fidèle compagnon (chien ou chat).S'expatrier au Canada avec ses animaux de...

Développeur Full Stack : la fiche métier pour tout savoir !

Développeur Full Stack : la fiche métier pour tout savoir !

Développeur Full Stack : Qui est-il ? Quelles sont ses missions ? (Le masculin est utilisé afin d'alléger le texte. On parle de développeur dans l'article, mais les développeuses sont bien évidemment incluses) Ce développeur est le développeur polyvalent et complet...